We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Sassolini

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montevarchi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Sassolini
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Amazing hotel, echo comments of 2x prior reviews. Villa is stunning, with spacious rooms, gorgeous views and beautiful decor. Food and service cannot be faulted, both are exceptional. Definitely hire a car if staying here so that you can explore the rest of the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
120
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Cant rate highly enough. This is perfect if you are looking for somewhere calm, beautiful, relaxing and out of the way of the hustle and bustle. You need a car to get anywhere at all but its so lovely that you dont want to leave! Had a huge room with stunning views over the pool and the Tuscan hills with a large bathroom. The room was clean, reasonably well equipped and well maintained. Andrea the manager and George and Romeo who looked after the hotel were just lovely. You feel more like you are in your own home. There are 2 lounges filled with magazines and books or you can sit on the terrace, by the little pool and enjoy the peace over a glass of wine. For those who need a TV then there is sky so you can change the language you watch some programmes in. There is a great wine and cocktail selection with a fantastic restaurant with delicious, really well prepared, fresh and local food and a great breakfast is included in the rate as is the mini bar. Sienna and Florence are 30-60 min away and there are also lots of tiny towns and villages nearby that you can visit. We only stayed 3 nights but next time will stay longer. This is a hotel where you go to just to escape and forget about the details.......

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadineabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Villa Sassolini is a great find! What an incredible experience! Everything from the beautiful rooms to the AMAZING food and the BEST management and staff! I had such a lovely visit i wanted to live there! Andrea, the hotel manager and Romeo are just pure pleasure! They make you feel like you are staying in their home as a friend.
My room was very large and elegantly decorated. I loved the bathroom...so spacious. It is a wonderful place to stay. I HIGHLY recommend Villa Sassolini! i know i will definitely go back. it is a truly a piece of Paradise! Thank you, Andrea...Thank you, Romeo for making my visit so special!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katestella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Located 45 mins via car from the centre of Florence, staying at Villa Sassolini felt like we'd taken a step back through time. Surrounded by a small town on a hilltop overlooking the characteristic Tuscan olive groves and rolling hills this was a peaceful and relaxing getaway location. Although there was no parking inside the hotel grounds we managed to park right next to the front gate every time we returned. Parking was also FREE (yes, that's right - this is how small and quaint the village was). The villa itself was an amazing old building which had been thoroughly refurbished in keeping with a Tuscan villa.

Our room was very spacious with two windows providing a great view of the surrounding countryside and those amazing olive groves. The mini-bar was included although there was some dispute with the manager as to whether there was a bottle opener in our room. After a phone call and a trip down to reception he promptly delivered a bottle opener to our room which housekeeping then decided to take back a day later!

What we liked:
- The Room: Large, with great views and all the amenities.
- The Location: Perched atop a hill in the centre of a little village this is what Tuscany is all about.
- The Staff: The staff where friendly and helpful, especially our waiter George who certainly added a lot to the atmosphere. The manager was a slightly different story - very friendly & attentive only on the day you arrive & leave.
- The Food: The breakfast, lunch and dinner options were tasty and filling. Make sure you have the ravioli. It's that good.
- The Garden: Amazing. Just watch out for the bees. And wear insect repellent at night. Lots of it as the mosquitos will eat you alive.
- The Wi-Fi: Quick and included in the price. As it should be.

What we didn't like:
- The Amenities: The swimming pool was rather small (although there were always enough deck chairs) and not even a basic fitness room.
- The Stairs: Quite slippery and dangerous inside the villa. It was also very dark in the common areas at night making it a bit tricky to get around.
- The Bugs: The mosquitos were insane. Make sure you spray yourself from head to toe before going outside to eat dinner.
- The Housekeeping: They took back our bottle opener, forgot to give us a bath mat one day, gave us all sparking waters and left a set of dinner napkins/tablecloth in our room when they dropped off our washing. Not huge things but a little sloppy.

Overall this was a very relaxing stay for us and we would certainly recommend it to others looking for that relaxing Tuscan holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatnBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel - wonderful rooms, delicious food, unbelievable views and excellent service from the moment we arrived. The perfect place for a relaxing few days in the Tuscan hills. A real hidden gem. I am already counting the days until I can go back...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyE_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a few days in August 2012. Wanted somewhere a little out of the way and also between Florence and Siena. Both visited although fifty minutes to either due to the winding roads through the beautiful Tuscan country side.

Rooms were great and service very attentive the pool small but nice and cold for a cooling dip. The view was good but not great better to travel to Radda In the late afternoon for better views. Overall a good experience and for the price paid for the stay happy with it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Checki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 5 nights at Villa Sassolini and I have to say it was fabulous. The remote location up in the Tuscan hills makes it feel like a real hidden gem and the gardens and interiors are beautifully done. The food is also a real treat - I would definitely recommend the truffle linguine!

George and Andrea looked after us wonderfully and Andrea even arranged for a special early morning breakfast on the day we had to leave so we could catch our early morning flight.

We would love to return one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wonderweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montevarchi
4.3 mi away
Hotel Valdarno
Hotel Valdarno
#1 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.1 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#3 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
14.2 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
9.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sassolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sassolini

Property: Hotel Villa Sassolini
Address: Strada Moncioni 85/88, 52025, Montevarchi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Montevarchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
022 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sassolini Hotel Montevarchi
Hotel Villa Sassolini Italy/Montevarchi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing