We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well maintained and centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rias Bajas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rias Bajas
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Pontevedra
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well maintained and centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with a work colleague. The hotel was in a great location to explore Pontevedra but was quiet at night. A twin room with breakfast worked out at just over 70 euros per night which was pretty good value.
We stayed in a twin room on the 4th floor which was spacious and well maintained. The bathroom was very smart and the shower was powerful with plentiful hot water. Plenty of storage space and there was a safe in the wardrobe.
Breakfast consisted of: tea or coffee, fresh orange juice, toast or croissant with jam and butter. It was adequate but not great value at 14 euros for 2 people.
The staff were friendly but it would definitely help if you can speak a little Spanish to order breakfat!
We ate at the hotel restaurant in the basement which served good food. There was a different set menu for each night with 2 choices for each course. 3 courses = 13 euros.

I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebRichM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    93
    76
    12
    6
See reviews for
47
84
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed for 1 night and I found it nice, the hotel has been reniewd recently. The bathroom in fact is quite new.
Room spacios, view not interesting.
The hotel is located in the modern area, but few steps from the historical centre. I didn't move the car while I was there. A garage is in front of the hotel with a price of around 10 euro/1 day.
Breakfast was not included in the rate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BebeMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

The previous review accurately sums up this hotel; there is a lack of warmth and friendliness on the front desk, which is a shame because the cleaners are charming. The rooms are basic and clean. Air-con might be a useful addition, as when we were there, it was very hot, and the streets below are very noisy - not a great combination for a good night's sleep.

I e-mailed in advance requesting a balcony; strangely the e-mail was returned, but without any comment. I didn't get a balcony.

A great town, set in wonderful countryside. Highly recommended (don't know why I'm sharing this really, perhaps I should keep this secret to myself!) as a place to explore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Hotel Rias Bajas was a respectable choice. As seemed to be the norm in this corner of Spain, the desk clerks were efficient, but not quite warm. They did accommodate our request for a room with a view/balcony.

Our room, 601, seemed as though it might not have been unused for a bit. Any mustiness was quickly cleared up by throwing open the doors to the balcony. The balcony was great, and wide enough to comfortably sit on. Since we were the last room on that side of the hotel, our balcony opened up a bit more than others with a view down the street. Also, it appeared ours was the highest floor with balconies, so only sky overhead. Sure the view wasn’t stunning, but we enjoyed watching the daily grind from above. As a bonus, from the top floor (7th I believe) one can access the roof for a more panoramic view of the area.

The room itself was fine, with more than enough room for us. The bed was standard issue comfortable. The bathroom was quite roomy and well appointed, and also very clean. This was the quietest room we had during our Iberian vacation. Pull down the slats all the way, light did not intrude either. We slept well.

Not sure how one could improve on the location. Not that far from the train station if you want to hoof it as we did, both coming (with the going-out-of-her-way directional aid of a very helpful local) and going. An easy walk around the corner and you’re quickly in the thick of Plaza de Orense. Within a stone’s throw toward the train station was Glorieta de Compostela and its outdoor cafes.

We’d stay here again, no problem. Especially considering the reasonable price. And Pontevedra too was a nice city to visit: off the beaten tourist path but with an atmospheric, walk-able and lively city center, as well as a pleasant riverfront.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckdalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Pleasant enough. Slightly dated, but clean and quiet. Right in the centre of the city with excellent easy walking access to restuarants and shops. Receptionsists a bit old fashioned and rather serious! Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
151 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

I have stayed at the Rias Bajas three times, and never have been disappointed. Even for a small city, you are right in the heart, with everything in easy walking distance. The comfortable rooms overlook a pedestrian street, and have soundproof windows. Sevice is excellent, and the hotel is immaculate. I love Pontvedra, and this hotel makes the stay even more pleasurable.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontevedra hotels
0.2 mi away
Galicia Palace
Galicia Palace
#9 of 28 in Pontevedra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Room
Hotel Room
#6 of 28 in Pontevedra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Pontevedra
Parador de Pontevedra
#1 of 28 in Pontevedra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dabarca Hotel Apartamentos
Dabarca Hotel Apartamentos
#10 of 28 in Pontevedra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#5 of 28 in Pontevedra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
HHB Pontevedra Confort Hotel
HHB Pontevedra Confort Hotel
#8 of 28 in Pontevedra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rias Bajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rias Bajas

Property: Hotel Rias Bajas
Address: Rua Castelao 3, 36001 Pontevedra, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Pontevedra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Pontevedra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rias Bajas 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rias Bajas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rias Bajas Pontevedra, Spain - Galicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing