We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional, faultless, superb!”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of The Diggers Store property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of The Diggers Store property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Front of The Diggers Store property
Pillow top orthopedic double bed
Shingle roof and antique wrought iron details throughout
Freshly baked organic sourdough on arrival
Books
Record player and a selection of vinyl
The orchard and the hens
Side of The Diggers Store
The grounds
Front of The Diggers Store
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castlemaine, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tamsen411
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Exceptional, faultless, superb!”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful, charming B&B that oozes character of the past. The food was outstanding - home made and organic everything and the quantity was generous to say the least. Just a beautiful place to stay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rustic, romantic retreat”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Tina and Alex have created a lovely little space for a short get away. The locally sourced breakfast provisions were abundant and tasty. Sitting beside the open fire with a glass of red, listening to their collection of old final records was so relaxing. The little table in the garden was a great spot for a cuppa and watching the free range chickens roaming about.
The bed was comfortable and the decor had a real country charm. Tina and Alex were friendly and helpful and we would certainly go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire place and no TV
Liked least: The kitchen was quite small if you wished to cook meals
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babybooms...
1 review
“Tuscany with a touch of Provence”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My partner Janet and I stayed at the Diggers Store as we toured through Victoria on our annual winter getaway. We loved the place! It was the perfect, quiet escape we were looking for. We found it hard to go back to the 'big smoke'. Great place to stay, not far from Castlemaine where you can do just about anything! Eat, drink, relax. We will be back! PS. The free range bacon was divine!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstin C
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Get-Away”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We visited Tina and Alex at The Digger's Store B & B in early November this year. As part of a trip to Melbourne from Auckland, New Zealand it was nice to get out of the busy city for a few days. We were so relaxed after a two night stay it felt like we were away for weeks! The grounds of the Digger's Store are amazingly pretty and peaceful and the brood of huge healthy hens are a lovely reminder you are out of the city. The accommodation is rustic but immaculate and beautifully decorated. Tina and Alex are excellent hosts, cool, friendly and relaxed! A highly recommended place to stay and a highly recommended part of Victoria to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful grounds and friendly hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful country getaway”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We LOVED our weekend in Castlemaine at The Diggers Store. The converted barn is gorgeous: the fire was crackling, the supplied breakfast of bacon, home grown eggs and home made bread was delicious (Tina's baking is amazing!), and the beds are so comfortable I didn't want to leave. Tina and Alex made our stay very comfortable, they have thought of everything a guest may need, including an excellent selection of records on the turntable. There isn't a TV, which was a relief! The conversion from barn to cottage has been very tastefully achieved with period details, including the charming kitchen and bathroom. The garden is beautiful and provides an idyllic setting for the weekend. I'd love to stay here again and hope to soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A beautifully authentic Goldfields experience!”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Diggers Store for our anniversary. We were greeted by the lovely Tina and Alex and their daughter, Odetta. They showed us around the gorgeous converted stable with the aroma of freshly baked bread still in the air. The stable has been renovated with care and authenticity and Tina and Alex have paid a great deal of attention to the style and detail.

We were treated with a bottle of bubbly by our hosts to assist us in celebrating our anniversary. We enjoyed this in front of the cosy fire, listening to records on the turntable.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here amongst this picturesque country setting. The bed was one of the comfiest we've ever slept on and the crisp sheets were AMAZING. The homemade breakfast treats were glorious - from spreads, to granola, to sourdough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The record player and the handmade treats
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sailor190
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rustic but little comfort”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This converted barn certainly is rustic and no doubt representative of 1860's goldfield accommodation standards. However time has moved on.
At $180 a night, it is expensive and provides little comfort. Downstairs is dingy, draughty with no view other than brick walls and a ramshackle barn door. Upstairs, the sleeping quarters, has some charm but again it is totally uninsulated and draughty.
Overall both floors stink of soot from an open fire that clearly does not work
The bathroom also fails to impress. You have to walk through the shower space to get to the toilet. Water, water everywhere.
Probably the greatest concerns however relate to electrical safety and building fire standards. It is unacceptable in 2014 to power kitchen equipment from a multiple portable connector running from a single socket.. Similarly, the lack of an emergency exit from the sleeping quarters is of concern
The diggers of the 1860's did it tough. This overpriced place proves it

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2014
This is the first bad review that we have received since opening. We knew it would happen some time - you simply can't please everyone, but this has honestly been pretty upsetting to receive. We put our hearts and souls into our B&B and to have someone declare it uncomfortable and unimpressive is truly disheartening.

This was a couple that we found difficult to deal with, which is a real shame because the majority of our guests are absolutely lovely to deal with. They had booked about two months prior to this stay and cancelled on us at the last minute. This time round we took their booking with some hesitation.

When they turned up to the accommodation they were notably disgruntled, having been unable to find the accommodation. I explained that we had a Google map link to the location on our website. This didn't seem to appease the situation, but I did my best to stay positive and show them through the accommodation. Their next complaint was that there was no TV. I explained that we don't advertise having a TV on our website. They insisted that it was ridiculous not to have a TV and that if we didn't have one that we should point it out on our website. I don't think it is common practice for accommodation providers to point out what facilities they don't have on their website. Many of our guests point out how great it is to have a break from TV.

They then declared that the accommodation was very "quirky" and wasn't what they were after and that they would likely need to find somewhere else. All through this we stayed polite and friendly, but insisted that they stay. (We were booked back to back at this time as it was school holidays and we would have been left out of pocket AGAIN by these guests.) I asked what they felt we had misrepresented on our website, and they were unable to point anything out.

So, after some convincing that the accommodation was what they had booked and that we had fairly represented it through images and words, they decided to stay, begrudgingly.

We're sorry the guests found our accommodation too expensive – the cost is reflective of our location in Castlemaine. It is also reflective of the expense incurred for us in providing quality local, organic produce. Unfortunately these guests didn't touch the breakfast provisions. The guests would perhaps have saved on their expenses if they hadn't chosen to eat breakfast elsewhere. Also, we do not take any profit currently as all proceeds go into maintenance of the grounds and the reservation of the 1850s buildings on the property.

We're sorry that the guests were unable to see any views – downstairs the windows are small but they do look out onto the 60 year old grapevines. Through this the guests look onto the original 1850s mining supplies store. We think this is quite special – but I guess it's not everyone's cup of tea. Guests can open the curtains or double doors downstairs to look out onto the orchard where they will see trees, roses and chooks running around. Upstairs there are double doors with similar views.

This building was lovingly converted from a stable into the accommodation but we've done our best to maintain the building's character and integrity by keeping as much of the original fittings as possible. If we took the “ramshackle” barn door out and replaced it with a white plastered wall it simply wouldn't be a converted stable from the 1850s anymore, in our opinion.

We can assure our guests that the fireplace is swept out annually and works well. We're sorry about the smell – as mentioned we had had bookings back to back so there had been a lot of fires that week.

We've never had complaints about draughts from guests in the past as we do have sufficient heating. We can also currently in the process of installing a new air conditioning/heating unit.

It does get wet in the bathroom but we supply a mop so that there is no danger of slipping. It is a health regulation to have two doors between the toilet and the kitchen, which is why the layout is as it is.

Regarding fire safety – We have two state of the art fire alarms with emergency exit lights. We also provide a fire blanket and a fire extinguisher. There is also a ladder from the upstairs to the ground floor, which can act as a fire escape.

We will talk to our electrician about getting another plug in the kitchen. We take the safety of our guests seriously. Thank you to these guests for pointing out their concerns as it has given us a chance to think more about we are providing, how we are presenting ourselves, and why we do this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing