We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can it get better?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wingletang Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

An annual pilgrimage to the Isles of Scilly always means rest, relaxation, rejuvenation and completely chilling out! Wingletang Guest House goes from strength to strength. This year the guest en suite facilities have been upgraded. The comfortable lounge with its wood burner lit in the evening was a cosy and homely room to enjoy pre-dinner drinks, after dinner coffee and mints or simply to sit in and read on a wet afternoon. The food at Wingletang in on par with the very best hotels/restaurants anywhere. Good home cooked food using as much locally grown fresh ingredients cannot be beaten. Choose a light breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, toast and preserves or an expertly prepared and presented full English or even some smoked haddock. None of it will disappoint. A relaxing 3 course Dinner washed down with a delightful wine from the small but well chosen wine list is a wonderful finish to a day spent meandering over the Islands. Jacqui and Dave, aided by Debbie, do everything possible to make your stay special. Believe you me, they succeed so well they make it look effortless.

Room Tip: Just be pleased to be able to get a room! p.s. there is no fitness centre but I cannot delete!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValW350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui R, Owner at Wingletang Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review and the lovely description of the nice, cosy, late-season stay you enjoyed with us at Wingletang. This can be a great time to visit the Islands, when there is wonderful, mellow, sunlight and the summer breeze begins to whip into an exhilarating, autumn frenzy. As always, walking in the fresh air, guests look healthy with rosy cheeks and how nice when I sometimes overhear them talking about another marvelous day they've enjoyed, as they sit together beside the log-burner in the evenings. Once again, many thanks and best wishes for a very happy Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Wingletang Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 177 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stay at Wingletang every year during bird migration time in October. It is ideally situated in Hughtown, the main town on St. Marys and is perfectly situated for local facilities and for travelling to the off islands. Jacqui and David have run the guest house for several years, ably assisted by Debbie. Nothing is too much trouble to ensure your stay is perfect. The rooms are always very clean, warm and comfortable and the catering first class. It is a deservedly popular establishment and I have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui R, Owner at Wingletang Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review and superb description of the benefits of staying at Wingletang. We also look forward to this time of year when we see many familiar faces, with a number of guests regularly visiting for birdwatching as we continue to offer a complete service during late season on the Isles of Scilly. Once again, many thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The other reviews fairly reflect the high standards and warm welcome that await you at Wingletang. As veteran Scilly visitors (33 trips), we have stayed in a good number of places from self-catering to the most expensive of the hotels. Our favourite, by a long way, is Wingletang and we were delighted to be there again recently. The secrets are that it is prorpietor owned and managed, no reasonable request is too much trouble and the meals are excellent. Add in value for money and a great atmosphere and we hope to stay here many more times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barney067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui R, Owner at Wingletang Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you for another great review and we're absolutely delighted that you describe Wingletang as your favourite. It's always a pleasure to see you both and we're very glad to hear that you had a good stay. We do appreciate you taking the time to enter a review on Tripadvisor and we very much look forward to seeing you again next year, with our best wishes in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

David and Jacqui the owners are super,they take real pride in providing an excellent part of your trip to scilly.The room I had was very comfortable the ensuite bathroom facilities are to a very high standard and extremely well cared for and clean.
The Breakfast is one of the best I have had in any B&B ,and the atmosphere of the guests makes it a really good start to the day.
Nothing is too much trouble for David and Jacqui and they work extremely hard to provide what is a very popular guest house .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stove C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui R, Owner at Wingletang Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

What a lovely surprise to hear from you on Tripadvisor, thank you for your excellent review and high recommendation. We're very pleased that your stay at Wingletang was so enjoyable and we hope we may be able to accommodate you again on any other future visits to Scilly, with best wishes in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Living ourselves on a Greek island, we were impressed with the whole Wingletang experience, we had the attic room and loved it. Where to start? Our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast all you could wish for, evening meals were best restaurant quality. The service was excellent and as friendly as being part of the family. Jacqui & David were the best of hosts, not to forget Debbie for helping out (thanks also to Debbie for the fantastic Jazz lunchtime at the New Inn, Tresco, not to be missed if you get the chance). Wingletang is centrally located but not noisy. Daily info on the available boat trips made planning our days activities easy. If we go back to the Isles of Scilly, Wingletang is where we would want to stay (in the attic room of course).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui R, Owner at Wingletang Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hello Mike and Carol, thank you for your wonderful review and excellent comments. It's nice to know that our efforts in housekeeping and food preparation makes a difference and contributes to the enjoyment of your holiday on the Isles of Scilly, and Wingletang experience! We do hope that we may see you both again. Many thanks with our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I came on my own for the first time and was impressed by my lovely room and bathroom.All immaculate. Jacqui and David are so hospitable and friendly, ably assisted by Debbie. (If you get chance to hear her play violin and sax. in Red Sayles, go for it!)
The food was excellent with any breakfast variation you could wish for.
Comfy lounge with a real fire and lots of books and photos.
Hope to come back at a different time of year....(no fog please!)
Thank you so much,
Best wishes Jane S.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miranda10jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui R, Owner at Wingletang Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hello Jane, thank you for your great review and the lovely description of your stay at Wingletang. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time on Scilly and felt so relaxed here. Debby says that due to popularity, the Red Sayles Orchestra hope to be performing more frequently next season, which means that even more visitors will be able to enjoy a pleasant experience of nostalgic live music from the 1920's and 1930's. We hope to see you again in the future, with best wishes from us all in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our first visit to the Isles of Scilly was made even more enjoyable by our choice of guest house. It most definitely ticked all the boxes and we were very well looked after by David, Jacqui and Debbie. A very friendly, efficient and clean establishment with excellent breakfasts. Many thanks from the Brennans & Heads.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui R, Owner at Wingletang Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review and helpful comments. We're very pleased that your first visit to the Isles of Scilly was a great success and that you all enjoyed your stay at Wingletang. We also enjoyed your company and hope we may see you again in the future. Many thanks, with our best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.1 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Inn
Atlantic Inn
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingletang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingletang Guest House

Address: The Parade, TR21 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Hotel Class:4 star — Wingletang Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Wingletang Guest House Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing