We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Accomodation”
Review of Riverside Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Cottages
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Augusta
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic Accomodation”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We used a voucher to stay here in March 2014.. The voucher included a breakfast voucher and 2 bottles of wine.. never received the hamper but did have an extra bottle of wine!
The cottage was very basic and mismatched however comfortable.
The location was beautiful alongside the river.
Ants were a problem in the kitchen.
OK overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed the superb location of our cottages and that you found the cottage comfortable. I apologise about not letting you know about the breakfast hamper not being available and that we were offering you a bottle of wine instead.
Starting from this week, the cottages are going to be refurbished, so soon it would be no more mismatched furniture.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    15
    19
    28
See reviews for
30
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Excellent location close to all attractions in Augusta. Beds comfortable and the unit was relatively clean and tidy. Lounge suite was badly stained and we had to cover it with spare blankets. Television reception was poor. Bring your own frying pan. Showers were magnificent. Certainly NOT 5 star, but marginally above average. Would be stay there again, probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We definitely have one of the best locations in town. I’m pleased to hear that the beds were comfortable. The sofa has been cleaned and the TV reception has been fixed. We have also have bought new fry pans. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous place, people so lovely and friendly, cottage had everything we needed, lovely local attractions, Anita really looked after us, great lady, would definitely recommend these cottages and would not hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I’m pleased to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday an enjoyable one. It’s great that the location and facilities suited you and that your room was comfortable. Our aim is to cater for a variety of travellers and it’s good to hear that you had a good time. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

we came here on a voucher last week. The voucher include 2 bottles of wine and breakfast hamper, no hamper and 3 bottles of wine and no explanation given for changes. the cottages are basic and clean and there is an outdoor BBQ area under cover with 2 tables and chairs placed in the open which looked like they were a clean out of someone's house. There is good hot water and the linen is OK. Fan and heater supplied in the cottages. Cottage was quite warm inside on a temperate day so imagined they would be very hot on a hot day. There is no staff on site so any problems you have to do the phoning and waiting. I do not understand why business's do these voucher if they provide no service. The cheapest form of advertising of good and bad news is by word of mouth. A little more care and consideration would make these units OK. Would I stay here again NO.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to write it. We apologise about the breakfast hamper not being available and not letting you know about it.
We do have a caretaker onsite however, she is taking care of the cleaning and the property so it’s easier for the guest to call the booking central (available 24/7) if they need anything.
We do provide mostly only accommodation but our booking staff and caretaker are always more than happy to help if our guests need anything. We will always provide a warm and courteous service.
As you mentioned it, we do use the “deal websites” to advertise, we are aware that our cottages are in need of some refurbishment. We are continuously since new management took over trying to improve them so in the meantime, we do offer great deals.
The cottages are getting new furniture starting from this week so we hope once the refurbishment is completed, you'll choose to stay with us again and we look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed in Cottage 2. Where do I start? Photos on the website don't match up with the accommodation you actually get...
Extremely run down. Terrible smell. Not clean. Kids' bedroom & shower had an infestation of ants coming up through the join in the wall & floorboards. Unfortunately, I could go on. We used a Living Social voucher, thank goodness, because even at that price it was terrible value!
Never stayed in Augusta before & will return again - as it is a beautiful place to chill out - but will not return to this property & cannot recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJRLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie F, General Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, but I apologise that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We are sorry about the ants, they are a big issue in the summer time in Augusta. We had a pest control company that came and sprayed the cottages and we will schedule for them to come back before next summer. Hopefully, this will prevent a similar situation occurring in the future. We have new cleaning staff since your stay and we can also let you know that we are in the process of getting Riverside Cottages a new look and the work should start really soon.
We hope that once the work is completed, you'll choose to stay with us again and we look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Augusta hotels

Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Myself,partner and grandma visited the riverside cottages after new year I can say it was gorgeous! One of the best breaks away I've had. The accommodation was super clean and spacious. The site itself is looked after. Our cottage over looked Margaret river and we had cockatiels land on the balcony each morning, craving our toast.
I will always stay here from now on when I visit Margaret river.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tigidavid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosnells, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Fri - Mon long weekend for us, arrived Friday afternoon, cottage was clean and well furnished, looked like it was recently refurbished, plenty of eating and cooking utensils (bring your own sharp knife). not the first time we stayed there wont be the last.

by the way we stayed in cottage 5

Room Tip: it isnt 5 star so dont expect it, nice cottages alot better than basic, very nice area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.3 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 13 in Augusta
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
#4 of 13 in Augusta
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Augusta Escape
Augusta Escape
#5 of 13 in Augusta
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Augusta Molloy Motel
Augusta Molloy Motel
#2 of 2 in Augusta
75 reviews
23.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
533 reviews
10.1 mi away
Boranup Forest Retreat
Boranup Forest Retreat
#27 of 51 in Margaret River
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages

Property: Riverside Cottages
Address: 2 Molloy Street, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Augusta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country style family accommodation overlooking the majestic Blackwood River. 10 self-contained cottages catering for 2-6 people in the heart of Augusta WA. Perfect for a couples retreat, a family getaway or a corporate excursion. Plenty of outdoor activities will keep you entertained, fishing, boating, walks, farms, wineries and much more. Make sure you try some of the fresh local produce at the town stores! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing