We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing weekend holiday with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
1 review
“Amazing weekend holiday with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

The she oak chalets were amazing as soon as I walked in It felt like home beautiful views and such an awesome time for our group of friends and being in an area where the boys could ride their motorbikes. The owner was lovely and these chalets are deffinately a credit to him we will deffinately be coming back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missnatalie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We found the Sheoak Chalets very much to our liking.The quiet laid back feel was just what we were looking for.NO nosey salesman found us here(a dream too good to be true).The owners where great on check in and we can not fault them.We had many vehicles which we could park where ever nothing was too much trouble.I would recommend these to anyone looking for a no fuss hassel free holiday.We will return.(We had no trouble with the water,both in taste or pressure)

Room Tip: The chalets up the top offer the best veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbos545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We just love the natural beauty of Augusta and the quiet, laid back feeling of the place. The Sheoak Chalets fit the bill - they are in an amazing rural setting alongside the road to a magnificent look out, and we enjoyed a walk along the bush trails on the other side of the road and around the property itself. The rooms have everything for a comfy stay; not uber-luxury but well set up and oh so peaceful. Good value for the price. There was a problem with the water from the rainwater tank while we were there (since fixed i believe), but we were given plenty of bottled water for drinking and cooking, and a bottle of local wine helped us overlook the inconvenience. The owner (Steve) was very helpful and obviously has a passion for the region. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Plenty of room in the smaller chalets for us as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riconleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, western australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Augusta is a great place but the stay in the unit was a low point. Yes a great location but the water you shower in and drink stank - almost was ill from washing my month out after cleaning my teeth. I would be surprised if the water was potable quality.

Washed some clothes in the washing machine and they came out red from the dirt - the die was not happy.

They do have a rain water tank but this water was full of lavea of some description so we ended up buying water. Not what you expect at the prince these unit go for.

Wil go back to Augusta but won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Book some place other than Sheoak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsInAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Augusta Sheoak Chalets, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and acknowledge that at the time of your visit we had a problem with the rainwater due to unprecedented heavy rains mixing with the leaf matter that collects off our colour bond roofs and producing tannin. Under the right conditions the water can turn bad.

We had already taken steps to fix this problem by installing a 2000 gallon quarts grit tank and an additional holding tank with a ceramic filter, 2 medium filters, 2 micron filters and a quality Ultra Violet stainless steel system which we were advised would produce perfect water. Unfortunately the information was incorrect and there was one more piece of equipment required to ensure the tannin did not affect the water quality, which we didn't realise until just before Xmas - when under the perfect conditions - the tannin did flare up and affect the water quality. With everything closed for Xmas break we were unable to get the part until just this week. In the meantime we have been supplying bottled water for drinking and cooking to all our latest guests while waiting for the all clear.

The situation has now been rectified with the installation of carbon filters and we will maintain a vigilant testing system to ensure consistant water quality throughout the property to ensure this does not happen in the future. We have been assured by water quality experts the problem has been solved.

We apologise for any inconvenience the water quality may have caused you and we are sorry it hadn't been picked it up prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here last year with our two children. The chalet was clean and mostly comfortable. I definitely wouldn't say 4 star, but it was a pleasant stay for us as a family. Lovely view across the countryside, the kids loved the cows coming up to the fence to say hello and the birds that come up to you on the verandah....and even in the chalet if you leave the door open! It was a good base to explore the south west from - a very pleasant drive up to Margaret river up Caves Rd. The wood fire was nice as it was quite cold when we visited. The kitchen was functional but basic. On the downside - the shower was cold; the hot water that did come out was a dribble. And we never saw the owners; a quick hello or check to make sure everything was ok would have been nice. Then on check out we found a receipt stating our credit card (which we left to secure booking) was debited for the entire stay when we had advised on booking that we were going to pay cash. Overall, I would recommend this as a pleasant base to explore the south west, particularly for groups or families, but don't come expecting luxury as their 4 star self rating would imply.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ec00pes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was exactly what we needed; from the moment we walked into the Chalet to moment we left, everything was a pleasant surprise. We stayed for 7 days with 4 adults and 3 children in Chalet 5 which had plenty of room for us all; the pool table was put to good use. I could itemise everything that suited us but I simply would happily recommend this accomodation to anyone.
If you a looking for something that is a bit rustic, comfortable and is very family friendly then this is the place to stay; no spiders found in our chalet, but quite honestly - you are in the middle of the country and in Australia, they are expected.
We found staying in Augusta a perfect location for doing day trips to various attractions such as Caves Road, the Mazes and Margaret Town; also Augusta Bakery is a must!
Finally the owners Steve & Dom are real, friendly people who made us feel welcome and at home in the Chalet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Located three kilometres from the township of Augusta on the road to the town's main golf course (it has another par 3 course in town). It is a rural farm site on the side of a hill with accommodation for the owners in a largish house with an apartment underneath and five detached chalets for hire. The chalets have quite a good vista across fields and forest to the sea. The apartment looks into the garage on one side and a small garden on the other. The gate advertises four stars. If you think these mean clean sheets, towels, toiletries and TV supplied then okay; however, we're in our sixties and perhaps a little picky – we think of back-packers being one star and five star as being plush-luxury, daily serviced hotels with all mod cons and sometimes butler service. On this scale we rate the Self Contained Unit 1.5 star and Chalet number 3 as 2.5 stars. The weather at this time (late February 2011) was sunny with patchy cloud; winds moderate in the morning, but very blustery in the afternoon and evenings. Self Contained Unit: Cost via Wotif.com was A$120.00 The unit is under the owner's house. The decor on entry appears utilitarian and serviceable. The upper walls are mortared brick and painted a light blue, while the lower part is clad with varnished pine wood panelling. It is basically a bedsit equipped with a queen sized bed, two seat lounge chair, kitchen table with four chairs, refrigerator, gas cooker and oven, kitchen sink, cupboards with rudimentary cooking, crockery and cutlery for two. The kitchen cupboards are also pine but stained with a darker varnish. The room has a sliding door to the garden, but no key, so cannot be secured from the outside. It has another sliding door into the garage of the owner's house above. The kitchen cupboards had a musty smell. There is no air-conditioner, but there is a ceiling mounted fan. Lighting is adequate. The television has very poor reception of regional Western Australian analogue stations GWN, WIN, SBS, and ABC. The room has no ensuite. Toilet and shower facilities are accessed via the owner's garage. The toilet and shower are located in the owner's laundry. The basin's cold tap was missing its knob and a small cabinet protruded low over the basin making it awkward to wash one's hands and face. Chalet number 3 Cost via Wotif.com was A$350 per night The Chalet is in a woodland setting on a lee hillside overlooking fields to the Blackwood River. It has two bedrooms with sleeping for four on the ground floor and mattress on the floor sleeping for three in an attic area accessed via a steep wooden ladder. It has a good sized all in one lounge, dining and kitchen area; combined bathroom/laundry; separate toilet; and a BBQ and lounge chair on its porch. It was clean and serviceable. The TV had good satellite reception of free-to-air regional stations and some eastern states ABC/SBS/indigenous channels; and included a DVD player. A wood burning heater in the lounge area provides for warmth on the frequent chilly nights. It's not swish, but definitely a pleasant and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Manager at Augusta Sheoak Chalets, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our chalets and thank you for taking the time to send in your review, however we did want to correct some information so as not to confuse other Trip Advisor members that may read this review.

This review focuses on a self-contained unit that used to be rented out to long term tenants and does not reflect our chalet accommodation for short stays. This unit is not available to rent for short stays and the reviewer DID NOT stay in this unit.

The price quoted for chalet 3 @ $350.00p/n is also incorrect, our prices have never been that high and our rate is only $140/n as can be seen on wotif.com.

While it is true that while we were with the RAC they rated us a 4 Star, we are no longer with RAC and we are self rated now and consider ourselves to be 3.5 star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
1.8 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 13 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.8 mi away
Augusta Escape
Augusta Escape
#5 of 13 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.0 mi away
Augusta Hotel Motel
Augusta Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Augusta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Augusta Molloy Motel
Augusta Molloy Motel
#2 of 2 in Augusta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
23.5 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
16.0 mi away
Harmony Forest
Harmony Forest
#30 of 51 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Sheoak Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Sheoak Chalets

Property: Augusta Sheoak Chalets
Address: 298 Hillview Rd, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Augusta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Augusta Sheoak Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country accommodation in Augusta; one of Western Australias best kept secrets! Sheoak Chalets offers tranquil retreats for up to 50 guests only minutes from idyllic beaches and the peaceful river in the heart of Augusta. Our five timber chalets sit high among the towering Karri forest of the Leeuwin Naturaliste National Park, and enjoy magnificent panoramic rural and sea views. Perfect for romantic weekend getaways or for families and groups wishing to escape the coastal hordes, Sheoak Chalets is a serene base from which to explore the internationally famous Margaret River wine region. Explore to your hearts content knowing you'll return to the undisturbed bliss of a countryside hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Augusta Sheoak Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing