We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast, excellent hosts”
Review of Carn Ithen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carn Ithen
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent a week at Carn Ithen in October half term, peak of the birding season. Danni was very helpful from the start with advice about travel and the Scilly Isles. In the event we arrived early, but were made to feel welcome despite being three hours ahead of schedule. The rooms were clean and compact, with a good range of facilities - we were able to control both the temperature and ventilation of our room (outside it ranged from very warm and sunny to unpleasantly cold and windy, so this was extremely helpful). The property is tastefully decorated with original artwork.

There is a large guest TV/sitting/breakfast room with a spectacular view of the rocky coastline. This had a useful fridge and several interesting books about the locality. Carn Ithen is on a small cul-de-sac that leads into a footpath and nature trail popular with birdwatchers at one end, and to the beach at the other. It is an extremely peaceful location, aided by the general lack of cars on the islands (our hosts used a golf buggy to get around). There is a village shop and a pub with good food and real ale within a short stroll, but it is also an easy walk into Hugh Town where there are more pubs and facilities. It took us less than 20 minutes to walk from from Carn Ithen to the quay, which is at the far end of Hugh Town, and about 25 minutes to Star Castle, where there is a nice restaurant. There are alternative walking routes to Hugh Town by way of the coastal path and the nature trail, both of which are worth exploring. There is also a gym at the nearby school that is open to visitors for £5 per session.

Breakfasts were excellent. Danni cooks (demonstrating clearly that you can't beat an Aga for cooked breakfasts!) and Nigel serves. There was a good choice - we particularly enjoyed the prunes, Greek yoghurt, full English....and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg! You decide what you would like the night before, and it is all wonderfully and freshly cooked. Nigel was a mine of information about all aspects of life on the island, and especially about birds (he has co-authored two books on Scilly birdlife, one with Danni, and is an expert who has the ability to make his enthusiasm and knowledge interesting to non-experts - we learnt quite a lot from him, and laughed a lot too!).

Visitors who are desperate for mobile phone usage should note that coverage is patchy on the island. However, Carn Ithen has wireless internet, and we got a phone signal on the beach!

We will definitely return - we fell in love with the Scilly Isles, and Carn Ithen is a perfect base to explore them from.

Room Tip: We had the en suite double at the front of the house - there is also an en suite twin at the back, a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Carn Ithen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

I chose this as our accomadation on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and was not dissappointed. The location is excellent, 5 minutes walk from airport and 100 yards or so from Old Town beach. There is an excellent pub, cafe and restaurant close by for food. Our hosts could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was served promptly at 8.30, fine for us but others might have liked more flexibility. I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannibee, Owner at Carn Ithen, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Just to clarify we often provide breakfast at other times especially for those with an early flight ... the 8.30 breakfast is not fixed but purely offers the convenience to guests to enable them to have a leisurely breakfast and have enough time to catch boats to the off islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A very cosy B&B. We treated ourselves to two nights at Carn Ithen after camping in Scilly all week. Very tasty breakfast, comfy bed and really lovely hosts who could advise on local pubs, view points and questions about birds (turns out it was a gold finch!). We can't wait to come back! Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for our first visit to the Scillys. Location is in Old Town, a 15 minute walk into Hugh Town (with a hill in between) but 2 evening eating places nearby. Our room was nice and cosy with all you could need. However, if important to you, television only in guest lounge. Our hosts very welcoming with tea in lounge on arrival and great knowledge of the islands and things to do. Breakfast certainly lived up to reports.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Recently returned from a superb second holiday with Danni and Nigel at Carn Ithen. Rooms were immaculate and comfortable. Breakfasts provided enough energy for the rest of the day. As ever, nothing was too much trouble whether it was advice about the islands, places to eat, birds to see or simply general useful information that every traveller needs. Highly commended. Looking forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayneandphil4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Carn lthen is an excellant place to stay, you are well looked after with a lovely room to stay in.
Nigel and Danni help you with all the information about boat trips and what is going on on the lsland.Breakfast was excellant. We very much enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony123649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed end July for a chill-out break. It was our first time to The Scilly's. Danni and Nigel made us feel very welcome and Nigel's morning tips about flights, boat trips etc. set us up for the day and the wealth of knowledge came in very useful. As is previous reviews, breakfast was the highlight of the day and the use of the lounge or table in the front garden was very useful. 15 - 20 mins from Hugh Town but the walk was enjoyable and Carn is within 15 mins walk of some of the best eateries on the island. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekend_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
3.7 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Inn
Atlantic Inn
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carn Ithen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn Ithen

Address: Carn Ithen Trench Lane | Old Town, TR21 0PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Mary's
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carn Ithen is a luxury self-catering property which sleeps 2-4 people. It is available for weekly Friday-to-Friday rental and also for shorter breaks outside the April to October season. Perfectly located in Old Town, 80m from one of the best beaches on St Mary's and 100m from a nature trail, it is the ideal base for your holiday in Scilly. Facilities include large lounge/dining room, fully equipped kitchen, two bedrooms (both with ensuite showers) and a utility room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carn Ithen Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing