We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island hopping in the IOS”

St Mary's Boatmen's Association
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: St Mary's Boatmen's Association (SMBA)is a co-operative of ten boats that can carry up to 72 to 100 persons per boat. The Association operates between 1st April (or Easter if it falls in March) until 31st October annually. There are trips seven days a week with the boats operating on a rota system. The boats depart St Mary's for the other islands (direct trips)and to see wildlife and the outer rocks and islands (circular trips) at 10:15am and 2:00pm as a minimum. At busier times there are additional departures, particularly to Tresco which should also have services at 11:15 and 12:15. Tides and weather may affect services occasionally. 2014 Prices from £8.50 (child £4.30) return. Most expensive cruises are to Bishop Rock or The Seabird Special at £16. A child fare applies for kids over one year and under fifteen. Take advantage of our 'ten ticket' special offer - Ten direct tickets for £72 (a saving of £13). These tickets can be upgraded on the boats if you want to do a more expensive 'circular'.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Island hopping in the IOS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

You could not Island hop without them.......it just as well that they are such helpful & friendly people.Used them many times over a number of years and not had to use a life jacket once!
A brilliant & reasonably priced service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    20
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best buses in Britain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The seamless way this co operative works is wonderful. The boatmen come to your hotel each day and tell you the trips that are happening and what the weather is likely to be. If in self catering details at the information office and on the Quay. The boats are well run, on time (do not be late they do not wait) and offer an excellent service. Perfect way to get to see the islands and spend as much or as little time on each as you wish. All boats have to be back in the harbour at St Mary's an hour after sunset.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveling-siren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
702 reviews
389 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“THE SEA BUSES OF THE SCILLIES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

A cooperative that provides a highly reliable service that takes you to and from the various islands of the Isles of Scilly at reasonable prices. Listen out for the pick up quay – due to the tides; it might not be the one where you were dropped off. Also be prepared for wet weather and spray as many of the boats have little or no cover and seas can be rough. And check on departure times, you don’t want to miss the outgoing boat – and you certainly don’t want to miss the return!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good guys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Most of the days we stayed on St Mary's we used the St Mary's Boatmen Association boats. They were all very helpful and always made our safety the number one concern. They counted us out and counted us back in!!!! The cost of the boat trips was a sensible price. My only observation that I would say to any visitor is to try not too sit too close to the wet dogs in transit.. Everywhere I sat there seemed to be a wet pooch that wanted to be in my space -pretty annoying and mostly down to the dog owners to control them. For me, I would prefer to see dog owners segregated to one end of the boat. I didn't want to spend my day smelling like a "wet dog" . I actually moved myself away to another free seat to get away from one. Apart from that experience it is very well run.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
169 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Transporting tourists and islanders alike around the various islands of the Scillies, the St Mary's Boatmen Association provide a superb and extensive service. Aside from the trips out to the four other inhabited islands there are also trips out to the Western and Eastern rocks, Bishop Rock Lighthouse and to watch the Gig Racing twice a week. We used them everyday, the boatmen were good entertainment and very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tongo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Mary's Boatmen's Association also viewed

 

Been to St Mary's Boatmen's Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing