We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellingen what a gem”
Review of Federal Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Federal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are in the Coffs Harbour area get out to Bellingen and check out the Saturday morning market with its assortment of local grower's produce and good along with the usual assortment of stalls.
After a twirl around the market toddle over for a bite to eat at the Federal good food good beer good place.
And if this isn't enough nip into the Emporium if you're looking for something cool and groovy it's a hidden treasure in this great little town.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have been to bellingen twice and on both trips we have eaten at Federal Hotel. The first time we found the standard to be very high and quite possibly the best pub food we have had so far. We have been there multiple times and we have found it to be quite consistent. The risotto and schnitzel were particularly good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Att2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were looking for cheap accommodation in Bellingen and this is what we got. For $80 - a small room with twin beds (not that comfortable), a working fan, a rather well-worn sink in need of a clean and a shared bathroom which I showered in with my footwear (this should tell you everything you need to know). So, all in all, it was perfectly fine for a budget stay but I won't be rushing back. The staff are friendly enough and it is in a great position on the main street. Don't expect to be able to sleep early though as most of the rooms open up to a balcony, which means that you will get some noise from the pub below.
My tip - approach a stay at the Federal Hotel with an adventurous spirit. Have fun, drink downstairs at the pub, eat at No 2 Oak Street, Bellingen and have a laugh spending the evening in a cute little town. It will make your stay so much better!

Room Tip: The small twin room is in need of an upgrade. Better to ask for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodgybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at another hotel in Bellingen but we ate at the bistro after wandering through the bar to see where the jazz band would be playing.
We couldn't see the bistro from the street entry of this old hotel as the bistro is a modern addition.
The tables are set up for 2, 4 and larger groups with comfortable chairs.
There was a printed menu and the blackboard specials.
We had the blackboard menu meals of boneless flathead fillets,( $18) and salt and pepper flathead ($22).
Both meals were served with excellent chips and salad.The fish was fresh, meaty and moist. The fillets really were boneless.
Both dishes were off the blackboard by 8pm.
The wine list was varied and prices ranged upwards from $18 per bottle. Wine was also served by the glass from about $5 per glass. I was encouraged to sample various wines before I made my selection.The glasses were good quality with long stems.
The jazz band plays on one Wednesday per month and were easy listening.
By about 8pm most tables were taken.
The staff are friendly, efficient and informative.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night & got a queen bedroom for $80. None of the rooms have a bathroom & you have to walk thru the men's bathroom to get in and out outside pub hours. The food was of high standard for pub food & good service too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simsam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the pub on a recent overnight visit to Belligen. It's great value, the bed is comfy, and the room is big. The pub itself is very modern and clean. There was a function upstairs the night we stayed, but all was quiet by 1.30am - so no problem at all.
I'd recommend if stayin for one night. Or two. The seperate amenities would get to me after two nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddiebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Federal Hotel has a wonderful bistro restaurant called Relish. We highly recommend this restaurant to other Bellingen travellers. Wide range of choices on the menu - the chicken schnitzel tastes great, clean modern decor & on the night we visited, a great jazz band.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingen hotels
0.1 mi away
Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bellingen
126 reviews
5.6 mi away
Promised Land Retreat
Promised Land Retreat
#7 of 10 in Bellingen
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guest House on Hyde Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Diggers Tavern & Motel
Diggers Tavern & Motel
#8 of 10 in Bellingen
51 reviews
2.2 mi away
Afterglow Cottages
Afterglow Cottages
#2 of 10 in Bellingen
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Hotel

Address: 77 Hyde St, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bellingen
Price Range: $31 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing