We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Carnwethers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments
Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a wonderful place set close to possibly the best beach on St Marys. We stayed in the Poolside and it could not have been more perfect. The pool table in the games room is also one of the best you will find then there was croquet, table tennis and a host of games to play when we had some spare time. Louis was a generous and welcoming host and helped make it a fun packed week. Just perfect for a week of relaxation.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. The room was clean, airy and comfortable and should you be staying at the house itself (as we were) I can recommend the full English Breakfast. The facilities are comprehensive, with a well stocked games room, a pool, a Sauna and a Croquet lawn - if you can't remember the rules make them up as you go along!

Louise (the owner) was very helpful in all respects.

If you like riding there is a stable with horses for hire just five minutes walk away.

If you don't mind walking, the short-cut route from Pelistry to Hughtown is delightful, if a little rugged in places. Otherwise there is a bus that runs every hour, but be warned - the timetable should be considered a contender for "Fable of the Year". The fare is a flat £2 one way. If there are four or more of you I would suggest getting a taxi, which are quite cheap compared to mainland prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47TerenceP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a holiday! We book in at Carnwethers as the amenities seemed to match our needs perfectly. These include

Great Games room (with pool, table tennis, 100s of books and tonnes of boeard games/videos etc)
Amazing swimming pool
Sauna
Croquet lawn
BBQ

All of which we used loads.

The property itself (Dove Lawn Cottage) provided perfect space for two couples with 3 kids between us. Our inlaws stayed in the house as B&B guested and loved it also. Louise is a little angel, and she couldn't do enough for us, and even provided my wife with a bottle of bubbly for her birthday.

We loved the island, and one of our only initial concerns were that we were at the wrong end, but this isn't so. There is plenty to do for the kids nearby (even an indoor pool 5 mins walk away for the one rainy day we had). The beach is ten mins with two buggies, and is stunning, and the German bakery called us for 4 visits! We also had frequent walks into town, which was only 40 mins, again with the kids in tow (all under 4).

Also, two of us dads sneaked out for a game of golf, and this is a highlight. The course is lovely, with amazing views, and the food there was once again excellent.

All in all a perfect holiday, with plenty for kids and adults (we loved the games room in the evening for pool tournaments). And Louise is the perfect host. We are already making plans to return to Carnwethers.

Thanks Louise!

Room Tip: Dove Lawn is the best for people with kids, as the front door is straight out into the lawn, and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
63LouiseG, Manager at Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. One of the best things about running Carnwethers is the personal satisfaction of being able to provide our guests with the basis for a great holiday and getting to meet wonderful people. Your positive review is very affirming and warmly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the "Secret Garden". The accommodation was excellent and the privacy of Carnweathers was a real aid to relaxation. The most noise came from the birds and the breeze.

The bird population is almost tame, often looking into the apartment to see what we were doing! Blackbirds, Robins, Thrushes, Sparrows, Starlings and the odd Dove from next door. Better watching than day-time TV.

Its position on St Marys means that some of the quieter coastal walks are only a few hundred yards away, while the longer ones are beautiful continuations. If a quick return from the far-side (Hugh Town) of the Island is needed after a day's walking, the Island bus stops at the end of the access lane.

Overall impression as first time visitors is one of friendliness, politeness and the sheer beauty of the islands: St Agnes is our favourite and Troytown Farm has the best ice cream in the UK !!


Special thanks to Louise for the warm welcome.

L&A May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_and_Liz_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staying at Carnwethers, Pelistry is at the top end of the island that often gets missed by many.Being based there means we are far from the madding crowd. We have stayed in Dove Lawn a couple of times now, which looks out on precisely that, but rather than sharing the dovecott, our accomodation has had a white makeover since last year,with all we need and a few little personal extras to make the welcome more special.

Each day you have a choice of walks to Hugh Town, if you are heading that way, but the most spectacular on a sunny day is the coast route looking out to the other isles, it's breathtaking! i'll leave it at that and let you judge for yourself.

Louise is keen to make sure all is well and goes the extra mile, for example, this absent minded visitor lost his mobile phone with half his brain stored on it whilst roaming the island on the last day of our trip (we had already checked out). Louise immediatelty contacted Scilly Radio to put out an appeal then the Airport to listen to our luggage. They stopped short at sniffer dogs but thanks to diverse kind people on St.Marys my moble was returned to me by the Police before our flight left! Many thanks Louise for a totally relaxing stay. (almost) Andrew and Julia

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew511982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
63LouiseG, Manager at Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

thank you for your kind comments and so glad you were able to relax and enjoy the Islands. We are always happy to help our visitors and it is a testament to the 'special' nature of Scilly that things lost are nearly always found and returned to their rightful owners!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent a week in the Rowan Tree apartment. The apartment was well equipped and of a modern design. There was an outside seating area to enjoy breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening. Unfortunately as we stayed late in the season we didn't get the full use of the outside ammenities such as the swimming pool and croquette lawn. The premise is located out of town but is just off the bus route so those who are not up to the 40 minute walk into Hugh Town can hop on the bus for £1.50 which is an experience! A taxi ride from the town home will cost you £5. All in all this was a delightful place to spend a relaxing week in the country with a five minute walk down a track to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelewehden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Secret Garden was lovely, 15 minutes on the bus into town (an experience not to be missed!). An absolute piece of heaven on earth, peaceful, secluded, 10 minute walk to beach (white sanded - shared with no-one). Somehow no seagulls to wake you!! but regular visits from Thelma the resident thrush. Perfect for two. We stayed for one week, could have stayed for ever!! Louise the owner was friendly and made us feel very welcome.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Franatcatcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
2.8 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Inn
Atlantic Inn
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
315 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#8 of 35 in St Mary's
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments

Address: Pelistry Bay, TR21 0NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Mary's
Price Range: $59 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star accommodation in award winning gardens set above stunning Pelistry Bay. Minutes from coastal path network, riding school and beaches. Short bus ride or 30 minute walk into Hugh Town and harbour, we have a gold award for Green Tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carnwethers Country House Holiday Apartments Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing