We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything 99.9% what peope love, set in paradise!”

Evergreen Cottage Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evergreen Cottage Guest House
Ranked #18 of 35 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Well what a top friendly place to stay. Location central to everything, and minuites away from beaches and amenities. Ben and kirsty are genuinely the nicest people in the buisness. Home from home. Best breakfasts around, very comfy bed and cosy rooms. If ANYONE had anything other to say they are the 0.1% and need to look at their manner and make up but suspect everyone agrees. My comments mirror the Visitors book and the number of repeate bookings. Value for money 1st class. Done Waldorf Astoria, carribean cruise but for a real sense of valkue for money, this takes some beating. Well done Ben, Kirsty, from Chris, Jill and Ruby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a lovely place, run by friendly and welcoming people. Ben and Kirsty Kirk are great, and Kirsty makes a very good breakfast, aided by Ben of course.The cottage is a very relaxing place to stay, with very clean rooms with fresh laundry and towels.
If you visit the Islands this is wonderful place to stay, well located in the middle of the town, walking distance form all the pubs, bars, shops and quay but still quiet and tranquil.
The front garden is great place to have your morning coffee, from the cafe next door, which is also run by Kirsty and Ben.
Whats more the local bus service around the island stops right outside the door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petebelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay when on St Mary's. The owners, Ben and Kirsty, are lovely people, nothing is too much trouble and their breakfasts are awesome! The location of Evergreen Cottage couldn't be better as it is in the middle of the town and everything is easy to reach. The rooms were clean and comfortable and all in all I would definitely stay here again . . . actually my husband and I have already booked for next year! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddy01726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a lovely place, run by friendly and welcoming people. Ben and Kirsty Kirk are great, an make an awesome brekkie!!!
If you visit the Islands this is wonderful place to stay, well located in the middle of the town, walking distance form all the pubs, bars and shops but still quiet and tranquil.
the front garden is great place to have your morning coffee.
Clean rooms with fresh laundry and towels

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190730Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for one night at Evergreen Cottage back in May this year. Well-located, quaint, comfortable and cosy room with a nice bed. Breakfast delicious, and owners so pleasant and helpful. Didn't have a chance to say goodbye when I went to pick up my case before catching "The Scillonian" back to Penzance after visiting Tresco in the morning. Fully recommended and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R4271213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

It was clear that there is a lot of repeat custom here, and the owners are very much geared to remembering previous customers and their likes and dislikes. Very friendly. Brekkie was good, I usually go the continental route because I don't eat meat or eggs, thoroughly enjoyed someone else making beans on toast for me and my other half enjoyed his full English very much. Hate to agree with a previous reviewer who mentioned shouting: there was a lot of shouting, singing and occasionally music from what I can only assume was next door - this was most of the time from lunchtime onwards on three days (and is the reason for the sleep quality review). That was the only downside though: both beaches including the breathtaking Porthcressa beach literally moments away, same with the Quay and islands.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

stayed here twice in January quirky little cottage low ceilings down stairs walls must be 2 foot thick.
Owners cant help you enough and also just let you get on with it not in your face but there when you need a bit of help or advice.
Rooms cosy bed nice and comfy shower a bit tight but that may be me,as im am a big lad
Breakfast spot on full for the day even for me
Right in middle of hugh town near the pubs and the scilonian club less than 75 yards away what more do you want and at a reasonable price too.
hope to be back soon

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Inn
Atlantic Inn
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Cottage Guest House

Address: The Parade | Hugh Town, TR21 0LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Evergreen Cottage Guest House Isles Of Scilly, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing