We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant B&B lovely three days”
Review of Carn Ithen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carn Ithen
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant B&B lovely three days”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Carn lthen is an excellant place to stay, you are well looked after with a lovely room to stay in.
Nigel and Danni help you with all the information about boat trips and what is going on on the lsland.Breakfast was excellant. We very much enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony123649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone - Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed end July for a chill-out break. It was our first time to The Scilly's. Danni and Nigel made us feel very welcome and Nigel's morning tips about flights, boat trips etc. set us up for the day and the wealth of knowledge came in very useful. As is previous reviews, breakfast was the highlight of the day and the use of the lounge or table in the front garden was very useful. 15 - 20 mins from Hugh Town but the walk was enjoyable and Carn is within 15 mins walk of some of the best eateries on the island. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekend_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Carn Ithen is a really lovely place to stay, and you are well looked after. The rooms are clean and comfortable with ample space for clothes etc. Nigel and Danni even looked after our suitcases and bags once we had unpacked so that they weren't in the way, nice touch. Breakfast was yummy and we only had tea and a piece of cake during the afternoon. They were more than happy to share their vast knowledge of the islands which was very useful for first time visitors to the islands. The beach is only a few minutes away and the local pub is just around the corner for evening meals, very convenient. We cannot wait to go back for another visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Samson, the double with ensuite shower room, overlooking the front garden, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a great stay for 6 nights at Carn Ithen. Nigel and Danni are lovely people and make great hosts. They are naturally friendly and interesting people who enjoy what they are doing and it makes it a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomswithmanyviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the twin room at Carn Ithen. It's a 15 minute walk from Hugh Town, and there's a handy luggage shuttle service which we used on our last day. Danni and Nigel made us at home and the breakfasts meant we didn't need to eat again until 3pm! The twin room was clean and the bathroom was spacious. Comfortable beds. The Old Town Beach is a mere 2 minute walk away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWEnglandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Everything was great about our stay at Carn Ithen, the rooms were clean and comfortable and Danni and Nigel made us feel most welcome. Having access to the lounge at any time is also a boon for days when you want to return early after a hard days walking. The breakfasts were delicious, even when Nigel had to cook because Danni was stranded on the mainland! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitch2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

It was our first time to the isles and we will be back. They are a very special place and our stay was made especially enjoyable by our hosts at Carn Ithen, Nigel and Danni. They made us very welcome. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts great. Nigel and Danni have a wealth of knowledge of the life and wildlife of the isles which they enthusiastically shared with us to help us get the most out of our stay. Hasta la vista.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.5 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.7 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carn Ithen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn Ithen

Property: Carn Ithen
Address: Carn Ithen Trench Lane | Old Town, TR21 0PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Mary's
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carn Ithen is a luxury self-catering property which sleeps 2-4 people. It is available for weekly Friday-to-Friday rental and also for shorter breaks outside the April to October season. Perfectly located in Old Town, 80m from one of the best beaches on St Mary's and 100m from a nature trail, it is the ideal base for your holiday in Scilly. Facilities include large lounge/dining room, fully equipped kitchen, two bedrooms (both with ensuite showers) and a utility room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carn Ithen Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing