We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”

Forbes Golf and Sportsman’s Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Restaurants in Forbes
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

Ordered the salt and pepper calamari with salad and chips. Calamari was probably supermarket bought, there was some sort of pasta salad? that was full of mayo that l thought was again probably bought at a supermarket and an actual fresh salad leaves salad (not very hard to take salad leaves out of a packet) with two cherry tomatoes. Got a salad dressing out of a pack as well as tartar sauce, so nothing really freshly made. So disappointing but it was convenient as it was a very short walk from the accommodation and l was very tired.

Again, very disappointing.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 741hollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma T, Owner at Forbes Golf and Sportsman’s Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

We are very sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your meal. I can assure you that none of our food is served from a supermarket packet, but we do value your feedback will keep it in mind when designing our new winter menus.

Enjoy your time in Forbes, sounds like you need a break

Regards
Ash Tucker
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Forbes recently which we do on a regular basis visiting family, we went to the Forbes Golf and Sportsman Hotel for dinner. The food was absolutely beautiful, we were told it was their new menu! Well if that is their new menu I would recommend it to everyone. The staff are friendly and efficient, always polite and with a smile. If ever your in Forbes I would recommend you call in to the Golf and sportsman hotel, even for just a drink!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

New Restaurant menu and new cook, I was hoping finally something different in Forbes. First off half the menu was not available. What we did order was very ordinary. The garlic bread was cold with some melted cheese on top. Our mains were terrible, you could not chew the beef ribs they were that tough. The buffalo wings for a main came out with 5 tiny wings very pale in colour and not flavour. The mash was lumpy and the macaroni cheese didn’t even have macaroni pasta in it. We tried to order dessert and there was none available even though there is a dessert menu. Don’t think any of the eight people on our table will rush back anytime soon.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Sarbella2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma T, Owner at Forbes Golf and Sportsman’s Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Hi there

Thanks for your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. It is very difficult at the moment as our suppliers keep letting us down causing a few times to be unavailable. Hopefully we get our menu sorted out very soon.

After you spoke to our waitress, the beef ribs were pulled from the menu. Unfortunately as with any new venture we have to discover the perfect way to cook foods coming from different sources. I believe you were offered a refund and a replacement meal, if this was not the case please come in and see us and we will sort it out. I hope that this helps resolve your issue.

Again I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience.

Ash Tucker - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

New menu is a mix, some meals better than others.
Eat here regularly as I pass through on business, mixes grill and chicken parmie are winners.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Stopped through Forbes and was pointed in the direction of the Golf Club. New owners. New chef. New staff. Fantastic food. Great staff. Was a great night. Kid friendly and affordable.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hens6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forbes Golf and Sportsman’s Hotel also viewed

 
Forbes, New South Wales
 
Forbes, New South Wales
Forbes, New South Wales
 

Been to Forbes Golf and Sportsman’s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing