We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay... perfect hosts!”
Review of Carn Ithen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carn Ithen
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful stay... perfect hosts!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a great stay for 6 nights at Carn Ithen. Nigel and Danni are lovely people and make great hosts. They are naturally friendly and interesting people who enjoy what they are doing and it makes it a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roomswithmanyviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SW England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the twin room at Carn Ithen. It's a 15 minute walk from Hugh Town, and there's a handy luggage shuttle service which we used on our last day. Danni and Nigel made us at home and the breakfasts meant we didn't need to eat again until 3pm! The twin room was clean and the bathroom was spacious. Comfortable beds. The Old Town Beach is a mere 2 minute walk away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWEnglandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Everything was great about our stay at Carn Ithen, the rooms were clean and comfortable and Danni and Nigel made us feel most welcome. Having access to the lounge at any time is also a boon for days when you want to return early after a hard days walking. The breakfasts were delicious, even when Nigel had to cook because Danni was stranded on the mainland! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitch2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

It was our first time to the isles and we will be back. They are a very special place and our stay was made especially enjoyable by our hosts at Carn Ithen, Nigel and Danni. They made us very welcome. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts great. Nigel and Danni have a wealth of knowledge of the life and wildlife of the isles which they enthusiastically shared with us to help us get the most out of our stay. Hasta la vista.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at Carn Ithen for 3 nights in September 2011
Danni & Nigel are excellent hosts; very friendly & hospitable, with great local knowledge. The rooms are clean & comfortable, breakfasts superb.
You can walk into Hugh Town or there is a regular bus around the island from the little beach at the end of the road.
Really good value for money and would be happy to stay there again. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Spent a couple of nights at Carn Ithen and enjoyed every moment. Breakfast excellent, warm friendly welcome, comfortable bed and lovely sunny lounge to relax in after day out. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivigozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was our second stay at Carn Ithen and have rebooked for next year. Nigel and Danni are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts are superb. See you next year....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
3.7 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carn Ithen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carn Ithen

Property: Carn Ithen
Address: Carn Ithen Trench Lane | Old Town, TR21 0PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in St Mary's
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carn Ithen is a luxury self-catering property which sleeps 2-4 people. It is available for weekly Friday-to-Friday rental and also for shorter breaks outside the April to October season. Perfectly located in Old Town, 80m from one of the best beaches on St Mary's and 100m from a nature trail, it is the ideal base for your holiday in Scilly. Facilities include large lounge/dining room, fully equipped kitchen, two bedrooms (both with ensuite showers) and a utility room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carn Ithen Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing