We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAGNIFICANT IN EVERY WAY... AS ALWAYS!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aniseed Luxury Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bellingen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aniseed Luxury Villas
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MAGNIFICANT IN EVERY WAY... AS ALWAYS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

This place has to be the best place to stay for total relaxation in Australia! This is our second time staying at Aniseed for our wedding anniversary and we will definitely be back! We have stayed in some amazing properties worldwide and this place is only 30 minutes from our home but it is truly up there with the best in the world! Do yourself a favour, plan ahead, save up if you have to, and book this place asap.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaredAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Aniseed and thought it was one of the better boutique accommodation stays we have had recently.

The one bedroom villa we stayed in is privately tucked away in a pristine spot on the Promised Land Loop Rd about 10 minute drive from Bellingen. The outlook over the nearby mountains is beautiful and as the villa is facing north it was enjoyable to get some winter sun into the rooms and out on the balcony.

The fitout is of high quality and with plenty of room for a couple. Bed was very comfortable and although it was cold weather the place is well heated. To add to the luxury feel Rod makes sure your personal outdoor spa is fired up for you to indulge yourself and relieve the aching body after a long drive!!

We took advantage of the BBQ pack which was an easy way to have a decent meal on the night we arrived. Provisions were good and if you needed anything the owners were very helpful.

Definately a place for a relaxing and enjoyable stay for all ages.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melbourneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Aniseed and can honestly say we have never felt so relaxed or pampered. The villas are beautifully designed with gorgeous additions (huge, comfy bed with soft cotton sheets, organic bathroom treats including their own handmade soaps and fabulous kitchen set-up) but what really struck us was the total feeling of serenity. The light streams in through the big picture windows and doors, which means there are stunning views in every direction. The established gardens provide complete privacy. We had their own chef provide us with a 4 course dinner in our own villa which was sublime.
We really didn't want to leave the villa, but the never never river swimming holes (only 5 minute walk away from the villa) are really worth seeing- huge boulders and crystal clear water. Too cold to swim in May, but would love to return in Summer to ride the rapids.
I can only say positives about this place- will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachel44sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

We were looking for luxury in a country setting; we wanted privacy and stylish comfort - and we found it. Floating in the hot tub at night, under the stars, a step away from the magnificent bed made with the crispest white cotton bedlinen. Fluffy white robes, delicious fresh home made bread and great coffee. A short stroll away is the most magnificent rock pools with huge grey boulders under canopies of shady trees...The water is so clear you could see the glistening river rocks below. It was a divine weekend. Jo and Rod were fantastic hosts.
Nothing was too much trouble. I've never slept better. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacinta41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

I guess I'm disappointed because I had high expectations from the web site and other reviews. The houses are modern and practical however we're badly cleaned- cobwebs, dead bugs, mouldy items in the dishwasher, filthy oven- not something that spoils your trip but I expect better. Insect nets had holes in them, so sleeping with the windows open was difficult because a lot of bugs entered. Service was fine, although the cleaner turned up 20 minutes prior to check out time. The vegetarian option for breakfast was on the stingy side, fruit was inedible which was strange as Bellingen has an outstanding fruit market, same story for the bread. Spa was nice except the water had a bad smell. A slightly frustrating experience because it just needs a good clean, re-decorating, and a decent breakfast and it would be 5 star.

Room Tip: We booked both, they're identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keers, Owner at Aniseed Luxury Villas, responded to this review, April 2, 2011
I would firstly like to say that we are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Aniseed.
We are totally committed to providing our guests with a wonderful, rural experience and am happy to say that in the majority of cases, our guests leave feeling completely rested and extremely happy.
Our cleaners are fully trained by Aniseed. As seasoned travelers, we are only too aware of the importance of cleanliness to ensure a satisfying experience. I personally check each clean to ensure that our high standards are maintained. Quite honestly, the oven and dishwasher were checked before arrival to ensure they have been properly cleaned. I cannot fathom how you could have found either appliance to be "filthy", as each is scrubbed between every guest . As we meet at reception with our cleaners before they commence, it is impossible that they have arrived at your villa before 11am. The 11am checkout is to ensure that our guests have a decent sleep in on their last night with us. However, unless a late check out has been arranged, it is imperative that our cleaners have access to the villa from 11am to ensure that our standards of cleaning can be maintained.
As this is a real rural setting we do suffer from the constant combat with tiny spiders that insist on re-building their webs daily. Webs are removed between every stay, but during the warmer months, webs can re form overnight. We do avoid spraying with heavy duty sprays, as we also have wonderful lady beetles, dragonflies etc that we do not want to harm.
We were aware that two fly screens had been damaged during the peak season this summer. I am pleased to report that this has now been fixed.
With respect to the breakfast, the fruit is sourced locally and is organic. This means that although the taste and vitamin content can be assured, the appearance may occasionally not be quite the same as their pesticide sprayed brothers. I can assure you that the fruit is always fresh and scrumptious. The bread is baked fresh in Bellingen and purchased on the day of each guests' arrival. I suppose it is possible that the bread isn't to everyone's liking, however, we have only ever received praise for the bread until this review. We also supply our own organic eggs, locally made organic conserves, organic muesli and organic milk, not to mention 4 flavors of organic loose leaf tea and organic freshly ground coffee. I am also sure that we supplied organic yogurt upon request for this stay. Most of our guests rave about the "goodies" in the kitchen.
Lastly, our spas are completely treated between each group of guests and often several times during longer stays. We use a peroxide based cleanser rather than chlorine, as this is kinder to the small frogs that also live in our beautiful rural setting. The smell of the water may be different than water that has been treated with chlorine or salt, but it certainly isn't unpleasant. I can assure you that it is tested regularly and the sterility of the water is can be assured.
As stated previously, we are diligent in ensuring that our guests have a wonderful, trouble free stay and are very sorry that this wasn't the case for this particular stay. As you can see from the other reviews, our guests love the villas and the gorgeous environment here and we hope that we get another chance to show you how lovely a stay here at Aniseed can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Aniseed Luxury Villas in The Promised Land valley are a fantastic place to get away from the rat race of Sydney. If you really want to start your holidays with the ultimate de-stress stay then this is it. Spa treatments, dinner hampers, outdoor spa (which my daughter loved) and private candlelit dinners all make for a fantastic stay.

This is the place for those who like to try the best of the local fresh produce and with Bellingen only 10 minutes away the options are unlimited. From the all natural breakfast in your room, make your way into Bellingen, shop the day, then dine at No2 Oak Street for a fantastic dining experience.
Take the ring road and if you don’t run into David Helfgott the aspect view of the Dorrigo escarpment will blow you away. If visiting in summer don’t forget to swim in the Never Never creek, very refreshing.

Rod and Jo are great hosts, there when you need them and not intrusive as they understand what a holiday is all about. We stay in the Coffs area every year and visit Bellingen but this is our fist stay, how lucky we were to find this gem. Thanks Rod & Jo.

Cheers Kathleen, Emily & John

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golffer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Aniseed Luxury Villas are wonderful. The 2 villas are cleverly positioned to provide maximum privacy. They are new, with a great design and well appointed.

Peaceful and quiet- had the best sleeps.

Rod and Jo are perfect hots- available but not intrusive.

Highly recommend Aniseed Luxury Villas.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingen hotels
4.7 mi away
Bellingen YHA - Belfry Guesthouse
5.3 mi away
Koompartoo Retreat
Koompartoo Retreat
#9 of 10 in Bellingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
5.9 mi away
Afterglow Cottages
Afterglow Cottages
#2 of 10 in Bellingen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bella Vista Bellingen
Bella Vista Bellingen
#5 of 11 in Bellingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
4.9 mi away
Diggers Tavern & Motel
Diggers Tavern & Motel
#6 of 11 in Bellingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bellingen Valley Lodge
Bellingen Valley Lodge
#8 of 11 in Bellingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aniseed Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aniseed Luxury Villas

Property: Aniseed Luxury Villas
Address: 1090 Promised Land Rd, Bellingen, New South Wales 2454, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bellingen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bellingen
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing