We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just visited the White House for the third time and it just keeps greeting better and better. The hotel is the closest place you will ever find to living in a bygone era. You feel like you are guests in a country mansion. The hotel has many period features but also feels at one with nature. Our very dear friends had their wedding reception here. The attention to detail, the service and the caring attitude of the staff was second to none. The last two trips we were in the main hotel, this time we had a sea view room in Mermaid Cottages. Both are equally good in their own way. We had a better view from the hotel but were closer to the sea in the cottages so could hear the waves which we loved. The food, as always, was superb. As a vegetarian I was exceedingly well catered for. The rooms have had some great upgrading since our last visit and were really lovely. We cannot fault this timeless hotel. We have been fortunate enough to Travel around the world and this is still one of our favourite hotels. Herm itself is unique in its beauty peace and tranquility,,yet there is enough to do with the little shops, the tavern, the was and the beaches. We will of course be back!

Room Tip: Book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    57
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
79
126
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We love Herm and it's a great, safe place for families. The hotel is lovely, and the evening meal much better than one would expect from a family hotel. Some of the more popular beaches do get a bit crowded in summer, but there's always somewhere to escape to. This is a fantastic place to do nothing and I suspect would be great for a cosier break in Autumn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
160 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a fine hotel with wonderful views to the west. It cannot be divorced from its environment though. Beautiful and well maintained though Herm is, there are hundreds of day trippers come from Guernsey and the quay, the touristy shops and one of the 2 pubs are right on the doorstep. IN fact our room balcony(41) overlooked the courtyard of the pub.

The food was excellent, the staff very well trained. We did have some issues at breakfasts which was probably because the restaurant management was not the same as at dinner.

Do go for a day or two, but go mid week and not in school holidays

Room Tip: keep to the front at the east end
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linden25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermIsland, Director of Sales at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Linden25,

I must admit to being curious as to the title of your review, although i was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the White House Hotel. As a point of clarification, Room 41 has a balcony that is above the terrace of the Ship Inn Brasserie rather than the Mermaid Tavern which is often considered to be Herm's pub.
Herm, as a tourist destination, does attract many day visitors on a warm sunny day, and the key attractions of Shell and Belvoir Beaches, the Mermaid Tavern and the Gift shops can become busy. There are a number of other beaches on the Island though that you can lose yourself on, even when the Island is at its busiest. Fisherman's, North and Bears beaches all remain quiet, and the Southern Cliff paths are rarely busy.
At 5.35 pm the final ferry takes the remaining day visitors away from the Island, and leaves just the visitors staying on the island. On occasion, there is an evening dinner boat that brings guests over from Guernsey, but that departs Herm at 10.45pm.

Your room tip is absolutely correct though! If it is real peace and tranquility that you are after, midweek, and outside of school holidays is definitely the time to visit.

Best wishes



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just back from yet again a wonderful few days on Herm at The White House, having been going there from too many years to even think about it never fails us and we are always sad to leave (but counting the days until next year already!). The food in the hotel has improved once again, although maybe it would be nice to see some more basic sandwiches on the bar/ship menu at lunchtime. Staff fantastic, always cheerful, attentive and chatty. I swear the pool is warmer this year with the new heating although my girls dispute this and the tennis court is a challenge as usual - but would not want it any different as it all adds to the general charm of the island. Many thanks Sion and Jonathan, look forward to seeing you again next July and please can you arrange a repeat of this years weather (without that cold wind!!)

Room Tip: Mermaid Cottage can be a little noisy when The Mermaid closes and the last Trident leaves, but only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

my husband and i were on a 3 night break in Guernsey and decided to take the ferry across to Herm for the day. What a beautiful island. At 3.30 pm we decided to have some tea and scones whilst waiting for the return ferry. We sat in the hotel lounge which was not busy at all (4 customers) and looked at the menu, and waited and waited. When nobody came i went to the reception desk and was talking to the manageress about us coming across from Jersey for the weekend, i asked to see a room and was very impressed. I then asked if we could order tea and scones and was asked what room number we were in! When i said we were paying cash we were told this was not possible and that the lounge area was for guests only.I was very suprised at this as we had been sat waiting for 15 mins.....and i would have thought viewing a room and asking about weekend prices would have been a clue that we were not guests.....plus the only customers in the lounge were 4 people waiting to go home! Why have a menu if you cannot eat or drink in there? We were told if we wanted scones to go to the Ship Inn next door.(same establishment)
So, at 4.15pm off we went next door. There was 2 customers in there....we waited.....and waited.....and watched 4 staff stood at the bar chatting! Eventually a waiter came over and we ordered a pot of tea for two with 2 lots of scones......and guess what.....the reply was unbelievable..."we stop serving afternoon tea at 4.30pm"! I explained we only wanted 2 scones.....but no....the same reply came.... we stop serving afternoon tea at 4.30pm.
I didn`t bother to explain that the manager told us to come in here for the scones...and that if we had been served straight away we would have made the 4.30 pm deadline....it was only 4.35pm! so, we just ordered a pot of tea. A dirty old stainless steel pot came.....2 coffee cups and saucers...and milk...no hot water jug.....it was as bad as the service. 2 tables that needed clearing was just left...whilst the staff all 4 of them carried on chatting at the bar.
The whole inn looked as if it needed a clean....it even smelled dirty. It was very dissapointing....it is sad when a customer cannot get 2 scones with their tea at 4.30pm! The ferry doesn`t leave until 5.30pm. And at £3.80 for a dirty pot of tea i do not call that good value for money.It gave us a very bad impression of the hotel...they obviously do not need the trade, that`s why it had empty rooms and empty lounges in July! It has totally put us off staying there, and would rather stay in Guernsey...where the food and service is faultless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermIsland, Director of Sales at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Monica S,

Very many thanks for your feedback following your visit to the White House Hotel earlier this month.

I was so sorry to learn of your experience, as it should have been so very much more positive.

We do have a policy in the Hotel that only guests may use the lounges and private gardens, in order that there is somewhere private and quiet to retreat to if there are a lot of day visitors to the Island. Most guests, however, prefer to explore the Island and its beautiful beaches, hence, there would have been very few guests around mid afternoon.

I was also sorry to hear of the lapse in service delivery afforded you in the Ship Inn. Very many thanks for bringing this to our attention - we will be sure to address this with the team in order that service is fluent and welcoming for all guests, at what ever time in each area of our business.

Thank you so much for visiting Herm, and exploring its natural beauty. Once again, I am sorry that we left you with the wrong impression of the hospitality available, and assure you that this is an exception rather than the norm.

Should you wish to contact me in order to discuss this further, I would be delighted to hear from you.

Best regards



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmadena
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the part of the letter of thanks we sent to the Hotel Manager;

We wanted to thank you and all your staff for the most fantastic day, everything went to plan thanks to you all, in particular;

1. The transport provided to and from the church was excellent and a great deal of fun

2. The pre drinks arranged outside were informal, just what we wanted

3. The lunch / food was absolutely superb, hats off to the Chef - we had so many comments from our friends on how good the food was and the service, your staff are great at not being noticed, which to me is exactly the right combination, no one had to ask for anything - it was there !

4. We all enjoyed the guitar from our friend Allan, I think some of your other guests did too ! thanks for letting us go ahead with that

5. Oh and we must not forget the bell ringer, come receptionist , driver and anything else that was asked of her - she was brilliant

All in all I couldn't think of anywhere we would have preferred to go to or that could have been improved on, really we thought it that good, you are a fantastic host !!

I wish you had been in the Church as 'The Rev' was hilarious, not sure he planned it that way

We want to book again for our first annivesary

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The White House is a hotel full of character with amazing views over to Guernsey and stunning sunsets. You could not get a better location anywhere.

We stayed in the Crow's Nest, which is right at the top of the hotel. The small balcony looks out over the harbour and gardens, and is the best room in the house.

The staff were friendly, but not overly fussy. If you wanted them, they were there, if you didn't, they blended into the background, which is exactly as it should be. They were knowledgable and chatty if you wanted someone to talk to while you sat in the bar.

We didn't have evening meals in the restaurant as we prefer to eat early and we don't like dress codes. The breakfasts were excellent and offered plenty of choice. Meals in the adjoining Ship Inn are highly recommended if you prefer informal dining.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and our room was well serviced by friendly cleaning staff.

This is one of those places that you could be tempted to give it a bad review so that Tripadvisor readers don't share your 'little island getaway'. But I wouldn't dream of such a thing. The hotel, and the island, is just the perfect place for a peaceful and relaxing holiday.

We've already enquired about next year ...

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herm
3.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
647 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
553 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: GY1 3HR
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Herm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the gentle chugging of a tractor heralds the arrival of your luggage, you know The White House Hotel is special. After all, how many hotels can boast a Britain in Bloom Gold Award-winning island as their garden, a harbour-side setting and such spectacular sea views? Tradition is cherished at this unique hotel to which many families have been coming for three generations. You'll find a variety of delightful bedrooms, where you won't find televisions, clocks or telephones, as somehow they don't seem appropriate on Herm. You will find world class cuisine in the 2 rosette Conservatory Restaurant, and exceptional service from our friendly team. The Four Star White House Hotel was the first business in the Channel Islands to achieve WorldHost Customer service status in 2012. All of the Hotel bedrooms and bathrooms have been upgraded over the past couple of years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Herm, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing