We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Crab Ploughmans' Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tolman Cafe & Bay View Restaurant

Tolman Cafe & Bay View Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Tolman Cafe & Bay View Restaurant, serving some of the finest food in the Isles of Scilly. All our dishes are prepared using the freshest ingredients sourced locally, and are served by a warm and professional team who smile all day long! Whether it be a relaxing cup of freshly ground coffee, a sandwich or burger at lunch or seafood for dinner, we have a wide range of dishes available on our menu. So come and visit us on St Mary's to enjoy a truly sensational dining experience, one which we're sure you won't soon forget!
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Crab Ploughmans' Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Relatively inexpensive Crab Ploughmans' Lunch - plenty of crab and loads of home-made coleslaw and bread accompanied by fresh and crunchy salad ingredients.
Great view and the place is always clean.
The loo is just a bit cramped - and the counter staff could, perhaps, learn how to smile a bit more. On the last couple of visits we've made, we felt that the guy taking the order really wasn't overly bothered about us and our order and was so off-hand and uncommunicative, that we felt unwelcome......note to guy - "Thank You" goes a long way!
The kitchen staff who served us were quite the opposite and restored our feelings about Tolman each time. However, perhaps an indicator of our feelings is that we only ate there once - it's usually two or three times in a week. We tried Old Town Inn as an alternative and we'll go back to Old Town Inn as our first option next time around.
A good experience spoiled by a surly 'counter-bod' - perhaps he was having a bad day (again)?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raven624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    79
    42
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairlight
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peoples people cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Lovely atmosphere, friendly, clean, tidy and the food was really good. We were sorry we had not found them before.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tolman Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

New owners pleasant and professional. Good cafe food. Always look forward to Sandras cakes and pastries. Lovely to see her smiling face every year. Hence the waistline.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank holly424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, good view and really friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Good cooking, particularly the pies or any other form of baking or cake! However, this was one of the most varied menus we saw on the island of St Mary - English and Oriental dishes on offer - one of us enjoyed the chicken satay as a starter for example. The fish pie was great too. We enjoyed the Tolman enough to make it the only place we booked a second meal while we were on the Islands. The service was great as wel and the food came fresh cooked, although on fish dish was slightly overcooked. Desserts to die for..!
We got a free ride home after eating a three course meal.
Try it for yourself ..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pawraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just right for Coeliacs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This restaurant is very Coeliac friendly with many cakes AND scones we can eat. We went for an evening meal having heard that they now do Thai food. We went and booked during a round island walk, but discovered that the Thai chef had gone. Don't worry they said we can do the dishes just as well now. So we went on the Community bus from Hugh Town to the Old Town Pub (you can be asked where you want to get off), had a quick drink in this quaint old pub (which, incidentally was fully booked for dinner that evening), and then ambled down to the restaurant. We were treated to a wonderful sunset over Old Town Bay free of charge, whilst we ate. The food was ok, a little bit expensive but we reckoned the Thai Green Curry we had had at The Mermaid was better tasting and also better value. So perhaps the lesson to learn here is, stick to the main menu.
We DO find the atmosphere here (we have eaten there in the past) a little wanting, but we did get the free taxi back & were back in Hugh Town in no time at all!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hill_dweller210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tolman Cafe & Bay View Restaurant also viewed

St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
 
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
 
Hugh Town, St Mary's
St Mary's, Isles of Scilly
 

Been to Tolman Cafe & Bay View Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing