We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”
Review of Orsa Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orsa Maggiore
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Anacapri
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is a little gem. It feels secluded, luxurious and relaxing for an affordable price (for Capri).
The grounds are immaculate, the decor is beautifully thought out. They have paid exceptional attention to detail and that makes you feel special as a guest. We loved the staff, very helpful. The shuttle service was a great plus as taxis on Capri are extremely expensive.
You can walk to Anacapri from the hotel in about 10 to 15 minutes and there are even short cuts you can take. There is a really efficient bus service on the island too.
We ate at the pool restaurant once and the food was delicious. The service is slow but in the end you are there to relax, so just go with the flow. Make sure you order before you are really hungry though.
The breakfast has a great choice and some amazing home-made cakes.
We had a perfect room on the upper floor overlooking the pool. It wasn't the most deluxe room as those have sea views, but to be honest, ours was perfect, with a lovely terrace to sit out on.
The only thing to be aware of (not the hotel's fault in any way) are the mosquitoes that come out at dusk.
They have really got it right, this is how a hotel experience should be each time. Well done.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    30
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
467 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stay at this hotel every summer and are never disappointed. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the staff are like family. The grounds are beautiful and because of where the hotel is situated, one can enjoy the natural beauty of the island without the onslaught of tourists. The pool has been updated with more comfortable seating and even human-sized pillows to lounge in poolside. The staff are always accommodating and their newest member makes a mean aperol spritz! Of course, the ladies at the front desk are kind and very helpful and Nicola is always a great driver and picks you up in the Marina Grande upon arrival. In all, there are many beautiful places to stay in Capri and Anacapri, but this boutique hotel has won us over with their kind spirit. Can't wait 'til next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a lovely three day stay at Orsa Maggiore in Anacapri. The rooms were modern, clean and beautifully decorated - although our door was immediately off the main lobby which was a little disconcerting.

The swimming pool was beautiful and the setting very peaceful with wondeful views. The free shuttle into Capri was really great and meant that you could enjoy the hustle of the town when you wanted it.

The bar service around the pool was a little erratic as it wasn't always staffed, but the staff were generally lovely and helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EleanorBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A peaceful retreat with well designed indoor and outdoor space.
The real wow factor are the wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt really at home during our stay. A wonderful few days and would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My friends and I were blown away the moment we arrived at the entrance of this gorgeous gem of a hotel. Spotless, tasteful blend of colours and a very warm welcome. A jump into the fab pool started our perfect weekend. The entire staff at this hotel are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble, from dinner reservations to booking a great value 2 hour speed boat trip around the Island. Lunches on the pool terrace with attentive Paolo, before heading off for more exploration made our weekend fly. We all agreed that we would definitely go back again. Great value, nothing disappoints and we felt very much at home and privileged to stay at Orsa. Can't wait to visit again next year. Peaceful, tranquil, great walks, stunning views, butterflies, birds and jasmine floating on the breeze....we felt very miserable to be going home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Peaceful, quiet, green, blue, friendly everthing you would like to have in a romantic vacation... Free shuttle to any spot in the island, very helpful staff.. Worth for what you pay for. Dont think twice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinanseha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week at 'Orsa Maggiore'. The room was absolutely perfect -spotlessly clean and well equipped with a stunning sea view and wonderful sunsets in the evening (we stayed on the first floor). The gardens are a peaceful haven and there is also a wonderful infinity pool. The hotel itself is immaculate and all of the staff are extremely helpful and informative. The concierge service is a great service and we used this on numerous occasions to go to Capri and Anacapri. The hotel is situated near to one of our favourite restaurants also 'il Riccio' which has the most wonderful dessert temptation room!' and it is situated right by the sea. If you are looking for a relaxing week on the beautiful island of Capri I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horatio000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.6 mi away
Melia Villa Capri Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.7 mi away
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
Capri Palace Hotel & Spa
#3 of 18 in Anacapri
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orsa Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orsa Maggiore

Property: Orsa Maggiore
Address: Via Tuoro 30, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Anacapri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Anacapri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orsa Maggiore 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Orsa Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orsa Maggiore Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Hotel Anacapri
Orsa Maggiore Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing