We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family week away - October School Holidays”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kumbaingiri Retreat
Ranked #4 of 10 Bellingen B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just returned from 6 nights staying at Kumbaingiri Retreat. The whole house was very impressive with comfortable beds, fluffy towels and a very well stocked kitchen. Loved the honour system in the pantry which had every imaginable ingredient, spice and sauce for you to use in your cooking. Great wine glasses, plenty of crockery/cutlery and classy artworks/artifacts make this property a standout. The garden was beautiful with everything very green for the beginning of Spring. The silence and peace in this place is incredible - can't wait to return.

We took in the delights of the area such as Dorrigo, as well as a couple of trips to Sawtell and Mylestom for swimming. Don't miss the boardwalk at Urunga Lagoon and whale watching at the beach - we saw two quite close in. There is no internet at the house which proved to be an added bonus as the teens amused themselves with the tv (cable and lots of movies) as well as both reading books from the extensive library.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been going to Kumbaingiri for some years, as a teenager with my parents and in recent years with my partner alone or with groups of friends.

I can’t imagine ever not wanting to go back. It combines great natural beauty with a house that has views and with everything you need for a great stay . All bedrooms have views over the garden (note no blinds or curtains), 3 with sliding doors to the wide veranda’s, there are 2 well-appointed bathrooms and a well-equipped laundry room.

The living area is really magic, its huge and the lounge, dining and kitchen areas flow together seamlessly. As other guests have commented, the artworks and appointments are wonderful and each time we stay we notice that the owners have added something that makes a stay more enjoyable; new music systems iPod friendly, a new TV, unusual dining chairs that fit with the dining table. We love the huge fishing basket that appears suspended in space in the atrium!

The only gripe is the Italian dishwasher that has a mind of its own occasionally. We noted that there are comprehensive instructions on how to use this in the detailed brochure that we were sent when we last booked and once we followed these (to the letter), all was good.

Last time we went we kayaked and swam in the river, explored the property from river flats to high hills and had amazing picnics along the river bank.

Can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just returned from our stay at this idyllic retreat.From the minute you arrive and open the door it is impressive. The artwork displayed and decor is 5star.Alfresco dining if you wish.BBQ and everything you need to cook on it.Kitchen excellent.Oven good,plenty of fridge and freezer space.Outdoor spa with view onto Kalang headwaters was the end of everyday treat.We swam in the river at an easy walk down the hill and 50 metres through paddock.A good swimming hole.Enjoyed all Bellingen,Urunga,Dorrigo and Saw tell have to offer.The dishwasher was a little challenge but we managed to work out the programs.This guest house has been well planned,two bedrooms have dual bathroom whilst still providing each couples sense of privacy.The two single bedded room is on the opposite side of hallway with the bathroom with large bath tub between it and the final bedroom for two.Grounds are lovely and peaceful,plenty of areas to settle in with a book or nap and have a little your time alone.Only 8 minutes or so from town'the road is windy so stick to your side of the road at all times.We will return if we can secure another booking.Our age group was 50's .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed at Kumbaingiri on 2 occasions over the last year, once with 7 friends and another time with friends and our children.

The first time we drove from Sydney and it took about 5 ½ hours and the second time we flew with Tiger from Sydney to Coffs Harbour and paid less than $300 return for the 3 of us, which was amazing value.


Both occasions we went for 3 day weekends and loved the place. In winter the huge log fire provided great atmosphere and the underfloor heating that warms the whole house was really appreciated. When we went in late summer, we loved the way the house has been placed to catch the breeze and that combined with ceiling fans and fly screens allowed for a great night’s sleep.

What's important when staying in a gorgeous home away from home?
- the beds and the bathroom - both exceed all expectations.

There isn't one amenity, appliance, utensil or luxurious furnishing that has been forgotten

Kumbaingiri is well designed and exudes Australian country elegance, it has great furniture and furnishings, the house is set up perfectly on arrival and the 2 huge sofas a favourite to read, chat, watch a movie or read a book ( of which there are over 50 amazing titles)

One weekend at Kumbaingiri feels like a 7 day break - you won't be disappointed - you'll only be impressed.

Would we recommend it? You bet and our planning our next trip post the Christmas rush.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a fantastic family holiday at the Retreat. Having not been for several years it was great to see the development of the beautiful gardens and the addition of the spa was a welcome respite from the warm, sunny days. The boys (10 and 13) had a blast fishing in the waterholes (catching several small Perch on lures), shooing the cows out of the way just adding to the experience. The house was just as we remembered, bright and airy, filled with native art and we made ample use of the huge country kitchen and bbq. We can highly recommend the Southern end of Sawtell beach for a swim and surf and of course the famous Dorrigo National Park if your like your walks a bit more more Jurassic Park than Australian Bush. Bellingen itself is great fun to explore and we would recommend allowing plenty of time for The Emporium on the main street. Overall, one of the best family times we've had and we can't wait to get back.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Brendan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this beautiful house in the hills of Bellingen attending Camp Creative Monday - Friday. 3 of the 4 bedrooms opened onto wide verandahs, the living rooms were light and airy, there was a great library and large well-equipped kitchen and the gardens were well maintained. The twin room was a little airless and mobile and internet reception were limited. Minor matters overall. A peaceful retreat and a great place to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have rented Kumbaingiri Retreat several times and each time find more to love about Bellingen. House and garden are full of treasures. Gorgeous big kitchen for cooking (if you want). Drives around the area to pick up local produce - oysters, beef, locally brewed beer. Long afternoons drinking Veuve in the spa and unwinding from city life. Swim in the Never Never Never Never Creek, not too far away. You can be as active or as lazy as you want....friends tell me Bonneville Golf Course is a great course (we had lunch there one day).

Love the fact that you could easily accommodate group of friends and have long lazy lunches or dinners - the big tables inside and out accommodate at least 8 to 10.

Bellingen is a fantastically interesting town and a gorgeous part of the world. You won't want to go home EVER. Looking at the photos from our trips again just now and I'm already plotting next visit!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingen hotels
1.7 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bellingen
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Bellingen
Bella Vista Bellingen
#7 of 10 in Bellingen
31 reviews
2 mi away
Guest House on Hyde Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
Diggers Tavern & Motel
Diggers Tavern & Motel
#8 of 10 in Bellingen
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Koompartoo Retreat
Koompartoo Retreat
#9 of 10 in Bellingen
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumbaingiri Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumbaingiri Retreat

Address: 182 Kalang Rd, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingen
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumbaingiri is a unique country retreat. Stylish, luxurious, well appointed, private and well designed its the perfect place to go for a week or a weekend. Most guests return within months and we have a number who have spent time with us every year since it opened. What makes it special? Its the attention to detail in terms of design and fixtures and fittings, its location, the quality of the appointments its privacy and at the same time proximity to Bellingen and the amazing beaches of Mylstom/Repton, Sawtell and others. About the Retreat The Retreat was built with the assistance of well regarded Sydney interior designer Pia Francesca, the design brief was simple 'a modern, airy take on a typical sprawling Australian country house, must have wide verandas!'. The road was put in, the top of the hill where the Retreat is, was leveled and as the Retreat was built the garden was established.. In later years additional land was purchased and the property size increased to ~ 100 acres, with the land extending to both sides of the river with the Southern border being the Kalang Road. Upon arrival. The retreat will be open for your arrival. You will note that apart from the one bathroom there are NO curtains or blinds, we have always enjoyed the indoor/outdoor nature of living at the Retreat and have had no privacy issues. All beds will be made up and towels etc., supplied. You will need to bring beach towels for swimming and the spa; we ask that you do not use the supplied towels for the spa. Spa. There is a spa for 4 people and note that it is NOT fenced. At night with the lights switched off, be amazed at the clarity of the night sky and the amount of shooting stars. Eating and drinking. The kitchen is well appointed and provides excellent amenities. There is a range of products in the pantry, please use and replace once consumed. The Retreat offers 4 options; there is a table that seats 8 inside, a table that seats 8 outside on the veranda, a smaller table that seats 4 on the veranda outside the kitchen and a BBQ table on the lawn that seats 6-8. The BBQ is gas operated and provides grill, hot plate etc. There is also an outside wood fired pizza oven. Filtered water. There is filtered drinking water available. Comfort. All rooms' doors and windows have fly screens and each room has ceiling fans and underfloor The open fire in the living room warms the living area and adds ambience on chilly winter nights. TV, Music and Movies. The Retreat provides Foxtel and free to air TV, there is a music system with a hard drive and 50gb of music as well as a separate hard drive with recent movies and TV shows. Library. An extensive and eclectic range of books that should suit most tastes is provided. We understand that sometimes a novel being read does not get completed, please feel free to take it with you (not the larger reference books though!) and if you so wish replace it with one you have read. Phones, mobile phones and the internet. The house has a fixed phone line to use for local calls. Unfortunately mobile phone coverage is at best intermittent, but Telstra customers will generally get a signal outside, Optus and Vodaphone phones won't work due to a lack of local network coverage. There is no internet again due to a lack of decent Telstra coverage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing