We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super luxury, secluded”
Review of Orsa Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“super luxury, secluded”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Orsa Maggiore is a BEAUTIFUL boutique hotel a bit off the beaten path. We spent the last couple of nights of our 2 week anniversary trip here and it was the perfect way to wind down and pamper ourselves before heading back to reality. Hotel-amazing! location-beautiful but very tucked away (good/bad depending on what you're looking for), no walking to get a bite to eat

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and myself have just returned from a short break in Anacapri to celebrate my niece's wedding.Whilst most of the wedding party were based at the exclusive, and rather expensive Capri Palace ,we chose to stay at Orsa Maggiore ,both for it's good reviews on trip advisor, and also it's competitive room rates.We were absolutely delighted with the hotel and the hospitality we encountered throughout our stay . The weather was perfect and we particularly liked the pool area and classy ambience of the hotel and it's grounds. We enjoyed pre dinner cocktails ,professionally served "al fresco ", and the staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible .If there are any negatives,it is only the fact that there is approximately one kilometre walk into the centre of Anacapri,but the complimentary shuttle from the hotel is so efficient ,that we felt that this was not really too much of a problem. The lunch is quality,if a little slow ,and the breakfasts are basic ,but in all honesty, we cannot recommend Orsa highly enough, and feel sure that you won't be disappointed ,considering the favourable tariffs for such an expensive island . Beware of rip off taxis and negotiate hard !!! To finish, a memorable trip to a beautiful island with a wedding which was truly "out of this world " .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Orsa Maggiore was beautifully located, amazing decorated and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay overall. The highlight was swimming in the Blue Grotto which is just at the end of the road. The service overall was of a high standard, the 2 main guys work their socks of as they are waiters, drivers, pool boys and many other things. The only problems come when they just have too much to do and things start getting missed or delayed - this happened a couple of times. We waited over an hour for lunch a couple of times, as did others - they really needed another pair of hands. The only let down of the stay was the night porter who was a total jobsworth, as long as you avoid him you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaBM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is a little gem. It feels secluded, luxurious and relaxing for an affordable price (for Capri).
The grounds are immaculate, the decor is beautifully thought out. They have paid exceptional attention to detail and that makes you feel special as a guest. We loved the staff, very helpful. The shuttle service was a great plus as taxis on Capri are extremely expensive.
You can walk to Anacapri from the hotel in about 10 to 15 minutes and there are even short cuts you can take. There is a really efficient bus service on the island too.
We ate at the pool restaurant once and the food was delicious. The service is slow but in the end you are there to relax, so just go with the flow. Make sure you order before you are really hungry though.
The breakfast has a great choice and some amazing home-made cakes.
We had a perfect room on the upper floor overlooking the pool. It wasn't the most deluxe room as those have sea views, but to be honest, ours was perfect, with a lovely terrace to sit out on.
The only thing to be aware of (not the hotel's fault in any way) are the mosquitoes that come out at dusk.
They have really got it right, this is how a hotel experience should be each time. Well done.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
467 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stay at this hotel every summer and are never disappointed. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the staff are like family. The grounds are beautiful and because of where the hotel is situated, one can enjoy the natural beauty of the island without the onslaught of tourists. The pool has been updated with more comfortable seating and even human-sized pillows to lounge in poolside. The staff are always accommodating and their newest member makes a mean aperol spritz! Of course, the ladies at the front desk are kind and very helpful and Nicola is always a great driver and picks you up in the Marina Grande upon arrival. In all, there are many beautiful places to stay in Capri and Anacapri, but this boutique hotel has won us over with their kind spirit. Can't wait 'til next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a lovely three day stay at Orsa Maggiore in Anacapri. The rooms were modern, clean and beautifully decorated - although our door was immediately off the main lobby which was a little disconcerting.

The swimming pool was beautiful and the setting very peaceful with wondeful views. The free shuttle into Capri was really great and meant that you could enjoy the hustle of the town when you wanted it.

The bar service around the pool was a little erratic as it wasn't always staffed, but the staff were generally lovely and helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EleanorBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A peaceful retreat with well designed indoor and outdoor space.
The real wow factor are the wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt really at home during our stay. A wonderful few days and would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore

Property: Orsa Maggiore
Address: Via Tuoro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsa Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Orsa Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Hotel Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing