We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they think of everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Sassolini

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montevarchi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Sassolini
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“they think of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed there for 4 nights in the middle of Septembre and as soon as we arrived in the tiny little hamlet thats sat on top of the hill overlooking the valley we knew we had made the right choice to come here.
They have paid every attention to detail right down to the coat hangers!!
The pool area is lovely bordered by a lovely mix of rosemary and lavender. Although my only moan about this place is that the pool isn't heated and even though the weather was fantastic the water was freezing!!
the room was lovely and so is the restaurant.
The owner is very helpful and more than willing to help you discover various little gems around the area.
Would go back at the drop of a hat!!

  • Liked — attention to details
  • Disliked — cold pool!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chumpy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
120
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

lovely hotel in peaceful location. beautifully designed and nicely upkept. very helpful staff.
had a suite with little balcony. terrific space

  • Liked — beautiful design
  • Disliked — site in moncioni and near montevarchi-unattractive, nothing of interest unless u are prepared to drive a minimum of 30 min.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anerlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

We had a lovely stay at Villa Sassolini for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon. A stunningly conserved villa on the outside with relaxing and sophisticated decor in the interior, the villa is ideal if you want to get away from it all for a few days. Whilst the property is relatively small, it never feels crowded or busy as there are only 10 rooms. Service is of a high standard - attentive but subtle and unobtrusive. You feel like you could ask anything and it wouldn't be too much trouble. Delicious and plentiful breakfast served on the beautiful terrace surrounded by lavender and rosemary. Overall, we couldn't really fault it. A great stay.

  • Liked — Size of the bathroom!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2007

My partner and I stayed at Sassolini on the 23rd March.

The villa is perched in a small village outside Montevarchi which is in the north-east corner of Tuscany but still only 40 minutes from Sienna or the central Chianti valley and is easy to get to if you use the autostrada.

The villa itself is deceptive, outside it looks like an old stone house but once inside it truns into a beatifully designed and furnished oasis of calm. This is not a minimalist shrine but more a classy interior and the rooms are spacious and well equipped.

Andrea the manager is very efficient and welcoming, no request was too much trouble, there are lovely expansive views of the surrounding
countryside and the hotel is featured in the Mr & Mrs Smith book, definetly a place for couples wanting a quiet time. There is no need to stray far to get fed and watered as the restaurant is the best in the area, we ate there both nights and the food and wine list were excellent, whilst not being over priced. We were able to reserve the wine we did not consume for the following night which was helpful.

You are close to some major outlet stores such as Prada & Armani and it is easy to increase the cost of a cheap weekend!

Overall, I will definetly be back, for longer next time.

  • Liked — Class
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TassPatsalides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2007

Lovely retreat in the hills of Tuscany. Felt very welcome. The rooms are vast and stylish. Food is very good value (part of a package) and succulent. The pool is rather small.
Would recommend this hotel in low season. Great Hip hotel!

  • Liked — Food & location
  • Disliked — size of the pool
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchyVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2006

We stayed at Villa Sassolini in September and had a fantastic time. After reading a lot of negative reviews on this site we thought we had made a big mistake. A mistake it was not.
The food is excellent (thanks to the recently appointed new chef) not to mention the wine we were in heaven!!!!
Andrea and Roberto looked after us for the full week, nothing was too much of a problem.
The scenery was out of this world looking over the chianti hills.
Our room was a suite (rm3) which we thought was the best in the hotel as it looked over the pool and the hills.
Villa Sassolini is very peacefull and also a great location to commute to Florence, Siena and Arrezo.

Fantastic and we will be back to Villa Sassolini
George & Sharon

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2006

We recently stayed for 4 nights in the Villa Sassolini. The physical structure was very nice and the decor stylish, but the location was very much out of the way. The staff was not helpful and seemed put out at requests for directions, making arrangements at a spa, etc. The food was good quality, but portions very small(and we are not big eaters) and expensive. Like the hotel, the food was done more for the presentation than the function. Given the out of the way location and unhelpful staff, we would not return to the Villa Sassolini.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BUDog90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montevarchi
4.3 mi away
Hotel Valdarno
Hotel Valdarno
#1 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
4.1 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#3 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
14.2 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
9.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sassolini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sassolini

Property: Hotel Villa Sassolini
Address: Strada Moncioni 85/88, 52025, Montevarchi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Montevarchi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Montevarchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
022 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sassolini Hotel Montevarchi
Hotel Villa Sassolini Italy/Montevarchi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing