We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rather Good!”
other travelers have booked this property
Your own private garden, patio and stone-built barbecue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private garden, patio and stone-built barbecue
Your sitting/dining room showing huge folding windows opening onto private patio Your sitting/dining room with comfortable reclining chairs and sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Your own private garden, patio and stone-built barbecue
Your sitting/dining room showing huge folding windows opening onto private patio
Your sitting/dining room with comfortable reclining chairs and sofa
Your dining table in the sitting room with spacious kitchen beyond
Your kitchen with everything you need including washer/dryer and dishwasher
Your calm and spacious bedroom with Stephen's original artwork over bed
Your huge walk-in shower with double doors and floor level shower tray
Your fresh and simple bathroom with sparkling white sanitary equipment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jim_ft
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rather Good!”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our week long stay at Slippen was magnificent. The apartment is impeccably turned out, and the garden ideal for our toddler to run around being entranced by the visiting ducks. The location is great - nice and quiet but completely suited for accessing all the Scillies have to offer; Stephen and Lois are the perfect hosts too. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Dear Jim, It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Slippen apartment and we are delighted to hear that it suited you so perfectly. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Thanks, Lois and Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances A...
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hideaway”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent position for exploring both ends of the Island and well away from the hubbub so was really good for watching the birds and almost-resident ducks. We were only a step away from the myriad of quiet back lanes where the other wildlife was abundant and a short walk from Hughtown. Although we weren't there for the restaurants opening in the evening there are plenty nearby, in season, and having sampled them previously can recommend highly. E.g. Spero's and Juliet's.
It's a very comfortable apartment, well appointed and tastefully decorated with plenty of room to relax on a wet morning. The owners made us welcome and proved very helpful when necessary.
It's just a shame we didn't know our dates for next year so we could rebook!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2016
Dear Frances,
Thank you so much for your kind review of Slippen. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Lois and Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CacnEd
Crich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay on St Marys”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We normally stay at in Golden Eagle apartment but as this was already pre-booked we tried the Slippen apartment and what a delight. It is on the ground floor and very "age friendly" with grab rails in the bathroom. Very comfortable furniture and beds with large bi-fold doors opening out onto patio barbecue area. An added bonus was the wide selection of up-to date books. As usual we were well looked after by Stephen and Lois who also cheerfully charged up the Scilly Cart we hired for our stay. Although not the sea views of Golden Eagle this was more than made up for by the single level accommodation (I have mobility problems post operation). Booked in Slippen again for next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service offered by owners and comfort of the apartment
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
Dear P & J,
It was a delight to welcome you to Slippen this autumn and to know that you had such a good stay. The weather was certainly brilliant for your fortnight! We look forward to welcoming you back next autumn for your next visit.
Best wishes,
Lois and Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
458Jeff
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Complete Heaven!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2014 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment benefits from a garden & patio area. There are bifolding patio doors that open out to extend the living area. This was are 2nd visit to /Slippen & we are returning in September 2015. The apartment in my opinion is one of the best on the island & is peaceful & quiet. Stephen & Lois Morris are the ideal Hosts & run an artists gallery from the main house. Stephen's work is a must. Check out their website. I did once ask them to sell me the flat, we liked it that much!! We will be returning year after year as long as we are able. XXXXXXXXX

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ducks that marched into our garden every evening for food!!!!
Liked least: It is a bit of a walk from the main town to get to it but there are taxis if you wish.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2014
Dear J & J,
Thank you for your kind review of our 'Slippen' apartment. We are glad you enjoy your holidays with us and intend to return as much as possible. It will definitely be a pleasure to welcome you back next September.
Kind regards,
Stephen and Lois
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven!”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is divine. I don't know where to start really- Stephen and Lous are attentive and friendly hosts, the flat is tasteful and very very comfortable. It's very well equipped and the garden is lovely. Taking a glass of wine out of the garden to the sea to watch the sun go down over the island is one of my dream experiences and takes all of 30 seconds to get there. We came for what we thought was a one off and now return every year- so restful, peaceful and devoid of any noisy brash commercialism.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2014
Dear C and B,
Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind words about Slippen. We enjoy welcoming you each year and are glad you love the apartment so much that you want to keep returning.
Steve and Lois
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, beauty, huge relaxation.”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Slippen is an extremely comfortable and attractive apartment; a lovely space to come back to at the end of the day. Steve and Lois are perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble but they also leave you alone to enjoy your stay.
I want to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A really comfortable home from home in a perfect location - away from it all.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2014
Dear A & L,
Thank you for your kind words and review of 'Slippen' apartment.
We hope to welcome you back to Glandore in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Stephen and Lois
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmudgerRe...
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing and ideal location”
Reviewed December 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely week in this apartment which is on the ground floor so had the advantage of its own garden space and patio. No direct sea view but as the beach was less then two minutes walk away - it did not matter. The house is on the coast about 15 minutes pleasant walk from the town and boats. It is modern and comfortable with one double bedroom, very well appointed and plenty of room. One bonus is that you can completely open the floor to ceiling glass doors onto the patio on warm days and evenings making it an 'open' space.
Steve and Lois made us feel very welcome and as they live above the apartment they are on hand for advise and help. As Steve is an artist there is a nice studio upstairs so be prepared to want to buy a picture! We only came for a week but have booked for two weeks for 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2014
Dear A & G,
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our 'Slippen' apartment for the first time this summer and we look forward to seeing you again next summer as well. Thank you for your review which will be helpful for prospective guests.
Kind regards,
Stephen and Lois
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing