We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and central B&B ”
Review of Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mediterraneo
Ranked #21 of 39 Anacapri B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good and central B&B ”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this B&B for 3 nights. The room was lovely although sometimes a bit cold but you have yo pay extra for air conditioning.
The breakfast was OK and it is very central. Very close to all amenities. Owner Gianluca was very helpful too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    39
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
103
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We Booked the Mediterrano in Ana Capri via an e-mail request and the reply was rather quick. The trip advisor favorable reviews convinced us to book. We found the Mediterrano after a short walk to a nice family house with a garden covered with lots of orange trees and we quickly left the place to travel around the island with great advisees of Janlucca the owner. We came back in the evening to enjoy our room. It was cold outside so the ongoing air-condition did the job with no rest. The room was tiny but comfortable. The rest of the house was empty so no noise disturbed our peace.

Quick notes to the owner – the plows are too soft and too old. I believe 2 new ones for each room will do the job. Same for small carpets in the winter, as the floor was freezing. We had to use the bed cover as our carpet. Same applies for heating in the breakfast room. Sitting there with a coat to have our morning meal is not the best in mind.

For the future guests, be aware that the water pressure in the shower is minimal. Besides these – the Mediterrano is a nice guest house, especially for young travelers and families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank move_israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff were lovely and exceptionally helpful, giving advice on where to go and where the best beaches were. Room was very large and clean. Plenty of towels provided and a fridge. We also had excellent wifi connection. Our first morning we were the only guests and yet the breakfast was fantastic - huge choice and plenty of it. Very conveniently located - about 5 mins walk from the bus station in Anacapri. I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Mediterraneo is a lovely B&B in Anacapri. We took a cab from Marina Grande since we had luggage, although there are some buses that go that far. Without luggage we later took a bus down the mountain to the port – very cheap and quite crowded.

The B&B is very close to the bus stop in Anacapri, maybe 5 minutes away by foot on a pedestrian only walkway. It is also 5 minutes away from the chair lift that takes you to the top of the mountain for spectacular views of the island and the mainland. I would definitely recommend staying in Anacapri vs. Capri. The town is quiet, but has a very nice shopping street, excellent restaurants and great hiking trails.
We had one of 3 rooms in a separate building from the breakfast area. The room was nice sized and faced a nice garden. We found the bed and especially the pillows to be uncomfortable, but everything else about the B&B was great. The room was very clean and quiet; the bathroom was nice and we had hot water for showering; and there was a mini-fridge that was great for storing our bottle of Limoncello!

The owner, Gianluca is very friendly and helpful and speaks English quite well. Via email, he had provided us with directions to the B&B and we had no problem finding it. He gave us restaurant recommendations as well that turned out to be quite good.

Breakfast was excellent, with cappuccino, cereal, yogurt, fruit, cheese, ham, bread, pastries and homemade jam. We were served in a nice airy breakfast room.

The WiFi worked only in the lobby, but not in the room. It wasn’t a problem hanging out in the hallway for a bit since it was quiet and I didn’t run into anyone else.

I would definitely recommend Anacapri if you visit the island and this is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hornetvbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in late September, weather was beautiful. Our room was ready for us even though we arrived early, get instructions from the owner to find the place, it's easy if you follow his words. I was sad we didn't have a balcony room, and ours (number 5) was a little stuffy without proper windows, but still very nice. We had to ask for the aircon remote, and some glasses to have our wine on the balcony. Remote stopped working after 2 days, oh well.
Breakfast was a good selection to choose from and freshly made coffee, nice.
We were able to borrow some beach towels, go to Faro if you can to swim or try marina piccolo, both very nice.
Not bad, actually for the price really very good, if you like luxury go somewhere else and pay twice as much! If your content with with a room and bed, and a nice breakfast book here now!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

While vacationing in Italy, we stopped off for a visit to our favorite Isle of Capri. While there we were lucky enough to spend 4 comfortable days at the Meditteraneo B&B in Ana Capri. Gianluca and his wife have a piece of Paradise on an already tremendous Isle. The room was clean, comfortable and convenient. Each morning Gianluca provided us with a great Continental Breakfast. He went out of his way to be sure we had everything we needed. The property is off the busy streets, so the typical sounds of motor scooters were not to be heard. And the location is a short walk to the Center of Town. We strongly recommend this B&B to all traveling to Ana Capri. You will not be disappointed! Great Customer Focus and very friendly owners!!!
RTette

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scaramouche19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The three of us stayed at Mediterraneo for 3 nights at the end of our 8 day trip through Italy. What a great place to relax and enjoy all that Capri and Anacapri have to offer. The property is well kept and our room was spacious, clean, had a coffee/tea maker and a little refridgerator, etc. It is located within an easy walk from the center of Anacapri and the bus stop. Gianluca, the owner, had emailed me exhaustive information and directions on getting there about 2 weeks prior to our trip, so finding the B&B was a breeze, I knew exactly what we were doing. At check in he provided us with a map and a number of suggestions for restaurants, attractions and beaches, and how to get there.
Breakfasts were great as well, fresh coffee/cappuccino, lots of bread, pastries, and olives, tomatoes, eggplant in olive oil, cereals, juices, fruit etc. The owner was attentive without being intrusive, and always willing to assist. In fact, he helped me book our return train tickets to Rome.
Anacapri is a great place to visit, easy to get around with lots to see and nice beaches to relax at. I would definitely stay here again and recommend Mediterraneo to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anacapri
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bussola
Hotel Bussola
#6 of 18 in Anacapri
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Girasole
Hotel Il Girasole
#10 of 18 in Anacapri
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carmencita
Hotel Carmencita
#11 of 18 in Anacapri
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#14 of 18 in Anacapri
438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariantonia
Casa Mariantonia
#1 of 18 in Anacapri
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo

Property: Mediterraneo
Address: Via Caposcuro 12, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Anacapri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Anacapri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Mediterraneo 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places where, as soon as you walk through the door, you feel immediately at home. The Schettino family’s B&B Mediterraneo, in Anacapri, is one of those. Here holidaymakers are treated, not as customers, but as welcome guests, to whom Gianluca, the owner, happily dedicates his time, offering a host of invaluable tips for making the most of a vacation on this magical island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Island Of Capri/Anacapri, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing