We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home made food”
Review of The Dove Cafe

The Dove Cafe
Description: The Dove Cafe is a local institution. The old sign still reads 'The Doveton Corner Store', but locals have been calling it 'The Dove' for years. Now we do too. Sure, you can still drop in for the days newspaper, but there's plenty here for foodies too. Take a seat, indoors or outdoors. Get comfortable and enjoy a quality coffee and great feed. Now that the kitchen is being run by the team from Deborah Lea's, the scrumptious food is set to impress everyone from breakfast feasters to pie gourmands. And if you think dessert is dandy, there are plenty of tasty treats to try.
Restaurant details
Description: The Dove Cafe is a local institution. The old sign still reads 'The Doveton Corner Store', but locals have been calling it 'The Dove' for years. Now we do too. Sure, you can still drop in for the days newspaper, but there's plenty here for foodies too. Take a seat, indoors or outdoors. Get comfortable and enjoy a quality coffee and great feed. Now that the kitchen is being run by the team from Deborah Lea's, the scrumptious food is set to impress everyone from breakfast feasters to pie gourmands. And if you think dessert is dandy, there are plenty of tasty treats to try.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good home made food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A classic little shop with a few tables selling delicious home made food and cool drinks. The locals use it, there is no touristy show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Ever since we moved to the Castlemaine area a couple of years ago, locals have been suggesting we try Doveton Corner Store, but we have only recently gotten around to it. Coming from Melbourne where competition is fierce, we are somewhat accustomed to being able to judge a book by its cover, or a cafe by its exterior as the case may be. Well that doesn’t work in this instance!

Doveton Corner Store is located several streets away from all the other shops and cafes in a quiet part of Castlemaine and it looks like a Milk Bar. The fact that there are chairs and tables out the front didn’t go far enough in convincing us to give it a go, but finally we ventured in and we are very glad that we did.

It’s cute and charming on the inside and is very much a café not a Milk Bar. All the food looks delicious and is clearly house made. On my first visit I had the tomato tart, which sounds so simple but was actually amazing and I have since been back and had it again and it was equally scrummy. We’ve also had breakfast here with friends and it was like the perfect country brekky, heaps of everything you want and all good quality done simply but well. The coffee for us is pretty awful, but as soy drinkers we have to put up with that. I have green tea instead which comes in a sweet little teapot on a sweet little tray.

The staff could do with a friendly injection as they often appear flustered and inconvenienced by the presence of customers. But the food is so super yummy that I will forgive them of that.

Well, up to a point that is!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
183 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Coffee, food, community - and spacious”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Something for everyone - a quick coffee, newspapers, a limited but tasty menu cooked by friendly staff using fresh local produce - and different spaces to sit. Outside on the pavement to watch the world go by, in the snug room (where groups can also meet), at the tables in front of the counter for a quick snack, in the spacious back room, or down in the large garden below. Unfortunately it's a Monday to Friday breakfast and lunch cafe only, but sometimes there are special events at the weekend with live music in the garden. And they are also appreciated in town for their catering for outside events. It's a little outside the centre with easy parking.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good coffee, Friendly staff”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Good choice of food, lovely garden out the back and good coffee

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank HattieMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“What a warm,welcoming surprise.”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stopped as we drove past, planning to run in & get the daily papers to go on elsewhere for our coffee. The atmosphere & smells were so enticing we decided to stay, & how glad were we that we did. The coffee was EXCELLENT, there was a welcoming social feel between staff & customers....many appeared to be contented regulars. The food looked & smelled terrific however as we had not long before eaten a hearty weekend breakfast we have postponed until our next visit to Castlemaine. We will definitely be back

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taron88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dove Cafe also viewed

Castlemaine, Victoria
Castlemaine, Victoria
 
Castlemaine, Victoria
Castlemaine, Victoria
 
Castlemaine, Victoria
Castlemaine, Victoria
 

Been to The Dove Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing