We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Augusta Escape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Augusta Escape
Maleny, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Augusta without a booking and had not read any reviews on this place. Noticed the "vacancy" sign out the front and a sign saying $110 per night for a fully self contained 1 bedroom unit so decided to check it out. We ended up with a 2 bedroom unit for $120 as they didn't have a smaller one available and it was just perfect. Older style, plenty of space, spotlessly clean and very well equipped with a full size fridge, good range of kitchen equipment and a comfortable bed. Friendly owners and centrally located. You could pay a lot more for something shinier and more modern but you won't find better value.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandKyra, Owner at Augusta Escape, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to write us a review. We are aiming for homely, clean, good value accommodation and it's nice to hear that we are delivering on this. Enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Cosy, comfortable and CLEAN! We love this place.Tuck inside, away from the traffic noise, yet within steps to the town center. Our basic needs were all taken care of in this self contained "home". It even has a little front porch and ample parking space. A small yard further up in front is enclosed and safe for active kids to run around. Augusta Escape is a gem and so easy to locate. Thanks Kyra, for being also friendly and helpful. Keep up the GREAT work !

Room Tip: Clean, Safe, Quiet, Easy access to town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandKyra, Owner at Augusta Escape, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Having just stayed another week in Augusta and the Augusta Escape i found the place as i knew it under the old owners. Mark and Kyra have kept up the standard and the two bedroom unit we always stay in was spotless as usual . Prices have gone up a bit and i was disappointed there was not a price incentive to stay longer as there used to be but perhaps they will reconsider the pricing for long stay visitors. It is good to see that good old county service and hospitality is valued and while the units are not as new as others they retain the relaxed charm that is Augusta.

Room Tip: all rooms offer a good stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandKyra, Owner at Augusta Escape, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review after your recent stay at Augusta Escape. We appreciate feedback from all our guests, especially ones like yourself that have been staying here for many years. A high standard of cleanliness and service are very important to us. As your booking was taken by the previous owners we offered to (and then honoured) the price you told us was agreed to with them for this year. As discussed, next year you would be offered our winter rate for the duration of your stay in recognition of the years you have returned under previous management. We do offer a discount for guests who book direct with us and stay for 7 or more nights and our prices are very competitive in our local market. We are sorry if there was any confusion, if you would like to discuss this further please feel free to call (0897581577) or email us (relax@augustaescape.com.au). We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Augusta 'Escape' this last weekend.
Kyra the owner was friendly and welcoming and the unit was absolutely spotless.
There was a lovely outdoor space under the trees just outside the front door where we could have a barbecue and drinks.
We were able to book for only one night which was great because when travelling that's generally what we need.
If we'd bought the grandies they could have played on the grass close to the unit.
Everything we needed and more.
Good price, excellent value for money to top off a great place to stay.
Gaye

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandKyra, Owner at Augusta Escape, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it was lovely to meet you all. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the units and it is nice to have that acknowledged. We have young kids ourselves so it is important to us that there is an area the Parents/Grandies can relax while the kids burn some energy. It is certainly a benefit that the units are set so far back from the road! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to meeting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our 2 bedroom unit was clean and comfortable. Kitchen is well equipped if you wish to cook. The location is near to restaurants and supermarket. We only stayed for a night but would be glad to stay longer given a chance. Kyra was very friendly and didn't mind that we have broke a cup by accident. A good place to stay if you are exploring the area and value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galkasnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandKyra, Owner at Augusta Escape, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and taking the time to leave us a review. Thank you also for your refreshing honesty, it was a pleasure to accommodate you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Thankyou Kyra and Mark, you just went out of your way to help in any way you could. So clean, very reasonably priced, central position so a couple of minutes walk to pub, estuary, shops. Would recommend to anyone who asks and the tomatoes were great too.

Denny & Bev

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandKyra, Owner at Augusta Escape, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Augusta Escape recently. Glad you enjoyed the tomatoes growing at your door, it is still producing lots and they are very tasty! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we will look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This place was fantastic, Mark & Kyra (Owners) were extremely accomadating and friendly! Happy to assist us in anything we needed! Would hightly recommend to anyone wanting to visit the beautiful Augusta!! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkandKyra, Owner at Augusta Escape, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay in our beautiful little town. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave such a positive review! We will look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
1.8 mi away
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
#5 of 13 in Augusta
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 13 in Augusta
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Augusta Molloy Motel
Augusta Molloy Motel
#2 of 2 in Augusta
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alouarn Apartments
Alouarn Apartments
#8 of 13 in Augusta
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Augusta Hotel Motel
Augusta Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Augusta
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Escape

Property: Augusta Escape
Address: 78 Blackwood Ave, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Augusta
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusta Escape 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sixties exterior of our holiday units hides three spacious two bedroom units and two one bedroom units. All units have separate bedrooms, kitchen - dining rooms and bathrooms.The units are clean, comfortable and livable.The two bedroom units can provide the perfect accommodation for up to five people with ample room in comfortable lounge area, full sized kitchen, seating at the dining table for six and comfortable beds in the bedrooms.The one bedroom units can sleep three persons in the bedroom. have comfortable tub chairs in the living dining area and dining seating for three.All units are air conditioned with reverse cycle units and the beds have electric blankets for chilly winter nights. All linen is provided as is complementary tea and coffee on arrival in your unit.We are situated within walking distance of the supermarket, three churches, a nine hole public golf course and the hotel. There is an internet cafe and video store over the road from the units.A short walk brings you to the Blackwood River.A boardwalk along the river viewing bird life, and perhaps the pod of dolphins who fish nearby, takes you to the river mouth and the ocean.Augusta Escape is situated conveniently for day trips to the nearby Jewel, Lake and Mammoth Caves and to galleries and wineries between Augusta and Margaret River and beyond. Visit the Leeuwin Lighthouse where the Indian and Southern Oceans meet.Buses travel daily from Perth and stop outside our units. Buses from Perth also stop at Mandurah and Bunbury railway stations so your journey can be planned with some variety.Our units are not serviced daily.Once you are settled in it becomes your home away from home so when you vacate we thank you for leaving it tidy.We look forward to having you stay with us. Mark and Kyra ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Augusta Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing