We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great campsite, hidden away location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garrison Campsite & Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garrison Campsite & Holiday Cottages
Exeter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great campsite, hidden away location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked a space the day before, thankfully there were a few spaces left. On departing from the ferry and port there is no signage to the campsite, do your research before you arrive if you have lots of 'stuff', or use the island courier service. For a small fee they will take your luggage to your hotel/b&b/campsite so you don't have to lug it around.
Amazing hilltop location on the Garrison, ideal for moonlit walks around the walls. Head out to the Garrison walls to watch the sunset over the sea, it's amazing!!
OK shower block and kitchen, don't forget your £1 for 5 minutes in the shower.
Lots of great wind breaks for shelter, but thankfully it was an amazingly sunny August.
Would highly recommend for a camping trip to the Isles of Scilly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLassInDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
26
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

A massive thanks to Ted and Barbara and all the campsite staff. Beautiful location on the headland, spacious tent pitch and clean plentiful facilities. My wife had badly damaged her ankle the weekend before our planned trip, we thought we would have to cancel. But a phone call to Barbara, and she sprang into action, with suggestions of "The Scilly Cart Company" for getting about, Ted to the rescue with a lift up to the campsite for Rosie and our trailer, I could go on and on! Even the neighbours (tent) were lovely. The Scillies obviously brings out the best in people. We'll be back asap!!

John and Rosie (Sheffield)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnraff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We loved the campsite-it was a great location and we could hear the sea from the tent. The hedges breaking up the camping areas into smaller areas were a nice change from big featureless fields and the large number of picnic benches were a welcome touch.

We went for the EZCAMP option and the tents were good quality with everything we needed, although there were some things which maybe needed a little more thought-like the very small dustpan and brush set which made it impossible to sweep the floor. All in all it was a positive experience though.

One of the site wash blocks was definitely a lot better than the other and it was well worth walking to the other side of the site to use it. Showers were pretty expensive, especially when you are travelling with a little one who is prone to needing several showers a day. It was ideal to have the washing machines but again, at a price (£5 per wash).

Staff were friendly and helpful and made suggestions for days out which we apprectiated.

Overall it was a positive experience and our holiday was lovely but there were a few things which could have been improved.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LouB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I loved this campsite. There was plenty of space and fantastic views on the walk up to it and at the actual site. The atmosphere was happy and relaxed. There is a small shop on site that does tasty croissants in the morning and the staff are helpful. The shower is expensive at a £1 for 5 minutes so you have to be organised and the temperature was hot.All in all though this campsite is a real find. Anyone who likes views,space around you when camping, being high up[but sheltered well by hedges] and enjoys tame birds and hedgehogs will love this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We were met and welcomed by Chris within seconds of arriving.
He gave us a guided tour of the site and was fantastic with my son jack.
He is a real asset to the Garrison camp site.
The shower block nearest to out tent was in need if a bit of TLC but ok, the block B was much better.
The tent was more than enough for our stay, everything we needed, and anyway who cooks when you on holiday maybe apart from breakfast.
The site & shop has everything you need and 50p to charge your device is, I think, very good!
We will return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris-sara-jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were travelling with friends, we had our own tent but they had opted for the EZcamp option. Our experience was fine, the location is fantastic, the cost was what you would expect per night, the pitches were good and plenty of picnic benches. The shower blocks were OK, a little tired but adequate. Having to pay £1 for a shower is a little steep especially given their condition.

Now for the EZcamping, given the cost you would expect a lot more for you money. Basically you get a tent, some chairs, a table, a stove (I had to refit the hose connecting the gas bottle to the stove as it had been badly fitted and was leaking) a few very small pots and pans (not really big enough for the number of people in the tent), airbeds, a cool box, a light and a dust pan and brush. Now given that the cost of this was ~£400 I really think more should be provided with more, maybe a selection of 'store cupboard' essentials, cooking oil, salt, pepper etc. Also for the price you are also expected to clean the tent.

It would be cheaper to buy the tent and the rest of the gear on amazon, get it delivered to the island then take it home or put it all in the bin before you leave.

If anyone on the Island is reading this they should set up a tent/camping equipment hire business.

In summary, the campsite is good and our overall experience was great, the Islands are a real treat, just don't EZcamp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honest30something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The campsite has lots of secluded little mini sites within the site, so we found ourselves in a beautiful secluded little garden flanked with high hedges with ferns and foxgloves with wild birds and rabbits. Even with this privacy, we were only 20 paces from the showers, toilets, laundry, washing up block. You do have to pay for the shower, and you do only get five minutes - it was always warm, always clean and even though five minutes sounds short, it was actually ample time for me to shampoo and wash myself and my four year-old and give us time for a cuddle in the warm water at the end.
The shop is excellent. They cook pizza for you at a ridiculously cheap price.
The staff are lovely. Friendly and really helpful.
After two days, we found a vase of wild flowers on our picnic table. No one owned up. It summed it all up really: chilled out, beautiful, unpretentious.
Did I forget to mention the incredible views walking into town from the campsite? And the fantastic playground with a pirate ship.
We're definitely going to camp there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudstack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.0 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garrison Campsite & Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garrison Campsite & Holiday Cottages

Property: Garrison Campsite & Holiday Cottages
Address: Tower Cottage | The Garrison, TR21 0LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Mary's
Hotel Class:4 star — Garrison Campsite & Holiday Cottages 4*
Also Known As:
Garrison Campsite & Holiday Cottages Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing