We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great few days ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell Rock Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bell Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another great few days ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is my favourite hotel on The Isles by a wide margin. If you want a comfy room, helpful, genuinely friendly staff and a good traditional breakfast this is the place. Had four nights in May this time and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Daniel and his team do a great job of making you feel very welcome and really go out of their way to make sure you have a great holiday. I had such a good time this year I've already booked a short break for August later this year. A cracking hotel that I will undoubtedly return to again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie_Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    68
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
169
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned home from a second visit to Bell Rock. Friendly welcome both from owners, managers and staff generally. Comfortable room facing front of hotel - nice superior size comfortable bed. Nice food, adequate choice. Good amenities in hotel - well placed location wise for local beaches, walks and short distance to quay. Hotel has had smart make over since our previous visit two years ago

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have nice sea view but face road, pick up some outside noise but of minor co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MALCOLM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Nice hotel, well situated with friendly helpful staff. Large cooked breakfast provided made with local produce. Had a wheat free bread available and well done for keeping marmite on the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Yet another excellent visit to the Bell Rock Hotel.
Conveniently situated close to beaches, shops and a short walk to the quay, it is a first class hotel with first class staff.
The proprietors and Daniel, the hotel manager, have thought of everything from plug sockets to mending kits and to robes for wearing to the lovely private swimming pool.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable and serviced daily by Shirley, with her eye for detail, and the rest of the housekeeping staff.
Head waiter Adrian ensures that the service in the dining room is speedy and efficient and he is also extremely friendly and helpful.
All the staff are so amiable and happy to help with anything you may need. Nothing is ever too much trouble.
The meals are superb and the menu is varied and is changed daily, thanks to the excellent chefs.
The Bell Rock Hotel really goes the extra mile to give you a wonderful holiday.
We look forward to returning…………

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my third stay at the Bell Rock. (I don't usually return to the same place for holidays, but why change what suits) It certainly did not disappoint. It is looking very smart after a bit of a "make over" during the winter and is just as welcoming and comfortable. As usual our welcome was warm and friendly and our rooms spotless, well equipped and comfortable. We were delayed by the weather but Daniel and staff sorted out any problems for us but it did mean our trip was shortened by one day so we will add that onto next year's holiday! The Bell Rock's position is unsurpassed as 2 beaches,shops and quay are within easy walking distance.
Once again the food was excellent with a great choice for breakfast and dinner. Every member of staff really seems to enjoy their job and go the extra 'mile' for guests. Thank you all. See you next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just had 7 nights at the Bell Rock as part of an organised birdwatching group. Our room was of a good size, very quiet, with two small wardrobes and plenty of hangers. The usual TV, coffee, tea, biscuits, hairdryer etc. The bathroom was also of a good size, with the shower over the bath, toiletries, heated towel rail. Not much shelf space for your own toiletries but there was plenty of room for them on the dresser in the bedroom. Everything was spotless.
At breakfast the usual buffet choice: cereal, fruit juice, fruit salad, yogurts, plus a very good choice of cooked food or croissants. Dinner was an excellent 3 course meal with good choices (including a vegetarian) and was very well cooked and served by the very pleasant dining room staff.
There is a lounge bar with comfortable seating.
There is a small indoor swimming pool but we didn't use it.
All in all, very good value, and this hotel is certainly better than its 2 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

A wonderful find - food was superb. Staff and owners were very friendly and helpful.
Room was very comfortable and well equipped - were impressed by the daily room service and high standard of cleanliness throughout. Being in the centre of Hugh Town the location was ideal for the harbour and local shops etc. Once again we found the Isles of Scilly a perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: We found being at the front on the 1st floor very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianarundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.4 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Rock Hotel

Property: Bell Rock Hotel
Address: Hugh Town Church Street | Hugh Town, TR21 0JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Rock Hotel has been welcoming guests for over 100 years - we look forward to your visit. We offer friendly, informal, attentive service, by caring staff. We are ideally situated in a level position, midway between Town Beach to the front and Porthcressa Bay at the rear. Both beaches are about 100 yards away! Our location is very convenient, quiet and central. Shops, entertainment and the museum are close by. The harbour is less than 10 minutes walk, with boats to Tresco, Bryher, St Agnes and St Martins daily in the season (subject to weather and tides). Our friendly staff will do everything possible to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Bell Rock
Bell Rock Hotel Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing