We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, why go abroad when this hotel is 15 minutes away from Guernsey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning, why go abroad when this hotel is 15 minutes away from Guernsey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for one night only over Bank Holiday weekend, wish we had time to stay longer. from arrival the staff were exceptional. Lovely Clean and spacious room with a fantastic view out to sea, It was nice not to have a TV, you dont need one with the views the rooms have to offer. Had evening dinner in the Conservatory restaurant, again excellent friendly staff and outstanding food, and watched the sunset go down whilst having dinner. Will visit again for a longer stay next time. Well done and thank you to all at the White House, Herm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, Director of Sales at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Linden G,

Very many thanks for your wonderful review of the White House Hotel following your visit over the May bank holiday weekend. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that we are able to welcome you back to Herm shortly.

Best regards


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    57
    18
    11
    4
See reviews for
76
118
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The main house was excellent and the room was overlooking the bay. It was clean, well appointed, with a small verandah. Not luxurious,just right for the short visit.The staff were friendly and quick to help.bags delivered to the room quickly and cheerfully.plenty of lounges to read and chill out.The restaurant was good food,lovely staff though the service was very slow.The kitchen just didn't seem to cope with the Bank holiday crowd.the wait staff kept apologising for the long wait for our main meal. I wasn't in a hurry so I didn't mind,however it was poorly managed . The staff saved the evening by being attentive and very pleasant. Breakfast was ok,nothing special and once again lack of staff,made for a slow and frustrating start to the day
The location of the hotel,(the only one) was superb,great views,lovely walks,perfect beaches.

Room Tip: This would have been a very very different review had we stayed in the "cottages"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reluctantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, Director of Sales at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear reluctantraveller,

Very many thanks for your review of your most recent stay at the White House Hotel. We are delighted to here that, on the whole, your stay was most enjoyable, but were sorry to learn of the delays in service during dinner and breakfast. The Island as a whole was extremely busy over the bank holiday weekend, but this should not have impeded service of meals, and so we wish to convey our sincere apologies for this.

Best regards


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Herm Island is very peaceful and beautiful. This hotel is always appreciated for its location and service. The staff of 2013 are especially cheerful, friendly and helpful. One waitress noticed us taking photos of each other at a special lunch and came from the other side of the restaurant to offer to take a photo of both of us. All staff will go the extra mile. When the Sommelier, Alan, remembers your favourite wine from last summer, you really do feel special. The food and wines are excellent and Head Chef, Nigel Waylen, takes a great interest in catering for special diets.
The fact that staff return year-on-year says a lot about the Management Team. The Head Receptionist, Linda, always has a smile. The Manager of the White House Hotel, Sion Dobson Jones, even lends us books and DVDs on topics of special interest. There are no TVs, DVD players or bedroom telephones in this hotel for a more relaxing holiday but a laptop works wonders and there is Wi-Fi.
Nothing is too much trouble – you only have to ask! We can't wait until we are back on Herm Island in a couple of months time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, Director of Sales at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Sharon M,

Thank you for your review of the White House Hotel. It is a pleasure to welcome many guests back to Herm year after year, and Sion and the team really do care tremendously about the level of Customer service that is extended to both returning guests and those that are visiting Herm for the very first time.

It is so wonderful to hear that the teams hospitality this year has surpassed that of last year, and we will continue to strive for further improvements.

Best wishes

Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I got married on Herm so this island is particularly special for us, not least the exceptional staff at the hotel who went the extra mile to make it such super wedding. We go back each year for our anniversary to stay, and again this year we enjoyed it thoroughly.

Its luxury is in its simplicity, focus on excellent, warm service and delicious local cooking. It's a real retreat from every day life and there is something very special about this place that you don't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, Director of Sales at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Jasmine053

It is always a pleasure to welcome you both on your anniversary, and we are delighted that you enjoy visiting the White House Hotel so much each year. We are very proud of the hospitality that we offer, and are enormously grateful for your positive review.

Best wishes


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel and, in fact, the whole island is amazing. The hotel is lovely, the staff very friendly and efficient and the setting is stunning. A unique and very special place. Our son was married on the island and the whole day was magical. The staff were fantastic - always around when needed an nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Don't just choose the main hotel as the rooms away from the main building are really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan W, Director of Sales at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Janie C,

Very many thanks for writing such a fabulous review following the marriage of your son on Herm Island. Sion and the team were delighted to be able to look after this very special day, and we are so proud that everyone had such a great time.

Best wishes


Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Very good service throughout staff very knowledgeable excellent choice of wines to go with the six courses portions just perfect. Bags taken from the boat straight to the room, recommend room 7 with great balcony and views over the pool and Guernsey. Hope they do another one soon. Very good team that work well for each other!!! Very good WiFi so managed to watch arsenal v man u.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamandCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJONES_HERM, General Manager at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear WilliamandCindy

I wish you a belated congratulations for your wedding anniversary!

Many thanks for you feedback for your recent stay at the White House Hotel on Herm Island.

I am delighted that you had enjoyed the Gourmet evening!

I am also glad that you found the WI-FI signal to be very good (shame about the football result though!).

I shall look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Sion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Whilst only having to travel the 3 miles from Guernsey to Herm, you feel a million miles away from home, we look forward to this weekend every year, we have been going to the White House for the last 6 years - the wine tasting opening up the summer, the gourmet weekend equally as good finishing the summer season. The food, service, staff always previously good, was exceptional this year, it's a delight to come over. Each year we see small changes and when you have been a regular visitor, for many years and are very fond of the hotel, you don't necessarily like change but the changes are very sympathetic and well done. My one plea is please do not come totally into the 21st century, part of Herm's charm is it's quaintness and the ability to get awat from it all, and STOP ! the fact they have no TV's is wondeful , yes you actually have to talk to each other, play board games, sit in front of the fire and read a book,read the sunday papers, all the luxuries that pass us by in a busy lifestyle. A Weekend away that is exceptionally good value, very relaxing and whilst I don't want to wish away the summer I can't wait to be returning in September for the gourmet weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizziePD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermIsland, Director of Sales at The White House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear LizziePD,

We're delighted that you noticed the continual improvements that we make each year at the White House Hotel, and that you choose to return for our Wine Tasting and Gourmet weekends. We have so much fun in putting these weekends together, we think you'll love what Nigel Waylen, our Head Chef, and his team have got lined up for September!

We are not planning TV's in rooms at all, and will continue to do so, as we fully understand that the Hotel lends itself beautifully to peace, tranquility and relaxation - With the occasional need to visit the bars and restaurants when hungry or thirsty!

We're looking forward to welcoming you back ashore in September.

Best wishes



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herm
5.0 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: GY1 3HR
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Herm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the gentle chugging of a tractor heralds the arrival of your luggage, you know The White House Hotel is special. After all, how many hotels can boast a Britain in Bloom Gold Award-winning island as their garden, a harbour-side setting and such spectacular sea views? Tradition is cherished at this unique hotel to which many families have been coming for three generations. You'll find a variety of delightful bedrooms, where you won't find televisions, clocks or telephones, as somehow they don't seem appropriate on Herm. You will find world class cuisine in the 2 rosette Conservatory Restaurant, and exceptional service from our friendly team. The Four Star White House Hotel was the first business in the Channel Islands to achieve WorldHost Customer service status in 2012. All of the Hotel bedrooms and bathrooms have been upgraded over the past couple of years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Herm, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing