We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, charming owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Uvaspina - CLOSED

Osteria Uvaspina
Price range: $36 - $142
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, charming owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

After shopping at the Prada Outlet, we headed in to Montevarchi for lunch. The Osteria side is closed at lunch but the bar a vin side is open. We didn't have a reservation, but the owners kindly pulled a table and chairs from the Osteria next door and set us up outside (which was perfect). The food is lovingly prepared and excellent. The owners are warm and charming. We would have loved to have had dinner there, where the menu is more extensive than at lunch, but everything we had was lovely.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    39
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We found uvaspina by chance through walking around Montevarchi. We were very hungry at 7 pm, but it was not open yet and we decided to wait until it would open at 7:30 pm. We were not dissaponted. The service was very good, the main cook came to the table to explain the dishes and all the dishes tasted nice and fresh. Especially the Octopus was very tasty!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophey X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were staying in a villa near Bucine and asked the housekeeper to recommend a special restaurant for my daughter's birthday. She booked Uvaspina. What a great choice. The decor is minimalist with interesting metal sculptures of fish on the wall. The chef, Francesca Lari, came out to explain some of the dishes (the menu is only in Italian - and why shouldn't it be) - e.g. the tuna starter is not made with tuna, hence the need for the explanations! The food is spectacular (try the farfalle with rabbit) - fresh ingredients handled slightly differently from the Italian norm and the presentation is excellent. Wine list is good with a wide range of prices. The birthday dessert for my daughter was also superb. The whole experience was so good that we returned for dinner the following week, where the experience was equally great.

We only travelled about 10-12km to the restaurant but if you are anywhere near Montevarchi, go and have a meal at Uvaspina. I doubt that you will be disappointed. The prices are a bit above the average osteria or trattoria in the area but well worth it - and when you are used to HK prices for vastly inferior food cooked by over-rated "chefs", I view it as almost a bargain. You may need directions from the website as I doubt that the average visitor would find it just wandering around.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5StarHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Real Gem in Montevarchi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

If you are in Montevarchi or anywhere in the Tuscany region, I highly recommend that you make time to dine at Osteria Uvaspina in the old town section of Montevarchi. You'll be absolutely delighted with the dining experience offered at this small but intimate restaurant that serves quality refined Italian cuisine that sparkles with creativity and simplicity. It's hard to do simple food well and the chef at Osteria Uvaspina appears to be a master of it. As passionate foodies, we travelled all the way from Puglia to Montevarchi to check out this restaurant after having heard about it from fellow foodies and it was certainly worth the effort - awesome food, terrific wines, fantastic service and really good value as well. I highly recommend the menu degustation - do book ahead as it seats only about 20 and it is very popular. Hope you will love it as much as we do!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiefan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Uvaspina also viewed

Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
 
Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Province of Florence
Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing