We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Carmencita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carmencita
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We chose to stay in quieter Anacapri and were very pleased with this hotel. The pool was a godsend after a hot day of touring and travel. The free shuttle from the marina was such a blessing! (be sure to pre-arrange with them). The hotel is owned and run by a very friendly family, all of whom were helpful and pleasant. We purchased boat tour tickets from them (for the same price we would have paid at the marina), and when the weather turned ominous, they refunded our money in cash without hesitation and were very understanding. My only suggestion is that they should provide pool towels for no charge (they currently charge 2 euros per towel) - this would make the hotel seem much more luxurious (they could ask for a refundable deposit instead, if they are worried about losing towels). Food at the poolside cafe was pretty good! The breakfast was a bit bland and sparse, could use some fresh fruit and a bit more variety. The bus stop is right outside the hotel, and there is an ATM at the post office right next door. The center of Anacapri is a 2-minute walk from the hotel, with nice shops and restaurants. The amazing and dizzying views on the bus ride to Capri town and marina make staying in Anacapri even more worthwhile! It is an easy 10-minute walk through town to the chairlift to the top of the mountain.

Room Tip: No elevator so ask for 1st floor if stairs are difficult for you. Our 1st floor quad room was fine...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StarTree723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carmencita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 346 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I decided last minute to leave Naples and head to Capri to enjoy the sunshine and serenity. We looked at many hotels but Carmencita ticked all boxes but most of all was affordable for our budget!
Fabrizio picked us up from the marina for free (taxis are expensive on Capri) and along the way to the hotel gave us a little tour with great information on the island.
Upon arriving we enjoyed a lovely free wine around the pool while our bags where taken to our room- which when we got up there was VERY spacious, comfortable and had a great free wifi signal. We had a large balcony to sit out on and enjoy the sun while there. Breakfast was served free every morning and was cold meats, cheeses, cereal, pastries, fruit, coffee and tea- very nice start to the day.
The hotel is very central to all things in Ana Capri. Out the front is a bus stop which for €2 you can go practically anywhere on the island. It's a 2 minute walk to the chair lift to Mt Solero (must do!) and some more traditional shops.
Fabrizio helped us with recommending and then booking a lovely restaurant (Giorgio Al Cucciolo) on the water- this place was amazing! You couldn't ask for a nicer more accommodating host.
Overall Carmencita met all of my expectations and Fabrizio and his parents went above and beyond with their hospitality- it really doesn't feel like you're staying in a hotel rather a B&B.. Cannot wait to return with my family!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Des79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were very lucky to find this hotel. So close to everything and the manager and his wife were so helpful. We lost our camera on Anacapri and he was very kind to call the local police for us. We also had a lift back to the port for when we had to leave. Lovely clean, friendly little place. Hilary Agar

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillsi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for two nights in Anacapri at the Hotel Carmencita. The free hotel shuttle picked us up at the port as soon as our boat from Naples arrived and took us to the hotel, where we were each provided with a welcoming glass of tasty wine served at the quiet poolside. (Note that the free shuttle also took us back to the port at the end of our stay.)

The hotel is perfectly located only steps away from the shopping area, from the chairlift to the top of Monte Solaro (which is a treat—don’t miss it!), and from a bus stop for those who wish to go to the port or to Capri for a small fare. Our room was nicely furnished and immaculately clean, and the breakfasts that were served each morning were exquisite and personal. Every member of the staff was polite, friendly, helpful, and eager to serve. From them, we received many helpful suggestions on picking the best sights to visit.

In addition to its famous Blue Grotto, Capri Island has a great number of attractions at reasonable prices, including a boat tour around the island and numerous historic sites from the glory days of the Roman Empire. Don’t allow your visit to the Isle of Capri to be limited by the time restraints of a day trip. Spend a couple of days on the island and enjoy the many features that it offers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have recently returned from staying in this hotel & would highly recommend it. The location is fantastic & the rooms were spotlessly clean. Really couldn't fault it. Fabrizio kindly sorted out a lovely room for us as we were on our honeymoon & made us feel very welcome. He even treated us to some lovely wine which was very much appreciated. If you visit Capri make sure you stay here! Thanks again Fabrizio - from the Chestnutts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

An family run motel with genuine friendly service. We were greeted by Fabrizio who gave us a glass of his Grandmothers home made wine and explained the many varied parts of the island and suggested some things to do (you have to do the chairlift). They even supply a transport service to and from the town of Capri - just ring them when you arrive and they will come and pick you up (will save you a $25 taxi fare). Rooms were old but very clean and well maintained. I don't think you can beat it for location and price as it is an easy walk into Anacapri for shopping and meals.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Carmencita. The free shuttle service from the harbour worked very well and while we were driving to Anacapri, we got recommendations for the must-sees of capri and the best beach of the island. The room was very clean, comfortable and cosy and altough it was quite small, it offered everything you need, including a great view on Monte Solaro and the nice pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.5 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#5 of 18 in Anacapri
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bougainville
Bougainville
#11 of 18 in Anacapri
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#16 of 18 in Anacapri
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
961 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmencita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmencita

Address: Via T De Tommaso 4c, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range: $111 - $1,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmencita 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gem of the Gulf of Naples, for centuries Capri enchants for its wonderful combination of blue skies, landscapes, sea and light: an extraordinary mix of nature, art, culture and beau monde which have acclaimed the myth of the Island of Capri for its unchanged charm, still successful between tourists and visitors from all the corners of the World. The elegance of Capri, the fashion on Capri, the beautiful life style... are all statements with a common and unique denominator: the charming union between the landscapes of rare beauty and the warm and radiant atmosphere that filter into every aspect of daily life. A cup of coffee or an aperitif in the famous Piazzetta, great shopping opportunities in the typical shops and exclusive boutiques, a boat trip to discover the impressive Faraglioni and the prismatic colours of the Grotta Azzurra, a visit to the famous Villa of Axel Munthe and a romantic sunset on the beach: Capri is this and more...! In this charming and uncontaminated Paradise, the Hotel Carmencita is waiting for you, situated in a central location at short distance from the island's beaches and the local bus stops, and the most renowned tourist and cultural attractions, an ideal departure point for all the major touristic destinations of the Blue Island. The friendly and familiar atmosphere, the professionalism of the staff and the modern swimming pool will make unforgettable your stay in Capri. Hotel Carmencita provide free wi-fi connection in structure and in all rooms for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carmencita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmencita Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Carmencita Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing