We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, ideal for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Promised Land Retreat
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed at the Promised Land Cottages for 4 nights with my husband and daughter (15-month old) and it was just perfect. We have been welcomed by Sophie when we arrived, and she offered us fresh eggs! Our daughter spent hours watching the hens, donkey and horses, and walking around the park. One of the bikes has a baby seat so we were able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The cottage has everything you need, and there is a game room with toys, DVD, tennis table...It's secluded, and that's why you want to go there!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalie99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Promised Land Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

We recently stayed here for the Bellingen Jazz & Blues Festival.

The drive out from town is gorgeous so we didn't mind it. The cottages are very comfortable and well equipped. As soon as you walk through the door, you are confronted by the gorgeous view framed by the large windows. It never failed to stop me in my tracks everytime we entered!

The cottages are very well built (I stayed there with 2 builders!). I would suggest blockout material behind the curtains as the sun very annoyingly burst in each morning.

There are great markets in Bellingen every 3rd Saturday and I highly recommend them. We bought some of the freshest tastiest produce for our SUnday picnic and lots of yummy nibblies for Sat drinks.

We had a delicious bacon & eggs on the deck on Sunday. The tennis court is fantastic as are the racquets. The bikes were also in very good condition and the loop run was fantastic as was the bushwalk up the river. Stunning.

We bought pre paid tickets to the festival but wouldn't do this again as we mainly attended all the free events.

We had a fantastic meal at Cafe 241 and also at the main pub in town. I just love Bellingen and would return to the country town and the Promised Land Cottages in an instant!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmacca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

We found Sophie and Greg very welcoming and the cottage we stayed in, the couples cottage, was beautiful and very secluded. Everything you need was supplied, including fresh coffee, and as we had been staying in a campervan for a few weeks, the cottage gave us some much needed luxury for a night.

Scenery is simply stunning, and we both spent most of our time gazing up at the mountains from the spacious deck. Visited by a friendly kookaburra who sat on the electric bbq and observed us at dusk. Amazing birdlife all around.

Be warned that town is a good distance away, so highly recommend taking your own food and drink - kitchen is well equipped to make most things. Loved Bellingen, it still has its own community despite being very popular with tourists.

A small suggestion for improvement - It might be better if there was a pool somewhere in the spacious grounds - we found the Never Never Creek which was the nearest place to swim very busy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

I finally got around to writing this review...but I haven't stopped thinking about The Promised Land Cottages even though it was two years ago that I last visited. When you can't stop thinking about a location one has visited it must mean it's special! If only it wasn't a 22 hour flight away! But, I might be back in spite of that!

I stayed that Promised Land Cottages for 5 days....it wasn't enough. After touring the east coast of Australia, it's the only place I wanted to return to.

There is something special about this property. Lush rolling hills surround the property which is located on farmland about a 15 minute drive from the little town of Bellingen. The fresh produce, the wine, the horses that came up to your cottage to say "hello." The landscape was the most beautiful I think I've ever seen. So charming and magical.

The Cottage was well maintained, private, clean and lovely. Spacious, and comfortable. There are three cottages altogether and all are perched on spots with gorgeous views. This is probably one of the best properties in the area.

There's plenty to do here. Walks, biking, swimming, tennis or drive into town and check out the little shops, grab a cafe or some local blueberries which are the best I've ever had. There's also a National Park nearby.

Would I recommend? A 1000 yes's! Particularly for R&R, romantic getaways.

http://www.promisedlandcottages.com.au/

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian-blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

OVERVIEW:

Simply beautiful. Don’t even think about visiting this part of Australia without spending at least two nights here!

Three beautiful little wooden cottages perched on top of a hill overlooking beautiful countryside. It is a sanctuary from the outside world and is ideal for a romantic getaway or active weekend break.

THE COTTAGE:

We stayed in the more remote of the two bedroom cottages as the couple’s cottage was already booked. The cottage itself is really cute. Oldly worldy on the outside, modern on the inside. The two well furnished bedrooms and a lovely big bathroom (complete with corner spa bath), lead off the modern, well furnished, open plan living area which comprises of kitchen, dining and sitting area. Floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall glass doors lead out on to a deck area which is well equipped with table, chairs and an electric BBQ.

The views are just beautiful. And whatever you do, make sure you are up in time to see the sunrise, at least one morning during your stay. You really won’t regret it!

FOOD & DRINK:

We stopped at one of the supermarkets in the nearby town and stocked-up food and drink to keep us going for a couple of days. It was great fun to BBQ our own food and eat breakfast out on the deck whilst enjoying the superb views.

On the Saturday evening we ventured in to Bellingen (about 12kms away) and enjoyed a superb Indian meal at a lovely little local restaurant.

OTHER FACILITIES:

One of outbuildings houses a games room (with billiard table and table tennis table) and a library of DVDs (mainly old 1980 and 1990s movies). There is also a laundry room which is equipped with a washing machine and tumble dryer.

One of the barns houses a collection of mountain bikes and helmets. Simply help yourself!

ACTIVITIES:

The owners have provided a great little folder of information on local attractions / activities including a lovely 23km cycle route complete with river crossings and swimming holes.


SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENT:
The cottages would benefit from the addition of a dishwasher, a docking station for an ipod / iphone / MP3 player and flat screen TVs (the cottage we stayed in had an older CRT models). But don’t let this put you off. You don’t come to a place like this to watch TV! The cottages are really very well furnished and the location is absolutely stunning.

OUTSTANDING VALUE:

At AUD 110 per person per night The Promised Land Cottages are excellent value for money. Realistically I think teh location alone is worth a lot more. I would highly recommend The Promised Land for an active walking or cycling holiday or as a base for exploring the nearby coast.


OUR COMPLETE ITINERARY:

Sydney: Park Hyatt (H)
Blue Mountains: Lilianfels (H)
Blue Mountains: Trek with Life's an Adventure (O)
Nelsons Bay : Amarana Beach Resort (A)
Port Macquarie: Quality Inn HW Boutique (H)
Coffs Harbour: Promised Land Cottages (A)
Byron: Byron at Byron (H)
Gold Coast: Palazzo Versace (H)
Airlie Beach: The Peninsula (A)
Whitsunday Islands: Coral Trekker (O)
Hamilton Island: Qualia (H)
Darwin: Sky City (H)
Litchfield National Park: Adventure Tours (O)
Kakadu National Park: Adventure Tours (O)
Ayers Rock (Uluru) & The Olgars (Kata Tjuta) National Park: Longitude 131° (H)
Perth: The Richardson (H)

(H) = Hotel (A) = Apartment (O) = Other

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventura1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

The cottages are situated within a lush, very peaceful countryside, with cows and kookaburras near your front doorstep. The living room is bright, airy and very comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked with equipment and a few essential. Guests are free to use the 'games room', which includes a billiard table, table tennis table, and quite a good range of dvds, which is a terrific idea for rainy days.

The cottages are a 10-15 minute drive from the main street of Bellingen (which was nice enough, but after reading rave reviews about Bellingen, we were a little puzzled as to how it was any different from any other small country town, and would probably not return here).

We felt the property could benefit from including a minibar, since it is certainly not in walking distance of shops, especially at night. Also, block-out curtains would be terrific since we were often woken as soon as it became lighter (not to mention by the many laughing kookaburras!). A shelf or cupboard in the bathroom would also be handy, to put your toiletries.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our relaxing stay at the cottages, and would recommend to others. The hosts are lovely as well.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccommodationQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank NICOLAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingen
6.8 mi away
Afterglow Cottages
Afterglow Cottages
#2 of 10 in Bellingen
85 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bellingen
125 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lookout Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Friday Creek Retreat
Friday Creek Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Orara
58 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koompartoo Retreat
Koompartoo Retreat
#10 of 10 in Bellingen
34 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fernbrook Lodge
Fernbrook Lodge
#3 of 7 in Dorrigo
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promised Land Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promised Land Retreat

Address: 934 Promised Land Rd | Promised Land nr Glenifer, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia (Formerly Promised Land Cottages)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bellingen
Price Range: $222 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 luxury contemporary Australian chalets on 100 acre property offering a fantastic outlook. Suitable for families or couples. Tennis court, swimming in local river, mountain bikes provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Promised Land Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing