We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very expensive and you'll leave very hungry”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Public INN

Public INN
Ranked #14 of 58 Restaurants in Castlemaine
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very expensive and you'll leave very hungry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

nice atmosphere but make sure you're well fed before you go there for a meal and make sure you have your boss's credit card!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    38
    24
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK but expensive.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had lunch here to celebrate my birthday. The decor and service was good and the menu was interesting. I found the serves to be small and side dishes had to be ordered separately so this made the meal very expensive. The description of the meal I ordered sounded great but when it arrived at the table it was not at all like I thought it would be. It was nicely presented and tasted ok but was nothing spectacular for $36.00.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coliban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“dessert plate worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I love this place. It is for special occasions as it is a bit pricey. However, The service is fantastic. I have been here twice and both times ordered the barrelled wine that did not dissapoint.

My partner and I shared the dessert platter. Wow! All I can say is if you have a sweet tooth dont hesitate to induldge.

If its a cool night the fire place will be on and it is a cosy romantic option.

I cant fault the public inn.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank talya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not any old Public Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had dinner recently at the Public Inn on a two night stay in Castlemaine. The write up in the Age GFG attracted us to give Castlemaine a go. We were not disappointed. Great decor, efficient friendly service and very good food made for a good night. The wine barrel selections were an interesting twist and nice to have quantity options for wine beyond just by the glass or bottle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but under serviced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

First time here and whilst the food was really well cooked with not ridiculous prices I felt sorry for the two waiters who did a great job of doing the work of four. For the tables of two, beware as the tables are extremely close. We had a good night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public INN also viewed

Castlemaine, Victoria
Castlemaine, Victoria
 
Castlemaine, Victoria
Castlemaine, Victoria
 
Castlemaine, Victoria
 

Been to Public INN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing