We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday 28 June to 5 July 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seagull Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Herm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagull Campsite
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Herm
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday 28 June to 5 July 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been on day trips to Herm many times over the last 15 years, but this was the first time we have stayed. We enjoy camping, so chose a pre-erected tent on Seagull Campsite. Our tent was good quality and spacious for 3 of us. Airbeds were comfortable. Cooking equipment limited but adequate. Our pitch was perfect for us, but the tents on the main field appeared quite close together. On our first weekend there was a large group with a themed party. After they left on the Sunday it was quiet for a few days until a large school party arrived from Wednesday until Friday. We never had to wait for toilets or showers, however if the site was full, suspect facilities may be inadequate for the number of pitches available.
We ate sandwiches from the beach kiosks and meals at the Mermaid and White House Hotel which were all good.
One day we had breakfast at the Ship Inn. There was a poor selection especially for our daughter who is vegetarian. After negotiation she was served 1 slice of toast with baked beans and we had a full English which was only luke warm. We ate is as were about to catch the Trident to spend the day in Guernsey. We did complain but with no response. Consequently we did not eat there again.
It is worth noting the shop did not stock any fresh fruit,vegetables or croissants and all bread is frozen. There was also no hedge veg available.
The main reasons for holidaying in Herm are the unspoilt beaches and views which are superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at Seagull Campsite, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Christine S,

Very many thanks for your review of Seagull campsite on Herm Island. We're delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. The campsite can get very busy in the school holidays, and the facilities are well used, but we rarely have situations where guests have to wait for showers etc.

The grocery shop at the Mermaid Tavern will happily order fresh fruit and vegetables, but there is no production on the Island, so it must be brought in from Guernsey on a daily basis.

I was sorry to learn of your poor experience in the Ship Inn. This is certainly not the norm, and i will take this up with the team.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback, we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Herm soon.

Best regards



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our second year camping in the pre-erected tents on Herm and our umpteenth time in Herm itself. The good stuff is all about the island itself. The peace, the views, the beaches, the colours, the tranquility. Herm is a very special place. Our party of 4 adults and 5 children love the whole Herm experience, including crab-fishing, swimming, eating at the Mermaid pub, rockpooling and star-gazing. It is a very special place. However, we were quite disappointed at the standard of the campsite - it seems to have deteriorated markedly in the last year. A collapsed tent sat forlornly on the field, several dozen plastic chairs and tables were untidily stacked in by the toilets, the grass was too long and the field was becoming cut-up and rutted by the tractors/quad bikes used by the staff. The workshop area used by the staff was a complete mess and left open to all, allowing children to poke around the tools and utensils contained therein. The toilets also became very messy very quickly due to the fact that paper towels were the only way of drying one's hands. The good news is that these are all quick fixes and probably wont effect our decision to return again next year. It just needs a fresh pair of eyes to then point them out to the Campsite Manager. One final moan is due to the fact that no lights are provided in the tents. Surely a cheap, eco-friendly solar powered lamp could be provided?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilsars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermIsland, Director of Hospitality at Seagull Campsite, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear neilsars,

Thank you for writing a review for Seagull campsite. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Island as a whole, and had a great time. We were, however, sorry to learn of your disappointment with the campsite itself. I understand that my colleague has also answered your direct E mail to the Island following your visit as follows:

"The collapsed tent was an unfortunate situation that occurred just prior to your arrival and should have been dealt with sooner.
As you may have noticed we are currently re-roofing our hay barn, which has resulted in a severe lack of storage on the island, this is why the campsite chairs are being stored outside the toilets at present. We appreciate that this is not ideal but it is a temporary solution that will be rectified as soon as we are able.
The workshop being left open and a mess is unacceptable, thank you for bringing it to my attention and rest assured it has been addressed.
The site ground care is an on-going challenge where we strive to achieve the correct balance between maintaining the grass and having a muddy field, unfortunately vehicle use is essential for the business to operate but not very conducive to the wellbeing of the grass. Moss field is currently being prepared for its use as a cricket pitch for the annual Lord Taverner’s event and as it is being used infrequently for camping we are able to restrict vehicle access to a minimum, hence its rather better appearance.
In regard to changing the hand towels in the toilets, we had planned to upgrade the electrical supply to the campsite enabling the installation of electrical hand dryers, unfortunately these plans have been scuppered by our landlords (States of Guernsey) refusal to grant our request for a lease extension.
I hope this has gone some way to allay your concerns and very much hope we will see you again in the future."

Best regards



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Camping on Herm is a very special experience. The views from the campsite are superb, looking out across some of the other Channel Islands. At night the lack of light pollution means that it is well worth sitting outside the tent on a clear night to simply gaze at the stars.
I have stayed on campsites with better shower blocks but they were adequate for our stay. Pitching our tent was simple as the grass was reasonably soft, far better than many other sites I have stayed on.
In the evening it was a delightful walk down the hill to the Mermaid Tavern for food and beer at reasonable prices.
Be back next year, without doubt.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I felt I had to write a review after reading the last one from TTSS66. I can only imagine that they were in a very bad mood when they wrote it as they seem to have searched for any negative and must have missed all the positives about the special camping experience at Seagull Campsite.
I have stayed at Seagull Campsite at least once a year for the last 29 years, as my first holiday was at age 2, and I have always had amazing holidays.
As the majority of people spend all day on one of Herms beautiful beaches they are usually a little sandy come shower time and if you are adverse to a little sand under your feet whilst showering then is it really a problem to wear flip flops? Also, Herm is mainly self-sufficient, so I am sure the timed showers are more to save on water than to make money. My Mum used to manage to get the 3 of us washed and scrubbed in one £1 session, which I believe was 50p back in the 80's!
The atmosphere around the Herm campsite is exceptionally friendly, with parents sitting back and relaxing as their children make new friends for the week in what has to be one of the safest and most child-friendly of environments.
As for the last review's comments on the lack of fresh produce, that is just not true. The island offers an excellent range of food within its restaurants at every level. From the gourmet dining experiences at The White House, to the excellent menu at the Ship, the wide range of choice at the Mermaid and the fresh sandwiches, scones and cakes at the beach cafes. Yes, the black rock does offer a wide range of different meats (and the Kangaroo is delicious) but they also offer this alongside fresh scallops and sea bass!
As for having your bread and milk delivered, it is only a 15 minute walk to the shop and most holiday makers will visit the Mermaid at least once a day anyway.
Herm is not a 5* Holiday resort (and lets hope it never goes that way), but it is a magical place. You can spend 2 days there and feel like you've had a weeks break. It is a family friendly, relaxed island, with some of the most beautiful beaches in the world.
As I am Guernsey born and bred I feel that us Islanders are incredibly lucky to have Herm on our doorstep and can finish work at 5, jump on a boat, and be sitting in the Mermaid with a cold beer by 5.15. It is beyond me how anyone can go for a holiday to Herm and not have an incredible time. After spending six years traveling the world and seeing some amazing places, I can honestly say that I have never found anywhere quite like Herm and it is my absolute most favourite of places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MarkG615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Such a shame as location and views spectacular. We are from Guernsey and visit Herm often. However the camping facilities are very poor. We all kept our flip flops on when showering as so unpleasant. Agree with previous review about £1 coin etc. investment definitely needed in the toilet/shower block. Tiny basins and no shelves to put your wash things just a hook. At the price charged for camping would expect 5 star standard. You are provided with a cool box but freezers very full and so difficult to freeze your blocks and find again! 2013 -fridges in tent please. There is no shop at site so you must remember to pick up milk, bread etc at shop in village, not great if you don't plan to be on that side of the island. Perhaps the camp staff who travel up and down the hill on tractors/quads could bring one delivery early morning. We didn't see any bread on each visit to shop let alone croissants or baguettes etc. and no fresh produce which is what you want on holiday. If you go out for dinner though you might be lucky enough to be offered Australian crab, or even zebra and crocodile. shocking when Guernsey is abundant in fresh produce and seafood. Any respected restaurant in these times promotes food provenance. Fresh, local and seasonal please or remove from menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTSS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermIsland, Director of Sales at Seagull Campsite, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear TTSS66,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Seagull campsite, Herm Island.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Island, but were sorry to learn that you did not think that the campsite offered value for money. It is, however, the revenue from the Islands businesses that make it possible for Herm Island to continue to offer such outstanding beauty. The pricing of the camping facility, along with the facilities, offer value for money given the setting that they are in. With the absence of electricity to the site, and gas bottles needing to be shipped from Guernsey, there is not a way that we could sensibly consider including fridges in the tent. They are not marketed this way, but do offer coolboxes as an alternative.

I have passed on your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the shower blocks to the campsite team.

The shop at the Mermaid Tavern offers a range of groceries, including fresh bread, that can be pre-ordered through our website and be in your tent on arrival. Fresh fruit, vegetables and meat can be ordered for you from the grocery shop.

I note that you have listed a couple of the exotic meats and fish that are available on the Black Rock Grill restaurant menu, for which there is a considerable demand, but failed to also note the availability of Fresh Seabass and Scallops on the same menu. This is one option of dining on the Island, whilst there is an abundance of fresh seafood and shellfish available throughout the Island restaurants. I am completely baffled as to why you would suggest that Herm Island uses Australian crab, when we buy all of our crab fresh from Guernsey suppliers!

I am sorry that your stay was not quite as you anticipated, and wonder whether Holiday Cottage accommodation on the Island would be more suited to your needs?

Best regards



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just back from 5 nights camping at Seagull campsite.
Can't fault Herm itself - fantastic, relaxing, quiet, scenic beautiful island.
Campsite is beautifully set out with lots of open space for the children to play.
Downside is the shower/toilet facilities - remember your £1 coin to pay for showers - problem - especially if you have a young child or a child with a disability (as I do), you put your coin in - light comes on, hot water comes on - however, you have NO warning when the coin is going to run out - so you end up wet and in the dark! Not the best combination!
There are also no squeegee mops or anything to clean the grime/hair/muck from the shower floor - not a pleasant experience standing in someone elses hair!
Toilets were ok, but often had no loo roll or paper towels, and there is nowhere to empty a camping toilet - other than down a normal toilet bowl!
Would be lovely to see a little 'shop' come along each day - even for just half an hour each morning - with essentials - milk, bread etc and half hour in the evening with a few tea time essentials. The shop by the harbour is stocked well enough, but it is quite a hike up that hill - especially with very young children!
We did have a fantastic time, everyone very friendly, it's just those few gripes that prevented the 'excellent' review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HermIsland, Director of Sales at Seagull Campsite, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear 6inatent,

Very many thanks for your review of Seagull campsite, Herm Island.

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience, and that you loved Herm itself. Many apologies for the lapse in service delivery that affected the cleaning of the shower blocks, and also the lack of loo rolls and paper towels. We have fed this back to the campsite team in order that they can ensure that these issues are kept on top of during the season.

I have also fed your thoughts regarding the coin mechanisms in the showers, not giving you warning as to when the showers and lights will finish, to our Technical director, in order that he may come up with a solution.

Very many thanks for visiting Herm - we're really pleased that you had a fantastic time - we'll work on these issues so that we can get an "excellent" review next time.

Best regards



Jonathan Watson
Director of Hospitality
Herm Island Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herm
0.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
5.7 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Campsite

Property: Seagull Campsite
Address: Herm Island, GY1 3HR
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Herm
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Herm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Seagull Campsite Herm, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing