We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing luxury country stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afterglow Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afterglow Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing luxury country stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved our stay at the Afterglow Dairy Cottage. Its so relaxing to just sit on the sun lounges and look at the hills in front of you - complete with cows, mooing from the neighbouring farm, kookaburra's sitting on the telegraph wires, and other birds flying down to the deck to feed. While the cottages are close together, the view from the deck is unobstructed, and we were able to have a night soak in the outdoor jacuzzi in privacy. The bed was comfy, and the place clean. I loved the breakfast provisions - gourmet offerings, tailored for my pregnancy diet. The selection of DVD's and CD's was well thought out. And the full windowed bathroom felt quite decadent -with decent fluffy towels. It was hard to get us away from this cottage and drive into Bellingen! Agnes and Jeff were very friendly hosts, and when we had to break our trip to attend an emergency back home, they offered us a free night when we stayed next. A great venue for a couples retreat.

Room Tip: Dairy Cottage was the perfect size for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATCSydneyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Afterglow cottages were just what I was after. The sounds of nature, beautiful rolling hills and a place where I could just turn off and 'be'. Hosts Agnes and Jeff were so accommodating and they have provided a well equipped cottage with quality touches and a great CD, DVD and book library for guests. A spa out under the stars completed the package. I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Dairy and 1 night in the Cottage on the basis of info on the website and also on Trip Advisor. We are an older couple and experienced travelers, luxury this is not! Both accommodations are within 50 metres of the main home, the photos taken at such an angle to suggest they are isolated and away from it all, this isn't so. Whilst in the Dairy, both a motor bike and a person on foot were in full view from the adjoining property. So the outside spa, the inside toilet and the shower (all glassed) were compromised. The towels were poor quality definitely not fluffy, 2 only for 2 days for 2 people for a property with a spa and double shower? and nowhere to dry them. There were no toiletries apart from 2 half cakes of soap. We found that astonishing! Kitchen consumables from Aldi, little things but grating for the $$$. Outside spider webs on furniture and ceilings, inside lacking thorough cleaning, hairs in vanity drawers for example. The Cottage faces west without air-conditioning in the bedroom and the one in the living room not working was uncomfortable even for April. Agnes has a very welcoming manner, but a good look at what other luxury properties provide might have helped with décor, provisions and layout. Having driven 600ks we were disappointed.

Room Tip: The Cottage if you were choosing either would be the choice, but you're paying over the odds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porters4566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a tranquil, elegant and perfect place to stay in Bellingen. Geoff and Agnes could not have been nicer. The design of our cottage was brilliant with a champagne in the outdoor spa bath under the stars a particular highlight. Looking forward to another opportunity to come and stay sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fulchy_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a relaxing Easter break! A perfect retreat for a couple wanting to get out of the city and away from it all. We had a great stay at the dairy cottage. Loved the fluffy towels and robes, chocolates and the bottle of wine. Thanks Agnes

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatB443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Geoff and Agnes were welcoming and friendly hosts who left us entirely to our own devices after showing us around the old diary cottage. First impressions were great - the cottage has a living area comprising a well equipped kitchen, lounge area and dining table. There was a good selection of DVDs, CDs and books. This room has air conditioning which is useful as it can become very warm with the amount of glass letting in the summer heat.
The bathroom is large - the end wall being glass and looking out onto the hillside - (It is possible that you may feel somewhat exposed when sitting on the loo as you are totally 'open' to the verandah and outside world) - the double-headed shower has enough water pressure for two people to shower at the same time, the soap was hand-made and delicious, but there were no other toiletries or bathrobes.
The queen size bed was a dream to sleep in with quality linen and pillows, the glass doors opened up onto the verandah and the sunken spa bath. There were useful reading lights above the bed and a fan.
The verandah runs the length of the cottage, has a BBQ and table/chairs and, of course, the spa. The hot water never ran out - we kept on topping up for hours.
Breakfast was left in the fridge for us - four eggs, bacon, four slices of bread, jam, butter, orange juice, one litre of milk and freshly ground coffee.
We only stayed one night which is maybe why we didn't receive the tapas plate or bottle of wine that other reviewers mention - neither of these are inclusions. But there were a couple of chocolates.
So all that's good - slight downside was the amount of dead flies, dust (and even a $5 note!) behind the lounge, beside the fridge and behind the bedroom lowboy. I did have to move furniture to find this though!
It was a quiet and pleasant night's stay, close enough to town to be handy, but not in the most exciting location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I booked in for three nights here and instantly wished we had of booked more! If peace and quiet and hypnotically beautiful landscapes are what you desire this is the place for you. We stayed in the converted dairy and found it incredibly hard to leave. The cottage was very well appointed, super clean and our hosts were very welcoming and obliging. Certain aspects of the cottage such as the glass wall out onto the rolling hill behind really connects you with the natural landscape. We felt incredibly free and relaxed here and will certainly return. A great value retreat we have already told all our friends about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingen
6.8 mi away
Promised Land Retreat
Promised Land Retreat
#6 of 10 in Bellingen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bella Vista Bellingen
Bella Vista Bellingen
#5 of 11 in Bellingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lookout Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Koompartoo Retreat
Koompartoo Retreat
#9 of 10 in Bellingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#8 of 11 in Bellingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afterglow Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afterglow Cottages

Property: Afterglow Cottages
Address: 259 Kalang Rd, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bellingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Afterglow Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a romantic getaway or relaxing break in an atmosphere of luxury and simple elegance, amid 30 acres of rolling green hills and native woodland. Afterglow’s two spacious self-contained cottages have full kitchen, air-con, queen-size bed, double shower with a view, large deck with BBQ and spa. Enjoy the sunset from your private deck, indulge in a relaxing spa under the stars or just sit back and watch the native birds and wallabies, And lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Afterglow Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing