We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meigas Fora tapas bar and restaurant, Pontevedra, Galicia, Spoain”
Review of Meigas Fora Tapas

Meigas Fora Tapas
Ranked #61 of 407 Restaurants in Pontevedra
Price range: $7 - $28
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 20, 2016

Spoiler warning: I live in Pontevedra and have my lunchtime 'tiffin' here most days. This is my second review, prompted by the fact that it doesn't have the rating it deserves. It's located in a superb spot, in a corner of the main square in the old quarter, at the start of a narrow lane that runs down to the Plaza de Leña. It's a fabulous spot to people-watch on spring, summer and autumn evenings and I've made some great friends through meeting camino pilgrims and tourists there. If you're in Pontevedra for only one night, go straight to it and see if you like what it offers. If you are there for a few nights, eat at other places until you get fed up of seeing the same offerings on nearly every other tapas/restaurant menu at other places and then check out the original variations which the chef, Marta, has put together. The basic tapas dishes are priced competitively but you can go upstream for more substantial dishes at good prices, if you want. I've taken many friends there over the last year or two and none of them has been the slightest bit disappointed. Though Galicians who favour only traditional dishes can be a bit sniffy about Marta's original new versions. My daughters and their friends particularly enjoy her 'ecological salad' but I go for one of the new dishes - salmon stuffed with guacamole, covered in a mayonnaise spiced up with jalopeno peppers. Or, for a real treat, her venison dish. But I'm sure you'll find something to suit your taste and your pocket. There are 2 entrances, the one in Rúa Conde de San Román is wheelchair accessible. The one where I sit outside to people watch is in Rúa Figueroa, in the corner of Plaza Herrería/Plaza Estrella.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 154 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

This is a relatively new restaurant in Pontevedra and is bringing a modern and fresh feel to what is a traditional city when it comes to food choices. The interior is bright, funky with a young persons atmosphere, music is playing and it has a feel good factor about it. There is both a long modern bar for drinks, and a sit down area for dining. They feature a wide range of spirits and beers and offer a free tapas when you have a beverage. We ate in the dining area and were given a little appetiser with our drinks.

The menu was modern, eclectic and featured a mix of traditional Spanish dishes, modernised and with twists as well as more traditional offerings to suit every palette. During our time there we had a traditional tortilla which was amongst the best we had ever eaten. It cost around €5 but was absolutely huge. It was thick and had been cooked to perfection and wonderfully seasoned.

We also ordered meat tacos, one of the more modern dishes on offer. This arrived with two tortillas, shredded pork, salad consisting of onion and sweet corn and a very spicy sauce. It was OK. The pork was very wet, so wet it soaked through the tortilla and spoiled the dish somewhat. It was flavourful but we felt it a little expensive for €10 considering the portion and quality.

During our stay we ordered red wine which was competitively priced for the area and of good quality.

A mixed bag but shouldn't be ruled out if you want to try dishes other than traditional tapas style.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank babsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

I visited here with an English friend of mine who lives in Pontevedra. We visited here many times during my stay, be it for lunch or evening meal. Firstly the decor is modern contemporary, very clean cut and different to many of the places I ate in Spain (I prefer rustic)

Each day the chef would delight us with an amuse boucle. Sometimes pumpkin soup with hazelnuts, other times pesto sauce and a little pasta. One Night we had polenta in a rich chicken stock. All lovely but a contrast to traditional Galician flavours.

They stock a good variety of local wines and one of the few places in the area to stock Rosė (someone in our party wanted it... Not me!)

The staff are terrific. I forget the name of the chef but our waiter, Michele was a great chap, very attentive and popular too!

Finally, the tortilla here is excellent. They even asked how we wanted it cooking. I like my eggs over easy and that's how this arrived, perfectly done on the outside and gooey and smooth in the middle.

I cannot recommend this place enough!

Thank jack_dylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meigas Fora Tapas also viewed

Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
 
Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
 
Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
Pontevedra, Province of Pontevedra
 

Been to Meigas Fora Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing