We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stop over in Bellingen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diggers Tavern & Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Bellingen B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice stop over in Bellingen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was a good size and clean. We stopped here for two nights on our way up to Byron bay. The actual pub was not great but the room was fine. I guess the main thing for us was that the air con wasn't strong enough. The room was still really hot. However, apart from this it was really nice and would prob stay here again if we did come back to Bellingen

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spanishmoon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    15
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
26
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Needed a night in town to head home the next day. The Pub itself is pretty awful in that 90's chrome and fluorescent sense. Pretty easy to avoid. Rooms were small but clean and quiet. $100 a night. The Tourism Info centre was next to completely useless. This was found by default.

The rooms are at the back and quiet with a 'lovely' view of adjacent buildings and a pub car park. It was OK for a short sleep, but the are has so much more to offer, I would look elsewhere. But it is a Pub more than a motel, so you park in an open pub carpark and up some stairs.

It is central to town though.

Next time I visit, I would look for something else.

But it did the trick. Just. Have stayed in far worse.

Room Tip: They are all across the hall from each other. Not sure any have a view of anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Needed somewhere to stay in Bellingen without busting the budget. Also, wanted to park the car and walk everywhere. Diggers ticked all the box's. This is an ideal location and the facilities are clean and comfortable. The room we stayed in had been renovated and the bed was comfy with feather pillows. The bathroom was a good size with shower and toilet. Supplied hairdryer and tea and coffee facilities. I would stay here again without hesitation. We originally walked in and walked out, until some locals told us to have a look at the back of the property. So glad we did.

Room Tip: Room 7 was great for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geckobeach02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed two nights at this place which is very popular with locals for eating and drinking too.

Spotless room and enjoyed my conversations with all of the bar staff I spoke to, very friendly.

Great base for exploring Bellingen.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room at the end of the corridor furthest from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimimakestracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent one night in Bellingen at the Diggers Tavern and Motel which is situated in the main street in the middle of town.
We probably wouldn't have thought to enquire here as it looked like a noisy pub. However the Tourist Information Centre had told us it had rooms so we took a look.
The ensuite room was spacious, modern, newly painted and had a toaster for our breakfast. The air conditioner was efficient and quiet.
The price of $100 was the deciding point as this is cheaper than we had been paying through NSW.
The parking is in the pub car park so it's off the street but not directly outside your room. We could leave the car there after checking out while we looked at the shops etc.
Although there was a band playing in the pub area we couldn't hear it.
We ate at another hotel.
It was an entirely satisfactory and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed recently at Diggers Tavern for a couple of nights. The rooms are basic and clean for a one night stop over. However the parking is not 'motel' style but instead is the general pub car-park and for those accessing the shops, it is also on a slope. There is a short distance to walk to access the rooms up one flight of stairs but this is via the 'smokers' area of the pub and consequently the one corridor which the pub rooms lead off is quite smoke ridden.

The rooms also did not have windows that open-end, so was very stuffy and 100% air con reliant.
Aside this, the food in the pub was excellent and the staff were very friendly which did compensate. But if you are looking for a 'motel' style accommodation, re park outside your room the Diggers is not for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Scarlett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior or the regulars in the bar who stare at you if you walk through the tavern to get to the rooms. The room was cheap, clean and, for a base for one or two nights, perfectly acceptable. Don't expect much but for the price it is a good deal. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingen
0.2 mi away
Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse
1.0 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#6 of 10 in Bellingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Bellingen
Bella Vista Bellingen
#4 of 10 in Bellingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Lookout Mountain Retreat
12.3 mi away
Valla Beach Tourist Park
Valla Beach Tourist Park
#8 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koompartoo Retreat
Koompartoo Retreat
#9 of 10 in Bellingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diggers Tavern & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diggers Tavern & Motel

Property: Diggers Tavern & Motel
Address: 30 Hyde Street, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diggers Tavern & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Main St of Bellingen within easy walking distance of shops, markets and restaurants. Rooms are comfortable with en-suites, air-conditioning & off-street parking. The Tapas Bar & Grill boasts the best value meals in town. Drive-thru bottleshop located at rear. Facilities include: TAB, Poker Machines, ATM, Bistro, Pool tables, Arcade games & Beer garden. Open 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Diggers Tavern & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing