We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way.”
Review of The Wheelhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wheelhouse
Ranked #1 of 35 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay on St Mary's, either on your own or a couple, do try The Wheelhouse. You cannot be disappointed. Dan and Jen, delightful hosts, friendly and helpful without being either intrusive or distant. I spent 4 days there, the breakfasts were fantastic, the rooms were comfortable and spotless, and the atmosphere they created was amazing. I loved every minute and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClassE220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you here from Jen and Dan. Great location on Porthcressa beach, clean and comfortable rooms and great breakfasts. The couple are very knowledgable about the islands with superb recommendations of places to eat and visit. Nothing too much trouble and they go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Top marks. Much apppreciated on our 1st visit to the islands.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I booked this b&b for our 1st trip to the Isles of Scilly, having read the previous excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, none of which were wrong or exaggerated. Look no further. Everything you could possibly want for a perfect break or holiday. 1st class clean facilities. Dan's the man in the kitchen! Wonderful cooked breakfasts (of your choice), with additional options of fresh fruit, fruit juices, cereals and toast to set you up for the day. The breakfast room has a glorious panoramic view of the bay. And don't miss out on 'Tea by the Sea' in the afternoon on the patio area. The cream tea is something else!!
Jen is so considerate and obliging and keeps you well informed of daily island activities so you can make the most of even the smallest of stays. With the added bonus of being well located and easily accessible to the town and quayside, this is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maudster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A lovely friendly B&B in the best location in Hugh Town just a few steps from Porthcressa beach.
Nice lounge and sunny breakfast room. Huge choice for breakfast. There is a patio open to the public where they serve afternoon tea with delicious home made cakes. What a gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pat_Celine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Back to The Wheelhouse again last month. Once again it was superb - well appointed and very clean rooms, excellent breakfasts and the very friendly owners, family and staff go out of their way to make your holiday an unforgettable experience
The islands are special to us and so is The Wheelhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank geoff001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Well appointed, spotless, rooms. The owners were friendly, and couldn't have been more helpful and obliging. The food was excellent - a really good choice of food, well cooked and presented. I wouldn't bother looking for anywhere else, I'd go back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AveragePunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a beautiful little B&B on the Island with a very friendly welcome. The rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast superb and the location is stunning, sit down to breakfast overlooking Porthcressa beach and keep an eye out for the seals!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs leading on the balcony have stunning views over Porthcressa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MikeGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.2 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
478 reviews
3.7 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Inn
Atlantic Inn
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#7 of 35 in St Mary's
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheelhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheelhouse

Address: Porthcressa, TR21 0JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wheelhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family–run beachside guest house providing bed and breakfast accommodation. We are in the perfect location – right on the sands of Porthcressa Beach, around the corner from places to eat, drink and shop, and a short stroll from the quay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wheelhouse Hotel St Mary`s
The Wheelhouse Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing