We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, clean, spacious friendly accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Carn Ithen Cottage

Carn Ithen, 80 metres away from beautiful Old Town Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carn Ithen, 80 metres away from beautiful Old Town Bay
Old Town beach and church is right nearby Looking south.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Carn Ithen, 80 metres away from beautiful Old Town Bay
Old Town beach and church is right nearby
Looking south.
Stone-stacking, a holiday pastime. Will it be there tomorrow?
New kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tourist68...
2 reviews
“Excellent, clean, spacious friendly accomodation”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The accomodation of Carn Ithen was excellent ,clean spacious and comfortable.. Everything you basically need and extras with very friendly helpful hosts.
Old Town was a good location on St Mary's the beach, church, cafe, Pub and wildlife park all within easy walking distance of the house. Walk into Hugh Town at least 6 different ways. We will come again .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you so much for your review Ruth. We hope to see again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattlope2...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scilly”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Its a lovely, comfortable cottage great location friendly welcome excellent welcome basket containing all essentials, even including a bottle of wine

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiseshu...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Carn Ithen”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Perfect for our needs. Well equipped and useful info and entertainment options. Would recommend to families with kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Thanks Louise for your review, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic location, and a very comfortable self catering apartment, well kitted out, and tastefully decorated and Danni and Nigel couldn't be more helpful with their extensive knowledge of the Islands , things to do and place to go.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S W
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation on beautiful islands”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Nigel and Danni were there to greet us and give us lots of valuable information about the islands. The accommodation was first class. Comfortable bedrooms and lounge and very well equipped kitchen. Although the accommodation was in Old Town where it was quiet and peaceful, it was just a 15 minute walk to Hugh Town where there were more facilities. We will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to book the same accommodation. We have already recommended to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thank you both for your lovely review. We aim to please and hope that we will see you again soon.
Danni and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spacious self-catering accommodation on tranquil St Marys.”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Well appointed, spacious and well laid-out ground floor apartment. Warm welcome from Danni and Nigel, who are especially knowledgeable on the bird life of the Isles of Scilly (and there is a nature reserve with hides just metres away). Old Town is quiet, apart from the occasional light aircraft from the airport, with a good pub, local shop and cafe. We enjoyed a meal in the pub, followed by a showing of a film of a Michael Morporgo story, set in and filmed in the IoS, which made for a nice evening. The apartment is also just off the coastal path and there are great walks around and across the island. We can recommend Pelistry Bay for swimming and Juliet's Garden for a seafood platter lunch. This was our first visit to the IoS, made all the more enjoyable by having such a lovely base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space
Liked least: Occasional noise from light aircraft taking off
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thanks Paul for your informative and positive review, we are so pleased your first trip to the Scillies was successful. We hope you will return in the future.
Danni and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NealM628
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our first stay upon the islands, and we were extremely lucky to have chose this wonderful flat to stay in. Full of very amenity you could wish for, comfortable beds for relaxing at the ned of our island explorations. Superbly located, easy access to Hugh Town and beyond. The welcome pack was beautiful and very welcoming. Hope to return we have been bitten by the magic of the islands. Thank you Danni and Nigel, hope to meet you next time Danni. The bonus were some splendid birds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loaction
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thank you Neal and Iris for your lovely review and we are so pleased that your first experience of the Isles of Scilly was a positive one. We hop that you will visit again.
Danni and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing