We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umberto the Host with the Most”
Review of La Guardia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Guardia
Ranked #18 of 38 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Toronto ON
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Umberto the Host with the Most”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed for 6 days at La Guardia. The view from the patio is probably the best view on the island. You see out on to the sea, down to the Lighthouse and beyond. Umberto greets you with his own olives and 1/2 litre of wine. He helps you map out the "must sees" on the Island of Capri, suggests restaurants and, in our case, even drove us to the local grocery store to stock up on supplies to make our own lunch/dinner. The room was large and comfortable. The b&b is a walk from the main road where you can catch the bus into Anacapri or change buses to get to Capri, Blue Grotto etc. The b&b is defnitely not suitable for the disabled, the very elderly or small children as it is on a hillside with steep steps. There is a little pool and a very steep walkway down to the Lido (or you can take the local bus). The island of Capri is very limited in its offerings. I would suggest a 2 or 3 day visit to actually see everything there is to see. It is a very very expensive island and it was great that Umberto could recommend local restaurants for best food for the money.

Everyone on the island knows Umberto, mention his name and there are smiles and all the help and welcome you could imagine.

We were also lucky that Umberto invited us to join him and his friends for dinner which consisted of wonderful homemade salami, eggplant/bread bake, buffalo mozzarella cheese brought back from Naples by his friend etc., and lots of wine. It was a wonderful evening topped off with offerings of Limoncello and Grappa.

Umberto also arranged for another of his friends to take us on a boat trip around the island and snorkelling. That was the highlight of the trip. The chair lift up to the top of Mt. Solaro was also fantastic for the views.

Capri has hundreds of daytrippers from the various cruise ships and that makes the towns of both Capri and Anacapri very crowded. Unfortunately at night it is virtually deserted and there is no evening entertainment whatsoever. Restaurants close by 10pm and the last buses stop by 11:00. Cabs are expensive. Don't go to Capri if you want evening excitement.

I would highly recommend La Guardia for the remarkable views, the comfortable beds, Umberto's great personality and generosity.

Again, the only other criticism I would express is that a more substantial breakfast be provided with fresh breads/rolls rather than pre-packaged ones. The coffee is great and plentiful.

The personal service at La Guardia excels anything you could possibly get from a standard hotel.

Umberto is fantastic and we definitely consider him a lifelong friend. We hope he visits us in Canada.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz56TorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    27
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
80
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

If you are easy-going and like conversation, Umberto is a great friend and will treat you to good wine, snacks, and harvests from his garden. If you like to keep to yourself he respects your privacy.

This is the perfect place for easy going people that want to relax and get away from the main congested areas. It has an excellent clean pool if you want to hang out for a day instead of having to swim off the rocks. And the view is pretty nice! It is a 20 hike down to the sea for swimming. The host is awesome and will help you find great restaurants for great prices. The bathrooms are small for a 6'2" male but I was only in them for a quick shower and shave. It can be a pain riding the bus to/from Anacapri town but that will be true wherever you stay. I loved that it was away from crowded areas.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerOfBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed with the lovely Umberto at La Gaurdia Thurs 27 - 29 Aug. I could have stayed for another week. Umberto was a delightful host - spoke wonderful English and made us very welcome into his home. The wine and snacks on arrival were most welcome ...and took care of that afternoon.....doing nothing and laying by the pool! :) We felt as if we were in own home, nothing seemed too much trouble....Umberto was a wealth of information regarding walks, restaurants and stuff to do in the Island. The walk from the lighthouse to the Blue Grotto was spectacular. Umberto thx once again......:)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nozzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed in beautiful La Guardia for 3 days at the end of our honeymoon. It truly was idyllic. On arrival Umberto, Ciro and lovely Sheila greeted us with wine and snacks. They advised us on what to see and what to do. They booked restaurants and even arranged for our collection and return. The scenery was amazing. Anacapri is the less touristic but in our opinion more beautiful part of the island. Umberto and Ciro showed us a path which brought us down to the beach at the lighthouse. WOW!!!! What made our trip more special was the warmth and humour of our hosts. We had a fabulous honeymoon in Milan, Como and Sorrento but Umberto's Capri was truly the cherry on the cake!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlymcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We spent a week at La Guardia. It was a perfect moment of happiness thanks to the beautiful area of course - Capri Island is a real Paradise ! - but moreover thanks to Umberto and Chiro's hospitality.

  • Liked — the landscape, the owners
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coriboko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2009

I had consulted trip advisor and read every review prior to making our reservation. Every review is true! The B&B is beautiful and Umberto and Chico are amazing hosts. They made us feel like family! Every recommendation, from restaurants to a boat charter, was perfect. We can't wait to go back next summer!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephieb1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This is placed to go if you want a respite from the crowds and Vespas. Umberto, Ciro, and their dog Sheila welcome you to their B&B with open arms. When you arrive, they greet you with wine and snacks while you take in the spectacular view of the island from their patio. The B&B is surrounded by beautiful gardens that Umberto and Ciro meticulously maintain and the rooms, while basic, are nicely decorated and clean. The B&B is away from the crowds, but it is an easy bus ride into town.

Umberto will give you an overview of the island and let you know what sights are worth seeing. He will not steer you wrong. Right up the street he showed us a really cool stairway that lead to the lighthouse and swimming area where you could get lunch. It was a 15 minute walk down the side of the island and had spectacular views of the island.

One night, we ate at il cucciolo, which is owned by one of Umberto's friends. The food was delicious, authentic, and we had a table overlooking the bay.

Umberto's warmth and generosity and the spectacular views from his B&B beat some of the island's more luxurious accommodations any day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwolford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
1.7 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
1.1 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#15 of 18 in Anacapri
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
1.6 mi away
Caesar Augustus Hotel
Caesar Augustus Hotel
#2 of 18 in Anacapri
908 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#7 of 41 in Capri
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Guardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Guardia

Property: La Guardia
Address: Via della Guardia 47, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Guardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Guardia Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing