We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa John's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Temagami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Papa John's Place
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Excellant spot to get away from the City and it's right off the highway. Have stayed there for the week, 4 years in a row now and will be back for sure next year. Everything is clean and well maintained right from the cottages to the boat and motors. And the owners (Chris and Randy) bend over backwards for you to make your stay enjoyable. Bret Davis.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stoney creek, on
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My husband and I visited Papa John's Place and thought that it was a GREAT place for family, camping and fishing! We actually got Chris, the owner, to take us out to a secondary boat launch for back country camping into another lake for 4 days. It was spectacular! We have done the trip before several times with a canoe, but we REALLY appreciated being able to use the lodge's boats (for a reasonable fee per day) to be able to explore more of the lakes and surrounding area. Nothing beats the AWESOME fishing you'll find at this lodge and in the interior lakes right next door! Enjoy! You'll have a GREAT trip for sure!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Randy and Chris are fantastic, they go out of there way to see that you have a great time, great boats and motors, excellent fishing, nice clean comfortable cottage, nightly campfires and a great atmosphere. The only problem is that I only had 1 week holidays!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

A group of friends and myself have been frequenting Papa John's Place for 3 years. Each year we encounter the friendly faces of Randy and Chris (the owners). Their hospitality and outgoing customer first attitude is beyond evident. They are always happy to quote pricing and provide quick feedback to lodging availability; which in turn takes the stress off planning and scheduling a fishing weekend.

The accomodations are spotless, located close to main road access, and provide all the necessities (and then some!) that you could ever need for your trip! They also have a number of packages to suit your individual needs.

A neat feature they have is adventures to 'remote back lakes' accessable only by portage. These crystal clear lakes are only outmatched by their beauty and the bounties of fish they produce. Each lake is cottage free and fishing pressure is unheard of. Many times we haven't even encountered another boat on the same lake, which always makes for a stringer full of fish and an even better shore lunch.

2 thumbs up!

Room Tip: I prefered the larger cabin in the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fergus,ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect as i have never gone with a bunch of guys fishing before and it was an experience for me. i can't wait to go again next year to do this again.
i was only going to spend a couple of days but guess what i had such a good time that i stayed for the whole week.
steve mykytuik

Room Tip: all the cottages are good doesn't matter which one you have they are all clean well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temagami hotels
5.5 mi away
Northland Paradise Lodge
Northland Paradise Lodge
#5 of 11 in Temagami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
5.6 mi away
Wilson Lake Cottages
Wilson Lake Cottages
#11 of 11 in Temagami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ridgewood Cottages
Ridgewood Cottages
#3 of 11 in Temagami
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papa John's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papa John's Place

Property: Papa John's Place
Address: 18 Papa John Rd | RR 1, Temagami, Ontario P0H 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Temagami
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Temagami
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our park offers 1 - 3 bedroom, clean, fully equipped cottages and 5 hydro & water campsites & 4 non-hydro campsites. Cottages & sites all on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papa John's Place Temagami, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing