We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful little Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tresco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tresco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful little Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Two friends and I stayed for 5 days in late October. The weather was wonderful, the visits to other islands each day were delightful and the New Inn was an excellent base.

The beds were very comfortable and our rooms and bathrooms clean and bright, but it still managed to retain the feel of an old Inn.

Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice and the dinners every night were extraordinarily good. Imaginative, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious food. They obviously had a top-notch chef whilst we were there. There was plenty of choice on the main menu and each day they had an additional "specials" menu. The selection of wines was excellent as well. If we hadn't been doing so much walking during the day, we would have put on a lot of weight!

The staff were all very considerate and helpful.

A wonderful experience! I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    47
    20
    10
    1
See reviews for
31
88
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great pub. Gastro quality menu. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended. We were staying in one of the lovely cottages nearby, and came back several times to enjoy different items on the menu. Also recommend the Cornish Rattler cider, which we wouldnt normally have, but this is delicious. You couldnt ask for better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranelaghandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend and had the most amazing time. The staff are so friendly, the room we had was sold as without a sea view, was on the ground floor looking out onto the outdoor swimming pool with our own little terrace area and table and chairs, also a small sea view was great. A large en-suite and large bedroom with two sets of french windows (Room16). The breakfasts were plentiful with a full buffet choice and of course the full English. We ate in the pub on 2 nights and had great food on both occasions along with plenty of the large range of Cornish real ales and a great selection of wines. We can not wait to go back. Thanks to the team at the New Inn who made our short break very special. An added bonus was the live entertainment on Saturday night and Sunday afternoon supplied by the Sheffield group "Scuppered" thanks lads for the great music and banter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My partner and I were so excited that we were able to spend the 2nd week of our honeymoon on the island of Tresco and had looked forward to it for some time. We were recommended to stay at the New Inn and from the moment we walked into our room, we knew we were not going to enjoy it. Our bathroom was dirty: Mould on the tiles near the bath taps, dirty soap dish, grime around the sink taps and the loo brush holder was covered in splashes of cream cleanser. Not to mention where they have obviously replaced the towel rail and barely covered over the old red wall plugs in the tiles with a bit of filler. At over £200 per night for us both, we expected, with it's four star AA and tourist board ratings to have some sort of wow factor. Our room over looked the roof of the pub below and so at night we could hear everything. Every time someone walked through the landing door, it banged so loudly it woke us up. Breakfast would have been delightful had it not been for the sloppy under experienced staff who made errors with our order, had to re-ask us twice on more than once occasion and didn't even have the common sense to clear plates before our cooked breakfast arrived so that the table was't full of dirty pots. On a more positive note, the two evening meals we had there, were excellent and very tasty. (Our sincere compliments to the chef!) However, sadly, our table on the first night was still dirty from the previous occupants and again, we were surrounded by dirty pots - while the waiting staff stood round and talked to their mates. Is this a large grossly overpriced pub trying to be exclusive and failing miserably? Or is this a small hotel that needs to pull its socks up pronto and get back some wow factor? I don't think they know either! We for one will never know as we will certainly not go back there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night in July. Having read mixed reviews on here I wasn't expecting too much and was very pleasantly surprised. Firstly we got last minute rates which were considerably cheaper than the rates advertised online so I would recommend calling to see what deals they have. We paid £60 per person for a non sea view room but we could actually partially see the sea anyway! The staff are very very friendly and helpful and there is a really nice atmosphere in the pub which has pictures of famous locals/historical info throughout. We had lunch at the pub, a ham and picalilly sandwich which was delicious! The room itself was lovely, very cosy and with nice/fresh decorations. The bed was incredibly comfortable, I didn't want to get up! The hotel is quite old and creaky, so when you have children running around the corridors as we did it can be a little noisy. I had ear plugs so was fine but this could be irritating for some people depending on who else is staying there at the time! I will be staying here next time I go to Tresco.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 which was lovely and did have partial sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelicious01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stopped for lunch at the New Inn on 6 June 2012. Have eaten here many times in the past but never will again! We were a lunch party of 5. Two of us had the burger... it was ok, pretty tasty I suppose, although the accompanying serving of obviously undercooked skinny fries let them down... £11.00 per person... have had equal or better pub burgers elsewhere for much less than that. Another 2 had crab sandwiches. Served on typical supermarket sliced white bread, and as for the crab content??? I have seen more crab meat on a fishmonger's apron! It was extremely disappointing and cost £10.00 per person. Wife had a cornish yarg cheese sandwich with onion chutney. Again white supermarket sliced bread, lagged in cheap-tasting margerine which swamped the taste of the very thinly sliced yarg and had to be disassembled to scrape the marg out before being eaten. Now, the wife is a veggie and given that we eat lunch or dinner out at least 4 or 5 times a week, I can almost guarantee that she has been served every possible cheese sandwich available, anywhere, at one time or another! This was, in her opinion, the worst cheese sandwich anyone has ever served to her. They wanted £7.00 for it too. She complained to the waitress who apologised and said it would be removed from the bill. When I came to settle up it was still there and I had to complain all over again to get it taken off. It was only at the wife's insistence that I didn't send the crab sandwiches back as well but as it is the only pub on Tresco where we could get our teenagers something to eat before our helicopter flight back she said we should just let it slide. On reflection I wish I hadn't. So... overall a very disappointing experience and it was such a let down after having such great food there on many occasions in the past. In summary, the food was overpriced and of a very poor standard. It can't just be a Scilly thing, we ate much better meals on other islands for better prices! Either someone has taken their eye off the ball here or they are deliberately taking advantage of their sole pub status and pushing their GP margins to the extreme at the expense of their customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seamus4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
310 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Another trip to the New inn - this time to the Beer Festival. Great fun - a great selection of beers and wonderful live music (though I personally would have enjoyed some folk music at some stage during the weekend). Robin, Rachel and staff again hosted brilliantly and made sure we were enjoying it all. We were in a group of 6, and managed to book rooms around the pool, with patios, so we could be guaranteed a seat, but still listen to the music. It was great to see the islands in the warm sun (we normally go in November), and see them when more places were open. Thanks all!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the pool have patios and are larger - but our favourite is Room 15 at the top far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trescomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresco
2.9 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.7 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.0 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: New Grimsby, TR24 0QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > Tresco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tresco
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is very much the beating heart of the island. It's the place where guests and islanders can mingle, drink, eat and occasionally have a dance in a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. The New Inn has 16 rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, which are available to book on a bed and breakfast basis. In the summer months, there is a heated outdoor swimming pool for exclusive guest use. The residents' lounge provides our guests with a stylish and comfortable setting in which they can relax. There are three grades of room: Sun Terrace - These lovely ground floor bedrooms each have their own sun terrace overlooking the swimming pool. They are bright, airy and stylish with larger than average en-suite bathrooms. The room can be configured either as a double or twin. These rooms do not have a sea view. Sea View - Double or twin bedded rooms with a sea view over New Grimsby harbour. Situated on the first floor, these en-suite bedrooms are bright and airy with stylish décor and are equipped to a very high standard with everything you'd expect to find in a hotel. Standard - Double or twin bedded en-suite rooms, situated on the first floor in the older part of the building, all rooms are en-suite and most have bath and shower. The New Inn has been awarded 4 Yellow Stars and a Gold Star Award from The AA for quality and service and an AA rosette for food excellence. It offers 4 star Visit England accommodation and has been awarded a Visit England Silver Accolade and Breakfast Award. It is one of only twelve pubs in Cornwall listed in the new 'Eating Out in Pubs' Michelin Guide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Hotel Tresco
The New Inn Tresco, Isles Of Scilly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing