We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic pub with great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railway Hotel

Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in Castlemaine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Railway Hotel is located in the historic township of Castlemaine within the goldfields area in central Victoria. The Hotel dates back to the mid 1800's and is one of a few surviving hotels from the bustling gold boom era. The Hotel is located adjacent to the historic working railway station which services the Melbourne to Bendigo line as well at the Steam Trains from both Maldon and Melbourne. The Hotel has a real vintage feel of a bygone era incorporating a locals bar, bistro and bar and outside verandah area. The "Railway" is a welcoming and inviting place for locals and travellers with an award winning chef preparing food sourced locally and a range of local beers and ciders on tap. Our spirit wall hosts an inviting range of imported whiskey and bourbon choices and our wine range supports the vineyards of our region.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic pub with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is our second visit and we note that they have been nominated for a Golden Plate award, in our opinion they should romp it in! The wagu beef is was truly delicious and at $27! The railway is a must place to visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    84
    14
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lamb Shanks ...... delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were not 100% sure upon arrival, walked in with hesitation, then much to our surprise it was delightful and welcoming. The staff were tremendous and very helpful and the food warm, tasty and plenty-full. I would definitely eat there again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LunaTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chicken Parma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely atmosphere in the resaurant and local pub atmosphere in the bar.
I have not had a better Chicken Parma anywhere, some come close and have equal the Railway Chicken Parma but none have been better - try for yourself, you'll see.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Don't forget to book!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Serving food every day makes this a reliable place for a meal, but it's very popular, so you need to book. The menu changes with the days - and the menu is online. Tuesdays is the cheap night when you book for either a 6pm or an 8pm meal, and you will be served quickly and encouraged to leave promptly. The food is reasonably priced and comes in generous portions and everyone will find something to their taste. It isn't usually spectacular, but it's interesting last time I had a very amazing dessert from the specials board.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cosy atmosphere with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Well judging by the number of diners, and by the fact that it is often 'booked out' I was expecting a great night...... well it lived up to my expectation. Welcoming staff, good wine available, open fire were all a great prelude to the excellent food. Menu is good, changes often Im told and all quite reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railway Hotel also viewed

Castlemaine, Victoria
Castlemaine, Victoria
 
Castlemaine, Victoria
Castlemaine, Victoria
 

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing