We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garrison Campsite & Holiday Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Karma St. Martin's(St Martin's)
$202
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Old Success Inn(Sennen Cove)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooners Hotel(Hugh Town)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Rock Hotel(St Mary's)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Atlantic Inn(St Mary's)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Star Castle(St Mary's)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
32
21
18
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
21
18
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoilet blocksheltered from the windtent campingpack lightschool childrensmall shop on sitehot waterperfect locationgreat ideasteep hillyour luggagepitchhedgeshedgehoggarrisonsinksferry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 96 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We've stayed at the Garrison Campsite twice now, and I have to say it's a fantastic campsite with so much options for where to camp your tent. We always camped in one of the moat and no matter how windy it was, we never felt it and we were always sheltered. An excellent campsite with excellent staff. Only problem we would say was the toilets which were cold and could do with a bit of a clean. Other than that, it was an excellent stay and we would highly recommend it. Hopefully we'll visit again :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsion_cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Thanks to Ted and Barbara and all their lovely staff for an excellent and memorable short break on the Islands.
We received a warm welcome from Barbara on the day of our arrival and within just a few minutes our bags had been collected and delivered from the Scillonian. An excellent service; we were much appreciative of the trolleys on hand to wheel all our backs to our corner of this well maintained site.
All the facilities are clean and functional and absolutely what we would expect from a campsite. We upgraded to an electric hook-up just a few days before travelling, a request that was dealt with most efficiently and professionally considering the late call we had made.
We had read the negative comments regarding the showers but we always had hot water and felt that 5 minutes was more than sufficient.
The location is stunning with great views at the campsite and on the walk up to it. There is no doubt in our mind that we will return next year. :)
On the day of our departure our bags we taken down to the ferry for us, leaving us free to wander around St. Mary's unencumbered with that load! Very much appreciated and well worth the small fee per person for the service. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Garrison Camp site a number of times and had the most fantastic holiday!! I am not too sure about the comments regarding the "boss lady" as Ted and Barbara who run it are lovely!!! As for the showers running cold, it comes down to the time of day they are used, I have never experienced a cold shower. Either way my 6 and 2 year old children never complained about the showers so complaints must be from first time campers!!! Yes the camp site needs some renovations, but when surrounded by the amazing scenery, who cares. The shop is pricey but again look where you are!!! Personally I think it is the only way to stay on the I.O.S. myself and my family absolutely love staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I've stayed at the campsite once and my partner has many times. For a "reasonable" priced stay on St Marys, it's as reasonably priced on St Marys you're going to get. There are aspects of the campsite that you can't fault - great views, lots of personal space around your tent, easy to pitch on hard ground and the occasional night time visitor (don't worry just talking of the giant hedgehog!). However, due to it being the only option of camping and facing no competition there are aspects that let it down compared to other campsites in the UK and Europe, it's £1 for the use of the shower which most of the time was cold water, these £1 can add up when camping and you tend to use the showers often and that £1 is for a very limited time span and for cold water and the onsite shop was VERY expensive. The campsite is not for the less mobile as it is on top of the hill. If I really want to go to St Marys and camping was the only option on a budget I would stay again but for the price they charge (£310 for 2 adults for 2 weeks summer 2011) I'd say they could at least provide warm showers!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Rather basic and mucky. We had to clean through before we felt comfortable. The Tower needs to be kept aired at all times due to the age and make up of the property. The price is somewhat OTT and the kitchen needs a thorough scrub through and refurb. The bathroom is on the ground floor and the bedroom is at the very top so a strong bladder is required to ensure a midnight visit is not the order of the day!! The steps are very very steep and slippery. If you make a drink or a meal in the kitchen (1st floor) you have the choice of eating it outside, stood up in the kitchen or risking life and limb carrying pots up the steep steps to the lounge.
On the plus side, every kitchen utensil you may require is provided, the bedding and linen were clean. Toilet roll and bbq fuel were already in situ. The garden was lovely and the islands are superb.
Although we were not impressed with the Tower, we would return to the island and stay elswhere!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cheekyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews