We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit :)”

The Ruin Beach Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Tresco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: All day beach front dining with a wood-fired oven producing a range of delicious dishes. At the heart of the restaurant - and the menu - is the wood-fired oven that produces delicious pizzas, roasts the succulent beef and fresh fish, as well as baking the bread. It's fuelled with island wood, and brings a real flavour of the Mediterranean to the cooking. Other highlights from the menu include spicy crab linguini, confit of duck, pot-roasted shoulder of lamb and gnocchi with goat's cheese. For early risers, there is a delicious buffet breakfast available. The café takes its name from the ruined smuggler's cottage that forms part of its terrace. Uninhabited since the late-nineteenth century, there was a family of 12 living there in abject poverty when Augustus Smith arrived in the early 1830s. Their shared sleeping quarters consisted of a low loft in the roof space. Given that the neighbouring Watch House was the Coastguard boathouse from the 1820s, smuggling must have been a very tricky business for the old cottage's residents! We were absolutely delighted when Conde Nast Traveller magazine awarded the Ruin Beach Café the Gold Standard in its listing of favourite hotels, restaurants, bars and beach clubs from around the world in 2013. It's great to know that Tresco can hold its own with the very best in the world, as the other Gold Standard beach bars and clubs were in Bali, Barbados, St Barth's, Italy and the South of France.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Second visit :)”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Called in for a mid morning drink and made to feel very welcome the same as last year when we called in. Fantastic location and very good food and drinks. Well worth a visit if you find yourself on tresco.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    142
    54
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and excellent food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a fabulous meal at the café with tasty and well cooked scallops and lobster and lovely wine. Not cheap but great value for money and the service was excellent. Would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the service (and stale scones)”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The most wonderful location and we were really looking forward to an afternoon snack to round off the afternoon. But, alas, we were made to feel totally unwanted by the staff. Maybe they care more about lunch and dinner trade, but they simply didn't seem to be interested in our custom. The website-promised afternoon tea was nowhere to be seen until, after we had ordered a tea and scone, another member of staff mentioned that they do, in fact, offer afternoon tea which came as a surprise to the staff member serving us. And certainly wasn't on any menu or signs.

The staff member serving us was really rather snotty, if truth be told, quizzing us and the customers before about exactly where we were sitting to the point of inquisition; short of giving GPS coordinates, I'm not sure our explanations could have been much clearer!

Having finally sorted out an order and where we were sitting, our drinks and food then appeared - twice! By two separate members of staff! And the scones were just plain stale. And not at all cheap. Trading off the amazing location like this just isn't on. A real disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Digbyziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“All about the view”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have lunched here over the previous four years and enjoy the stunning view from the outside decking. Unfortunately the food and service failed to match. Having found a table we had to go hunting the menu and eventually try and attract a waiter. The pasta and pizza were adequate but certainly not up to previous years. I can not understand how this got into the Conde baste magazine on this showing. Like most things on Tresco it is not cheap. I suggest you visit but do not expect the good to match the stunning view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We are in the Scilly Islands for a few days and did a bit of Island hopping today. We spent time over lunch on Tresco and on our boat driver's recommendation we had lunch at the Ruin beach cafe. It was fab, it didn't hurt that the sun was shining but the good was great, plenty of it and really delicious and the wines were very good. If you want a good meal at any time during the day then this is a great choice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Etumelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ruin Beach Cafe also viewed

 
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
 

Been to The Ruin Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing