We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So noisy! Don't expect to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So noisy! Don't expect to sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed downstairs in room 2 for one night and ended up leaving the house and sleeping in the van around 11pm. It is noisy noisy noisy! If you must stay here (and I can see why you would be tempted - its a great location) - don't stay in room 2. Its next to the bathroom and the kitchen. Don't stay when this house is full if you want some peace and quiet at night time. At the price I paid ($85 for twin, one night - eek!!!!), a B&B would have been a better option for us. This YHA is a foremostly a (doss?) house and as such, is tired and run down and worse, has not been designed with lots of guests in mind. Expect tired furniture, incredibly tiny showers (and I am not a big person), noisy plumbing/pipes, noisy doors, floors (timber) and noisy kitchen facilities (in the centre of the house). Our linen never arrived. They don't seem to enforce the 10pm quiet rule as in other YHA's and this is disapointing. It's great for the guests out on the lovely deck having a drinking session but not for those who wish to sleep. Our poor experience was a shame because the people who work at this YHA are lovely and it is a great location in a heavenly town. Hopefully, it we just had just bad luck with a full house and bad room. Make sure you tread carefully here - camp when the house is busy to avoid the noise.

Room Tip: Away from kitchen bathroom and deck if possible so you get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
21
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
362 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staff were very kind and most helpful. Even though I was only there for 2 days I was offered free pickup to and from the train station, a heavily discounted tour of the surrounding area, and as much information on the town and area as I wanted. It was a 5-minute walk to the river which was a lovely place for a swim, and reception was able to book a sunset canoe tour for me and a few other people with ease. The kitchen as well as the showers and toilets were very adequate, and there were lots of places just to sit and have a meal or read a book or just do nothing.
One night I was there, about 10 guests and staff sat around and chatted for a few hours. I like a hostel with a decent communal atmosphere.

Being in the room closest to reception meant one night there was loud music pumping, but I was trying to get to sleep about 8pm so that was probably too early and I didn't mind it so much. I was so tired it didn't take me long to fall asleep, although I'm sure if I asked that reception would've turned it down.

There was an amazing cafe in town called 5 Church Street. I went back twice and both meals were fantastic, and the local beer was quite tasty. The redhead waitress was also pretty cute, partly why I returned the second time. Try one of the butchers in town if you can, there were 3 to choose from!
If I ever feel like a place to relax for a few days or so, I'll know where to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Bellingen is beautiful and the building that the YHA is in is one of the most stunning buildings in the town. With friendly staff and a HUGE kitchen this hostel had the most number of different sleeping arrangements I have ever seen.

We camped and it was lovely. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairefmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron bay
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Price gouging for internet is apparently ok even though you are paying top dollar $75 for a tiny room with no TV, old linen and no view.

Furniture and accessories are tired, tattered and ratty. A bit of a dosshouse.

I was dissapointed and the price should have been half for what was supplied - then maybe I would have slung them a couple of dollars for internet.

Tardy and sad, stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms are better at the hotel across the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipbyron805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Really great hostel, but the double room was a little over-priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

What a great place! Lovely atmospheric little place. Very clean, great kitchen/lounge and a fantastic deck with views you could look at forever. Bit cold when I was there, but it was going into winter. Lovely people running the place, the manager collected me from Urunga and then dropped me at the Coffs Hostel when I left. Great laundry facilities as well, industrial yysized washing machine and dryer and at a reasonable price. And 5 bucks for unlimited internet for your whole stay
Bellingen is a lovely little place, great lunch deals at the hotel in front of the hostel.
Definitely recommend a few days here to recharge batteries

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

What a beautiful spot! The communal areas are very social and picturesque on a large verandah that overlooks a very green view. We stayed in the double room with ensuite, which is actually the family room. It was very spacious, and a had a good sized bathroom. It was all very clean. The staff were great. The town itself is very picturesque with cute cafes and restaurants, and is nice for a wander. Highly recommended place to stay and relax in green surroundings.

Room Tip: Our room was the double room with ensuite, and was huge. We also saw a standard double room and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellingen
0.8 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#6 of 10 in Bellingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
12.5 mi away
Valla Beach Tourist Park
Valla Beach Tourist Park
#8 of 8 in Nambucca Heads
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lookout Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koompartoo Retreat
Koompartoo Retreat
#9 of 10 in Bellingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diggers Tavern & Motel
Diggers Tavern & Motel
#8 of 10 in Bellingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.5 mi away
Promised Land Retreat
Promised Land Retreat
#6 of 10 in Bellingen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse

Property: Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse
Address: 2 Short Street Lane, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bellingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our picturesque and relaxed guesthouse is located moments from the centre of Bellingen. We have stunning views over the Bellinger River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing