We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Fantastic Home Base!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ventena Vecchia - Antico Frantoio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ventena Vecchia - Antico Frantoio to your Saves list
Ventena Vecchia - Antico Frantoio
Via Di Moncioni 153, 52025, Montevarchi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Home Base!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have traveled Europe in the past and have moved locations every few days. It can get tiresome living out of a suitcase, so this time we decided to find a Villa where we could unpack our things and stay for the entire trip. The Villa was central to the areas we wanted to see, and and we did day trips. Ventena Vechhia was perfect for this, and we are so glad that we spent the full three weeks at this location. Whether you want to spend some days relaxing at the villa or go off on a day-adventure in the Tuscany region, this truly was the perfect place to be. It really felt like home for us, and the people who own and operate this Villa made it even more special and memorable for us.

The unit we stayed in was the Corbezollo. It was perfect for the two of us, allowing us to cook when we wanted to, provided a patio with amazing views, and the pool directly below us. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great. Lots of room, overall. More importantly, we loved the time we spent with the owners and the staff, as well as meeting all the other travelers who stayed at the Villa. Twice a week they put on an amazing three course meal that is optional for you to take part in. We all gathered in a beautiful Tuscan dining room to experience fresh Italian food and fantastic local wines. It really felt like home to us, and we met amazing people around the table.

Also, make sure to ask the owners all the things they can do to make your stay even more amazing. They have many different things available that we took advantage of throughout the stay, like touring to a local vineyard they recommended and learning about homemade pasta. They are so accommodating and love when you are interested in learning more about the Italian culture.

I am recommending this place to all of my family and friends. We would love to return and do it all over again!

Grazie Mille!!

Room Tip: I loved the rooms facing the pool. It provided great views of the area. We stayed on the bottom floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsons94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
141
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful week at Ventena Vecchia . The view's of the tuscan mountains are simply stunning .The apartments are all styled individually with love and attention and the kitchenettes are very well equipped (we stayed in Papavero). The only thing we could have done with really was a fan at night to help us sleep as it was a mini heatwave when we were there. It's a really great base for exploring the area, the cities are all less than hour and half away but our kids ( aged 9 and 8 ) were happiest in the beautiful pool during the day with occasional jaunt's out in the evening's . The place has a lovely rustic charm and clearly a great deal of thought has gone into it's creation. We enjoyed one of the twice weekly dinner's hosted by Olaf and it was a great way to get to know the other predominantly german guests. This is not a hotel though so don't expect hotel facilities / services even though Olaf is very helpful with restaurant recommendations etc. We very much hope to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaisa127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The apartment is great, it keeps the authenticity of Tuscany. We were there with our daughter of 9. We enjoyed very much also the pool and the great view. The dinner "in family" organised by the owner, with the other guests, was fantastic, including the desert that came from heaven. Even if we always choose to spend our vacations in different places of the world, we are sure that we will come back to this place!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

It is true ! I think that Ventena Vecchia is the best idea of accommodation when you decide to see Tuscany. Location is great - you can go everywhere in Chianti region in maximum 1 and a half hours drive. The great cities of Florence, Sienna and Pisa are not so far as well. Accommodation is very nice - the apartments are very well designed and you can find all the useful things you need inside. Hosts Siggi and Olaf are nice people and will give you a lot of useful hints regarding the area; we enjoy a lot the dinner with them.
Do not miss when you are in this region: fortified cities of Radda In Chianti, Pienzza, Montepulciano and Cortona. Best restaurant : La Botegga , at the entrance in Volpaia (excelent view, service and food)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voaleta_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Ventena Vecchia (La Ginestra apartment) for two weeks and it was worth every penny. The owners (Olaf and Siggi) are incredibly friendly and have a great sense of humour.

The villas are a great base for exploring the wider region – as they’re located centrally within Tuscany, Florence is only 40 minutes by train and Siena is only 45 minutes by car. The interior of La Ginestra was beautifully decorated in typical Tuscan style – a huge amount of attention has been paid to every single detail, not just to the apartment but to the whole of Ventena Vecchia. The apartment was equipped with everything you could possibly need.

The surrounding views from every angle are just spectacular – look out of your bedroom window to see an amazing sunset and sunrise across the olive grove and vineyard covered hills. You won’t hear anything but the cicadas and the occasional sound of a bottle of red wine being uncorked (although hopefully not at sunrise!).

If you’re looking for a private terrace, double check beforehand that your apartment has one; most apartments do but a couple don’t – there are still plenty of seating/eating areas in the wider property/shared garden so there’s always somewhere you can go and sit for some privacy.

Ventena Vecchia is quintessential Tuscany. We highly recommend staying there: luxurious, peaceful, and beautiful – a real treat and escape from the hectic lifestyle in the UK.

Room Tip: If a private terrace is important to you, check that you have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janner001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaTravel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our vacation at Ventena Vecchia and can definitely recommend it to anyone. Great setting and wonderful location. Perfect for exploring the beautiful Tuscany and very close to Siena (our favourite city in Tuscany). The apartments are very well furnished and nicely decorated.
But the best are the hosts, that really make you feel "at home". Special thanks to Olaf and Siggi!!! I am sure, we will be coming back one day......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Ventena Vecchia. The appartments are situated in a large well renovated countryhouse on the top of a hill. Ziggi and Olaf are very enthousiastic hosts and we had a great meal with them and the other guests prepared by a local cook from the village. The surroudings are beautiful and trips to Pisa, Florence, Arrezzo and Sienna were easily made (by train or car). The lovely appartment really felt like our home during this week.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montevarchi
3.8 mi away
Hotel Valdarno
Hotel Valdarno
#1 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#3 of 3 in Montevarchi
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fontebussi Tuscan Resort
Fontebussi Tuscan Resort
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Valleverde
Agriturismo Valleverde
#1 of 2 in San Giovanni Valdarno
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Relais Campiglioni
Agriturismo Relais Campiglioni
#2 of 13 in Montevarchi
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventena Vecchia - Antico Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventena Vecchia - Antico Frantoio

Property: Ventena Vecchia - Antico Frantoio
Address: Via Di Moncioni 153, 52025, Montevarchi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Montevarchi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Montevarchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ventena Vecchia is located on a ridge, surrounded by cypress and olive trees and offers breathtaking views across the lush countryside of Chianti, the Arno valley and the forests of Pratomagno. Apartments The careful renovation of the historically grown buildings resulted in apartments of different layouts and individual charming features. They include open kitchen / living room and sleeping room furnished with exquisite antique and modern funiture, and are equipped with floor heating, safe box and satellite TV with flat or classic B & O TV. Wi-Fi is in all apartments and in the outdoor areas free of charge. Linen and towels in the color palette of the apartment are provided. The kitchen is fully equipped. The pool area (with swimming pool of 5x13m), individual outdoor places or terraces invite you to relax and refuel your power and energy needed again for your business life. The location of Ventena Vecchia is perfect for the experience of Tuscany: The cultural cities of Florence (45 km), Arezzo (35 km) and Siena (60 km) are close. Also Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, Cortona and San Gimignano are within easy reach of Ventena Vecchia. Many good and well-known wineries are in the nearby area. Outlets of known fashion brands like Prada, Dolce & Gabbana, Valentino, Zegna, La Perla, etc. are less than half an hour away. As the asphalt road leads up to the farm gate, Ventena Vecchia is accessible also for sportive cars. The (free) parking spaces are located on the private property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ventena Vecchia - Antico Frantoio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventena Vecchia - Antico Frantoio Italy/Montevarchi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing