We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful guesthouse for a family on St Mary's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 36 St Mary's B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful guesthouse for a family on St Mary's”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have a 10 year old daughter and were looking for a hotel that gave us the chance for a bit of privacy and her some independence. The two rooms we had were ideal as they were either side of a bathroom with interconnecting doors. She could come through to see us in the morning without having to go out onto the corridor. For this facility we would have expected to pay a lot more than we did. It gave us piece of mind and made our stay much more relaxing.
Other facilities included a kitchen with a well stocked mini bar, a washing machine, washing line, fridge, microwave, ironing board etc. This enabled us to eat in if we wanted to, always a cheaper option, and get on top of the washing. It was a bonus that we weren't expecting.
The hotel itself was so relaxing and peaceful. We had no worries about letting our daughter explore on her own. It was so lovely and quiet as it was in a rural location but as it was central had easy access to all areas of the island. Also there was a community bus stop straight outside which was quite eccentric but amazing value for money. We also hired bikes and appreciated that there are few vehicles on the island. Walking was also a pleasant activity with many footpaths taking you to quiet sandy coves and tea rooms. In the evening there were lots of board games, books and dvd's that we could use.
All in all a stress free holiday which was helped by the choice of this reasonably priced gem of a guesthouse. We will certainly return.
The staff were extremely friendly especially Sabine the host who had lots of local information. She seemed to know everyone on the island and helped with arranging for our cases to be picked up from the hotel on our last day. These were then loaded into a container and we didn't see them again until we got to Penzance on the boat. She was always there for us when we had any enquiries and cooked a fabulous breakfast is we wanted it (although the continental breakfast was great with German meats and cheese and fruits yoghurts and cereals).
The Kaffehaus served wonderful coffees including iced coffee and chocolate with strudel and Russian chocolate cake (the best I've ever tasted!)

The facility

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derbyresponse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
35
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice and peaceful and wonderful service and value 4 money thanx sabina and tam

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hostess, Sabina, runs a warm, welcoming guesthouse about a half hour walk from the harbor. There is regular bus service which will bring you right to the doorstep. The rooms are small but comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was very good with many options. We missed having Sabinas famous strudel, but you could smell it when we arrived. Whow.....perfect welcome.
This guesthouse is quiet and in a peaceful setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Sabina is the ultimate hostess. One is taken care of in the best manner, without having the privacy invaded. Very good rooms, brilliant location if you are willing to use your feet to move about. The bus service is an attraction in itself. Taxi is inexpencive, and the drivers very friendly. Breakfast included the eggs and bacon we wanted. We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the guesthouse. And I had the best sleep for a long time, not a sound at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorgeOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Set in the middle of the island it's very quiet. Comfortable with great walks and scenery. The town is a pleasant walk away or you could hire cycles or electric golf carts.
Nice lounge and dinning room with a cafe in the day. Sitting in the sun outside at the cafe brilliant. Prices on the island are a bit expensive and the guest house is in line with the other places. Dogs allowed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinchallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I have to agree with all the previous positive reviews. Sabine and the team made us very welcome and the service was friendly without being intrusive.
I am a vegan which was managed without any fuss or being made to feel awkward. There is a guest kitchen where I could keep my soya milk etc for breakfast. My omnivorous husband thought it the best B&B breakfast he'd had. They play classical music very quietly at breakfast which adds a civilised touch. We came back to the guesthouse for lunch one day. The breakfast room is a Bavarian coffee-house during the day. The food was divine. Everything is made to order from top notch ingredients - salad, homemade bread (you can order a loaf a day in advance - I took some home with me), soups, cakes. We didn't eat the cakes but were told by others that they were very good (black forest cake and apple strudel).
The rooms were clean and unfussy.
It is right in the middle of the island, so it's a bit of a walk. We like walking! But if you don't, there is the community bus. I notice lots of people are hiring golf carts now, which looks really fun. I think we will do so next time, or you can hire bikes.
They are dog friendly, green friendly, disability friendly and I would add friendly to small shy boys.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Family suite - 2 rooms with joint access to a shared bathroom - we seemed to have lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verencemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Thank you to Sabine and all her staff for a very comfortable stay. The rooms are clean and are also cleaned daily. The breakfasts are more than ample with a good range of good quality food. Even our dog was made to feel welcome - which is not the case in most Scilly guesthouses.
We'll be back - even if only to sample the ApfelStrudel in the afternoon.
The only downside is the distance from Hugh Town when walking back uphill after a day out. But hey... it's also a lovely walk if you take the coastal path.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank percyp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mary's
0.7 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse

Property: Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse
Address: Sage House | High Lanes, TR21 0NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in St Mary's
Hotel Class:3 star — Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse has a range of rooms to suit the requirements of all of our visitors - from large family groups, to couples, through to those exploring on their own. The views from the guesthouse are fantastic, allowing you to truly immerse yourself in the peace and tranquility of St Mary's. Guests are very welcome to come and go as they please (or to stay in the guesthouse all day if they wish), plus there is a guest kitchen with a mini-bar, a comfortable lounge (with plenty of games for the kids), a large dining room, and plenty of outside space (including a barbeque). A full English Breakfast is served between 8am and 9am, and a continental breakfast until 10am. There is also a cafe on-site, the Kaffeehaus, which specialises in Bavarian food and, of course, cream teas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Of Scilly Country Guesthouse England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing