We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and great cafes/restaurants close by”
Review of Hotel Ruas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ruas
Ranked #3 of 22 Pontevedra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Central and great cafes/restaurants close by”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great location central to the old town with plazas on both sides of the building and next to the museum. Lots of cafes and restaurants near by, which are hopping on Friday and Saturday nights. The price was a bit high compared to other small towns, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieandMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    62
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
56
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed here to meet up with friends who were walking the Camino de Santiago. The hotel is a good value in a great location beside a popular square. I expected a certain amount of street noise but I was surprised to hear the movements of every dish and glass below my window on a high floor until at least 2:00 am, followed by the noise of garbage trucks in the early morning. The a/c wasn't working and although it was cool enough at night with the open window, the noise from the street made it very difficult to sleep. Pontevedra is no place for cars. Be sure to ask the owners about the free parking a short walk across the bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the noisy main plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I recently walked the "Portuguese Way" and this was arranged for us through our tour company. We arrived after walking over 10 miles on a Friday afternoon and checked in to a beautiful and clean room over looking the square. Chairs and tables by multiple restaurants were placed out on the plaza and people began to arrive. We ate a wonderful meal and enjoyed the evening with friends until the sun went down which in Spain in May is 10:30 PM. Since you have no AC in the rooms you have to leave the window open and at 4 AM you could hear the overzealous drinkers stumbling about, the clink of thousands of beer bottles in the dumpsters being emptied out and the like. If you party like its 1999 and have no where to go this most certainly is the destination. If you have to get up early for any reason, you may want to consider an alternative away from the plaza.

Room Tip: If you want quiet after you go to bed, the rooms away from the plaza MIGHT be a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copiercorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just stayed in this hotel last week whilst on the Camino. This was a comfort break from hostels etc amd proved to exceed our expectations. There was three of us intitially in one room, (room 202, which I would recommend as it has a "little" terrace around both french windows). The terrace is not adequate to sit on but ideal to stand on). I had initially checked out a private alberque but for an extra 25 euro's this was significantly better. It was very hot so we had to keep the windows open when going to sleep, which meant you could hear the noise from the plaza below. (Everyone seems to dine late and talk with passion. !!!). Only other option is to keep the windows closed and bear the heat.... They have rooms on the third floor / roof which are quieter.
The rooms and the whole hotel are very clean, much cleaner than I have experienced before in such a small hotel. The owners daughter, who runs the hotel side is very efficient and speaks very good english.
The hotel is very central, just down from the main tourist office and on a delightful and possibly one of the best plaza's to sit for a meal or drink. There is an arched terrace at the front of the hotel to sit and people watch... At the back of the hotel they have a good restuarant in another little plaza.
Drinks, tapas and breakfast are all reasonably priced in the hotel and there is lots of choice all around to suit ever budget.
As we were on the Camino trail we also used the hotel to wash a full load of laundry. The cost was 10 euro's which is similar to what you would pay taking it yourself so would recommend this option. We had a few little problems with the toilet but the owner had them repaired immediately, so it was no issue.
Overall a tremendous experience and a hotel I would be more than happy to return to.

Room Tip: Room 202 has a little terrace to stand on. I think this was the only room with a little terrace. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianx17489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

All good here. Turned up on spec, great double room with a view. Super clean, food and beer very cheap. Proprietor told us to move car to their parking as cheaper and even drove with us to the lot. What a great, chic town Pontevedra is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I went to Hotel Las Rias at Pontevedra recomended by Lonely Planet guideline and ended up being a bad experience. These are the reasons:
+ I asked for a room with views to the square when booking the room a month in advance. When I arrived I asked again, but instead they gave me a room without views (well, views to a wall). I complained and then they gave me a room with views to the square. In other words, they actually had rooms with views to the square when I arrived, but just told me they didn't and try to give me a room without views.
+ The manager was agreesive to me when asking for regular information. When I did the reservation they didn't specify if it was without breakfast. Considering the cost 59 euros for a room in a one start hotel in a province city, I understood the breakfast would be included. I asked them once I was there, firts they said yes it was included and then in the morning they said it was not included. I asked the manager if I could see the list of prices in order to solve the doubth and becouse I found it rare it was not included, and the manager became aggresive to me saying the problem was mind and telling me if it was that I just didn't want to pay for the room. I was all the time, polite, just wanted to me informed and see the price list, his tone and accusations were out of the blue.
+ I used the service to do one laundry. The day I was leaving and paying for the room, they tried to make me pay for two laundries instead of one (10 euros each) without non-reason. I asked how it is possible I should pay for two laundries when I did only one, at the end I did only pay for one. They didn't scuse or anything, they just tried to make me pay for two.
+ At the restaurant they use bad oil and the bottles at the tables are dirty, so you dirty your hands when using them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayofm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estados Unidos
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Hotel Ruas is located in the pedestrian-only, "old section" of town, right next to one of the major squares for nightlife, and with several great restaurants a stones-throw away. Reasonably nice rooms; great prices (I was there on the "shoulder season" in late-September)....this place has a pretty high recommendation from me. If you stay at this hotel, eat at "Rianxo", a restaurant right outside your window (address: Praxa de Leña 6) and order the ray ("raya" in Spanish), as in "stingray".

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgentineTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pontevedra hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Pontevedra
Parador de Pontevedra
#1 of 27 in Pontevedra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Room
Hotel Room
#6 of 27 in Pontevedra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rias Bajas
Hotel Rias Bajas
#7 of 27 in Pontevedra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Galicia Palace
Galicia Palace
#10 of 27 in Pontevedra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boa Vila
Boa Vila
#12 of 27 in Pontevedra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dabarca Hotel Apartamentos
Dabarca Hotel Apartamentos
#9 of 27 in Pontevedra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruas

Property: Hotel Ruas
Address: Padre Sarmiento 20, 36002 Pontevedra, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Pontevedra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Pontevedra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ruas 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ruas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ruas Pontevedra, Spain - Galicia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing