We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 35 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming as always”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is our second visit to this lovely welcoming clean guest house. When we arrived in Hugh Town on St Mary's we were both surprised and pleased to hear the familiar voice of Sabine calling after us as we walked along the road. Sabine was doing her bit to promote the Walk Scilly event taking place that week and had spotted us as we were walking past the tourists information centre and had dashed out to greet us. The continental breakfast which consists of a variety of fruits yoghurt, toast, cheeses, meats, cereals and as much tea or coffee you can drink is more than adequate but if required a freshly prepared full English breakfast is available for a small extra cost. The lounge with it's large flat screen television and various board games is a good place to pass the odd hour or two if the weather does turn inclement. The guests kitchen is well equipped and is somewhere to cook the occasional meal if eating out is not an option and the adjacent dining room is a great place to eat it so the smell of food does not linger in your room. All the staff are friendly and helpful and we and our well behaved dog were once again made to feel very welcome in this clean guest house. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseB773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
35
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, Co Durham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I booked this accomodation around 2 weeks before my trip to the Scilly Isles. It was the sixth choice on my list but the only place that had availability, and I now know why. I had 3 room changes during the first three days of my 5 night stay, for one reason or another. This was handled efficiently but I am afraid shouldn't have occurred in the first place.
I also hadn't realised until I had made the reservation that B&B at this establishment meant bed and Continental breakfast,(The owner isn't English so this could explain why!) you have to pay between £3.50 & £6 extra for an English Breakfast. The price difference depends on how many items you choose for your English breakfast!
I am a very fit and relatively young lady who walks a lot, however, the location was just too far out from the centre of Hugh Town. I would say a 2 mile walk... there are buses, but these are infrequent and stop around 6pm, meaning you have to take a cab on an evening, if not into the centre then certainly coming back as it is all up hill and there are no street lights. I was a Solo traveller so there was no way I would have wanted to hike back up the hill to the accommodation on my own and in the dark!
I am afraid this accommodation didn't meet my standards and it wasn't quite the experience I would have liked for my first visit to The Scilly Isles. Disappointing...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelone48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mousehole
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

if you are looking for a peaceful relaxing break in St.Marys this the ideal place to go. It's situated off a quiet country road in the middle of the island. Taxi's on the island are reasonable and always available. If you prefer you can take a walk into town (downhil most of the way) or you can catch the local bus that stops regulary just outside the gate.

We were made to feel really welcome as soon as we arrived. This place has a very lovely homely atmosphere.
The breakfast is lovely, Mmmmm - one of the highlights of our stay - the cook (can't remember her name) was just so lovely! really really friendly, welcoming and informative

The only downside that I can think of is that the shower tiles in our room needed re-grouting, and the cleaner took the welcome pack and magazines away on the second day - which was a shame as I was enjoying reading them.

The room itself was really clean and the bed was lovely and comfortable - I had the best few nights sleep! :)

I would definately recommend this place to friends and family and would definately go again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very relaxing place,Sabine/staff excellent, i hope to go back there sometime in the future.30 minute walk to town or catch a bus from outside guest house.the return bus service could do with with a later service otherwise a return walk or get a cab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunky537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Sabine made us very welcome and helped us with a little problem - resolved it without fuss. Room on the small side but very clean and ample for our short stay. The breakfast was excellent and in a lovely sunny room. Would recommend but does involve a lot of walking as just that too much out of Hugh Town but we did get cabs back after our evening meal with no problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 852Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Found Sabine very welcoming and the whole place had a relaxed atmosphere. Lots of lovely walks and beaches close by for the dog. Tasty breakfast. A couple of small things - it would've been nice to have a shelf to put soap on in the shower and a hook in the bathroom to hang clothes on. The resident's kitchen and dining room allowed a welcomed night off from eating out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbejx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skedsmokorset, Akershus, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had difficulties finding a guesthouse or B&B on St. Marys that would accommodate all of us (5 adults and two children) - and would allow children under 12. Country Guesthouse made us feel very welcome. Although the family room was booked, we were given two double rooms next to eachother overlooking the garden. Rooms were not too big, but just enough. Sabine and her staff made us feel so welcome from the first moment. Children playing were never any problem and any queery and need of assistance or information was always met with a smile. Breakfast buffet said to be an ordinary continental buffet - was so (!) much more. Home made granola, fruits and plenty of choices in cereals for the children.
Sabine and her team really deserve a Trip advisor certificate of excelence.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children and want the family room, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodM_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.9 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
289 reviews
3.1 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
294 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 6 in St Mary's
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse

Property: Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse
Address: Sage House | High Lanes, TR21 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse has a range of rooms to suit the requirements of all of our visitors - from large family groups, to couples, through to those exploring on their own. The views from the guesthouse are fantastic, allowing you to truly immerse yourself in the peace and tranquility of St Mary's. Guests are very welcome to come and go as they please (or to stay in the guesthouse all day if they wish), plus there is a guest kitchen with a mini-bar, a comfortable lounge (with plenty of games for the kids), a large dining room, and plenty of outside space (including a barbeque). A full English Breakfast is served between 8am and 9am, and a continental breakfast until 10am. There is also a cafe on-site, the Kaffeehaus, which specialises in Bavarian food and, of course, cream teas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Scilly Country Guesthouse England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing