We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable & parking”
Review of Alfonso VIII

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alfonso VIII
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Soria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was travelling through Spain on my motorbike and booked this hotel as they have secure, underground parking.
The room was massive, as was the bathroom, so very happy with the choice of hotel and location.

The city of Soria is definately worth visiting, very Spanish and really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel was in an excellent situation for exploring the town. The staff were very pleasant and the room was spacious, clean and cheap! However, when you add the parking and the breakfast, that's another 50% on top. Can't fault hotel and would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: We were at the back and it was very very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenmox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is a four star hotel and the amenities cant be faulted. It is in a good location near the park and the town centre.The tourist office is in close proximity to the hotel and there is a small shop across the road.The room was nice, large and spacious and it was very clean. However service was poor. The reception on our arrival was not particularly welcoming and on our departure they didn't seem that bothered either.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Alfonso VIII in September 2011 and what a wonderful surprise. We thought it had such a nice ambiance and the reception was extremely friendly. The hotel is very clean and we also enjoyed the lovely music that was played. We had a lovely spacious room which faced the street and had a big window. The bathroom was very clean and had everything we needed. We could also use the Internet free of charge for which we were most grateful .We also enjoyed the lovely buffet breakfast in the Cafeteria. We were most fortunate to get parking right in front of the hotel which was great. The hotel is set in an ideal position and we enjoyed exploring central Soria. We highly recommend Hotel Alfonso VIII and hope to return some day.
Hennie and Mary Schoeman Boskloof Eco Estate Somerset West Cape Town South Africa

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hennieschoemancivils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

My daughter and I stayed several days at the Alfonso VIII this past July, and we had quite a pleasant experience. The hotel is very clean and inviting from the moment you step in. There are two commodious, adorable elevators,and the hallways bright and welcoming. We had a very large room facing the street with huge windows allowing natural light when you needed it. The king-size bed was big enough for us, but the hotel also provided a large sofa -bed which nevertheless came in handy for relaxing. The marble bathroom was very spacious and modern with a built-in shelf all along one wall which we found very practical. The hotel has a cafeteria which we enjoyed going to each morning , not the least because of the very attentive services of the waiter named Chuppy. His warm greeting and solicitousness were very heartfelt. We were also allowed free access to the internet in the lobby. I don't recommend parking in the hotel garage unless you have ample experience manuevering in tight spaces. Wow! ! One special person who clinched the experience for us is the director of the hotel, Angel Mayor, who we consulted on other matters and has been very kind and helpful since. We very much recommend the Alfonso VIII and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Soria, which, by the way,is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited . It has vast remarkable historic richness( ancient Numancia , for one), a modern outlook and the most beautiful , awe-inspiring scenery that makes you want to write poetry or sit and reflect for long periods of time. It is truly and unearthed treasure.. Besides Madrid and Barcelona, on this trip we also went to Toledo and Zaragoza . These last two were disappointing, and we regretted not spending more time in Soria instead.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank Dkitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beatriz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soria hotels
0.6 mi away
Parador de Soria
Parador de Soria
#1 of 13 in Soria
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apolonia
Hotel Apolonia
#2 of 13 in Soria
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sercotel Ciudad de Soria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Campos de Castilla
3.4 mi away
Hotel Cadosa
Hotel Cadosa
#6 of 13 in Soria
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soria Plaza Mayor
Soria Plaza Mayor
#10 of 13 in Soria
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfonso VIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfonso VIII

Address: Calle Alfonso VIII 10, 42003 Soria, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Soria > Soria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Soria
Price Range: $85 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfonso VIII 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El hotel Alfonso VIII, esta ubicado en el centro de Soria, dispone de 88 habitaciones, cafeteria, restaurante, parking, y servicio de internet gratuito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alfonso VIII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Alfonso Viii Soria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing